CD & DVD REVIEWS 2015

CD & DVD REVIEWS 2015

HOME NEWS LIVE REVIEWS CD REVIEWS INTERVIEWS
Archive: CD, DVD & DEMO REVIEWS:
2005 & OLDER 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

MARCH

A LIQUID LANDSCAPE – The Largest Fire Known To Man (CD) The Netherlands March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Alternative Rock Running time: 46:08 (Tracks: 8)
Surely everyone remembers the brilliant self-titled Stabbing Westward album? Mix that with a voice that also has some John Waite in it, tone it down a bit and you've got A Liquid Landscape. I'm really impressed, as this cuts through you like a hot knife through butter. This might not rock your socks off, but it hits you exactly where it matters most; in your heart. Bloody hell, I just can't turn this off. These guys also have mastered the trait of writing good songs that are overflowing with emotions and intensity, making this one of my most favourable least heavy records for a long time. Maybe I'm biased, but if The Largest Fire Known To Man doesn't reach your inner you, you must have shut your emotions off. And yes, if you like this, please find that Stabbing Westward album. That one's next on my playlist. Thank you!
Visit their website: http://www.aliquidlandscape.nl
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/aliquidlandscape
MySpace: https://myspace.com/aliquidlandscape

89/100

AVENGER – The Slaughter Never Stops (CD) United Kingdom March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: NWOBHM Running time: 46:23 (Tracks: 11)
Back in the day I wasn't exactly a fan of Avenger. I thought they were mediocre, below par, so to speak. Since I saw them live at Ages Of Metal 2013 in Belgium I have had to change my view, as they played a blinder of a set there. I loved the energy, the power, the conviction and the voice of singer Rodney. Unfortunately the good man has left, and has been replaced by the legendary Ian Swift. Although I know a lot of people think otherwise, for me he's not the most obvious choice. Reasons being the convincingly off key live performances he used to give in the eighties. But, being the forgiving type, I'll gladly give him a chance to redeem himself. Now there's a new Avenger record with Swifty and I'm the first to admit that it all fits. The Slaughter Never Stops is very strong musically, and the wavering voice actually increases the feeling that this is how it's supposed to be. Pure, unadulterated NWOBHM with a strong Maiden vibe, but undeniably Avenger. Headbang music in optima forma. The songs are really strong, take you back to the days of back when every rocker despised disco music. The sound however places Avenger very much in the 21st century. Love it! Nice surprise: The brilliant rendition of Killers. Yes, that one!
Visit their website: http://www.avengeruk.com
Recordlabel: http://www.rocksector.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/avengeruk1
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/avengeruk1

81/100

BATTALION – Only the Dead... (CD) Belgium March 2015 Kees Schijven
Style: Death Metal Running time: 49:03 (Tracks: 11)
Active since 2001, BATTALION has grown into a well oiled war machine producing high quality death metal inspired by the horrors of war and ongoing global conflict. That self destructing mechanism that defines mankind is a sombre theme that runs through all of their albums, from the promo recordings of 'Warstorm' (2002) and 'Nuclear Devastation' (2003), through the albums 'Winter Campaign' (2006) and 'Welcome to the Warzone' (2008). BATTALION has now more elaborately incised a critic view of war, religion and society on their third album 'Only the dead have seen the end of War''. As I am not familiar with BATTALION, nor their music, but was curious about them, it was a nice surprise I got to review their new album. This album is one I can get really happy about, true, gutwrenching death metal! The first song is actually more an intro, to prepare you for the mayhem that is coming with 'Sacrifice to the Nuclear Cross'. A brutal assault on your ears, some fine death metal tunes with a perfect sound production and abominal drumwork, and super heavy riffs. 'Hellcommander Reign', 'This Cancerous Rot' and 'Volcanic Death' are some titles that tell you what you are dealing with! This album contains some top of the ranks brutal melodic death metal, they can easily be compared with bands like Bolt Thrower, Obituary, Grave or even Bloodbath! Enough variation and melody to keep one interested until the end, like in 'Orb of Alteration' for instance, or 'Another Taste of Carrion' which has a lower, heavier pace and awesome heavy riffs. This album makes me curious for their previous albums, cause it seems I mist something....As I know Belgium has some great bands, and now I discovered another one of Belgium's best! Hopefully their next album won't take another 6 years!
Visit their website: http://www.battalion.be
Recordlabel: http://www.shiver-records.com
MySpace: http://www.facebook.com/battalionsquadcamp

81/100

BLEED – Seven Billion Demons (CD) The Netherlands March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 44:45 (Tracks: 13)
The start of Seven Billion Demons is very strong. From the word go Bleed are making sure that you know that they mean business. Thrash Metal with Metalcore and Hardcore influences is always a winner in my book. That is, if the songs are strong. And there's the thing with Bleed: you need to be patient. It'll probably take you more than one listen before the whole amalgamation of styles starts to sink in. Until then you'll like what you hear without being overwhelmed. But once it all makes sense Seven Billion Demons will show you it's real character. Brutal, but also well thought through. Maybe this isn't going to blow you away when it comes to speed of brutality, but it should do on intent and craftmanship. So please, give these guys a chance, and Bleed with them. You do realise you are one of those Seven Billion Demons. Or don't you?
Visit their website: http://www.bleedtheweak.com
Recordlabel: http://www.bleedtheweak.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/bleedofficial
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/bleedofficial

76/100

BLIND PETITION – Law & Order (CD) Australia March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Melodic Heavy Metal Running time: 47:58 (Tracks: 11)
Apparently these Austrians started off some 40 years ago. Listening to Law & Order I'm pretty sad I haven't heard of them before, as this sounds great! Blind Petition have quite an extensive list of releases, and you can be sure that I'll be looking for several of them. This rocks old school style. Hard Rock at its finest, with people that can write a proper song and perform it as it should be done. If you're a melodic rock fan you'll love the power they add to the melody, to the rough edges that prevent this from being a soft release. Singer David Strohmeier and backing vocalist Alienne enhance the feeling of a pleasant sound, as their voices really work well together. You'll be drawn in to the Law & Order world of hard rocking tunes, and once in there's no way out. Trust me, I've gone through it. And about being original; I couldn't really tell you which band sounds very much like Blind Petition. Enough said.
Visit their website: http://www.blindpetition.com
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/blindpetition
MySpace: https://myspace.com/blindpetition

81/100

BLOOD & IRON – Voices Of Eternity (CD) India March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 49:09 (Tracks: 9)
The high pitched scream combined with the Yngwie-like guitar sounds that start opener Eternal Rites start with take you right back to releases of the eighties. But that is the case for all songs on Voices Of Eternity. This is for those people who always reminisce about the good old days, who just can't get enough of the US style power metal of that era, as that's what Blood & Iron remind me of. I could give you names, but it's a different one on each song. I will mention Hatrik and Dr. Mastermind, but please don't take those likenesses too literally. Is this as good as it all was back then? Well, I honestly don't know. Sometimes I think it is, but on other occasions I feel it's lacking that last bit to pull me in definitely. All that combined makes Voices Of Eternity into quite an interesting listen. The sound is good, the songs make sense and the band plays well. So the jury's out on this one. I'll just say that you are a real fan of the eighties you need to give this Blood & Iron album a listen or two. You won't dislike it, might even love it. Oh, and let us at MMM know what you think!
Visit their website: http://www.bloodandiron.in
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/bloodandironx
MySpace: https://myspace.com/bloodandironx

71/100

BULLETSIZE – Numb (CD) Sweden March 2015 Kees Schijven
Style: Modern Death Metal Running time: 34:27 (Tracks: 8)
Bulletsize started the year 2004 in the depths of Sweden. First as a thrash-metal band, but has now evolved to a faster, angrier and heavier combination of oldschool thrash and modern death-metal. This is their third full lenght album after 'Bulletsize' in 2008, and 'Apokalypse' in 2012, called 'Numb'. The band plays a modern mix of death metal with metalcore and dark metal, sometimes on a slower pace or midtempo mostly. This album has a heavy good quality production, and sounds great, the music is full of variation and melody. Great drumwork, nice intermezzo's in the songs, like in 'Titans'. Although not really my cup of tea, they deliver a fine piece of work, although in my opinion the term death metal is a little overrated and mainly covers the vocal style. While their Music is really melodic with nice arrangements, and in some parts even Amon Amarth comes to mind. Sometimes clean vocal parts are used in songs, but mainly it's good quality metal, no more, no less.
Visit their website: http://www.bulletsize.se
Recordlabel: http://www.sliptrickrecords.com
MySpace: http://www.facebook.com/bulletsize

72/100

BURNING BLACK – Remission of Sin (CD) Italy March 2015 Kostas Kounadinis
Style: Power Metal Running time: 48:59 (Tracks: 11)
Burning Black where formed in Italy in the middle of the past decade and this is their third album and the second one for the LMP label. LMP describes Burning Black as U.S. power metal but I have my objections. U.S. metal is what I would call “my field of expertise” and I don't get that vibe from Burning Black. For me they are closer to the Primal Fear sound and what I would call “contemporary European melodic power metal”. The previous album Mechanichell was a solid effort with both power metal and melodic metal moments and Remission of Sin is in the same vein despite the change in vocalist's Dan Ainlay style who has switched gear from high pitched screams to a lower register. It is an enjoyable effort but I could not be captivated by the songs or commit to numerous listening sessions. Decent but not great overall.
Visit their website: http://www.burningblack.com.com
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/limbmusic
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/burningblackband

70/100

CADAVERIA – Silence (CD) Italy March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Horror Metal Running time: 47:21 (Tracks: 11)
Since I witnessed the 2012 MFVF performance of Cadaveria and plunged myself into their Horror Metal I have a weak spot for this band. Their former release “Horror Metal (Undead Edition)” presented some damn fine tracks which still belong to my favourites. (for more info please read my review in MMM December 2013). “Silence” is the follow up and it will be no surprise that the tracks aren't silent at all. On “Silence” they again present their tasty, obscure mixture of Black/Gothic/Doom with alternating clean and haunting vocals by lady Cadaveria herself. The main difference i hear is that it's more doomy and by ways more gothic with more clean vocals then their previous attack. Also the sound is more spartanic and old school and that takes some habituation. Nevertheless opener “Velo (The Other Site of Hate)” kicks off without any mercy. A brilliant brutal black metal track that represents the Horror this band wants to spread. Follower “Carnival of Doom” offers, not surprisingly, the more doomy side of the band. Again the strong vocals (clean as harsh) of the lady herself are breath-taking. A damn fine track which is brutal as delicate at the same time. “Free Spirit” is worth mentioning because it again represents another style. It's more melancholic and 80's sounding then the rest. Not bad, but it takes some time to get used to it. For example “Out Loud” knows no compromises. A fast, brutal, heavy and furious mixture of Thrash and Death metal with that typical Cadaveria guitar sound. For more sinister, slower Doom you have the tracks “Death Again” and “The Soul That Doesn't Sleep” while most other tracks combine almost all ingredients that Metal represents. So despite the sometimes beautiful, piano introductions you always can expect the alternation with brutal Trash/Black/Doom or Gothic melancholy. Cadaveria walks some new paths on this “Silence” and that makes them more versatile. The finest tracks for me are the already named “Velo (The Other Site of Hate)”, “Carnival of Doom” and the suburb more Gothic orientated album closer “Strangled Idols” which is for me one of the best tracks of 2014. Cadaveria brings some more new elements in their music. That keeps it fresh, but gladly it doesn't lack their brutal, hypnotizing approach to music. When they put together a set list which should combine the best of “Horror Metal” (“The Days of the After and Behind” , “The Oracle (Of The Fog)”, “Whispers of Sin” and ´ Hypnotic Psychosis” to name a few) and “Silence” I would have the time of my life. Again a big thumbs up for this band.
Visit their website: http://www.cadaveria.com
Recordlabel: http://www.scarletrecords.it
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cadaveria

83/100

CAN OF SOUL – Hearreality (CD) Italy March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 54:40 (Tracks: 12)
I really didn't have a clue what to expect when I first put this cd in my player. What strikes me straight away is that the voice sounds Eric Wagner at one time, has a Sisters Of Mercy vibe to it next time and a Billy Idol likeness as well. And it all is fitting with the music played. His nickname is Tomrocker, so it could be anybody. I do love the fact that the sound is very raw, that the roughness around the edges has been preserved and that they're not afraid to mix electronic and industrial sounds into their mix of stoner, doom and old fashioned heavy metal. So there you have it, Can Of Soul is a bunch of Italians playing what they want when they want, throwing your senses around as quickly as a basketball game at its fastest. But it's always coherent, never out of sync, and sometimes even brilliant. If you're not someone who takes changes easily, Can Of Soul is not your band. If organised chaos is your thing, Hearreality could really be an album for you.
Visit their website: http://www.atomicstuff.com/canofsoul.html
Recordlabel: http://www.atomicstuff.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/canofsoul
Twitter: https://twitter.com/canofsoul

73/100

CIVILIAN – The Second (CD) Belgium March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Groove Metal Running time: 36:12 (Tracks: 12)
These Belgians have their work cut out. I'll explain why. Musically they've got their shit together. The Second rocks, grooves and swings like mad. And it's bloody contagious as well, making Civilian a promising prospect. And yet, they've done it wrong. The odd one out is singer Mark van Luijk. He's not bad at what he does, but he regularly doesn't fit in with the music played. Opener Zusammen is one example of his adherence with the music. On the other hand, Love In The Moshpit is the opposite, that's where you can hear music and voice gel perfectly. And there's more on both sides of this spectrum. And it's a real pity, as I do love the album as a whole. I just would have liked it a whole lot more if the coherence was obvious in very song. So there's where Civilan has some work to do.
Visit their website: http://www.civiliantheband.be
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/civilianpage
Instagram: https://instagram.com/civiliantheband

63/100

COMBAT – Mission Of Mayhem (CD) USA March 2015 Kees Schijven
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 44:27 (Tracks: 13)
A new release, but not a new album by veterans from COMBAT, all material on this release was written between 1983 and 1989 by members of COMBAT/NAPALM and performed by current COMBAT line up Chris, Jeff & Rex. The band resurrected in 2000, and is going on since. This release is dedicated to their friend Chris “Metal Beer Horror” O'Brien, who passed away 26th. Of December 2013 and includes his favourite COMBAT tune 'Freedom Day'. They really did a hell of a job, and made this an awesome thrash back catalogue of COMBAT! Fast and furious oldschool thrash, makes sense, cause it is old! The production sounds perfectly for their music, it even sounds oldschool in a good way! It's also cool to read the liner notes to the songs, how they came up and stuff, just great! This is what thrash metal should be, the real deal, with a hardcore/punk attitude. Songs like 'Tunnel Rat', 'Immoral Society', 'Attack on America' or 'Mind Melt' are all classics, and show what COMBAT is about, these guys are thrash metal! Evil Speak! Just love this stuff, also a track on here which was on the NAPALM 'Cruel Tranquility' album in 'Devastation'. Every thrash fan should have this in my opinion!
Visit their website: http://www.combattheband.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hthproductions

90/100

CORNERS OF SANCTUARY – Axe To Grind (CD) USA March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 37:24 (Tracks: 11)
CORNERS OF SANCTUARY is an American Heavy Metal band that exists of Frankie Cross (vocals), Mick Michaels (guitar, keyboards), James Pera (bass) and Sean Nelligan (drums). So far, the band has released the following products: the 6-track EP "Forgotten Hero" (2012), the debut album "Breakout" (2012), the 5-track EP "December Wind" (2012), the second album "Harlequin" (2013) and the 7-track EP "Epilogue" (2013). Personally I am not familiar with these three EP's and two previous albums. Well, according to the info sheet, CORNERS OF SANCTUARY improved a lot since their debut album, and the band's third album "Axe To Grind", is so far their best album. "Axe To Grind" is released on La Mazakuata Records, and Pure Steel Promotion (a division of Pure Steel Records) are doing the promotion for this album. Anyway, I really had to get used to "Axe To Grind". At first, I didn't like it that much, but the more I listened to it the more I began to like the album. Okay, it is still not a spectacular album, but just a nice and enjoyable one to listen to. After a few listens the band even reminded me musically of MANILLA ROAD, but also JUDAS PRIEST came in mind during listening to "Axe To Grind". And by using keyboards in the songs, the band creates, in my opinion, a nice atmosphere as well. Anyway, "Axe To Grind" features eleven tracks, but actually there are nine songs on it, because the album starts with the intro "Axe In" (1:07) and ends with an outro "Axe Out" (1:03). The songs which I like the most are "On The Hunt" (4:04), "A Fist Full Of Vengeance" (4:10) that reminds, because of the guitar riff, of JUDAS PRIEST, "Shadow Soldiers" (2:49) and "Heart Of Stone" (3:26). The album has in "Victoria" (2:59) a bonus track (which is originally on the "Epilogue" EP), and I like that song as well. Fans of MANILLA ROAD, JUDAS PRIEST and the NWOBHM-era should check this band out.
Visit their website: http://www.cornersofsanctuary.com
Recordlabel: http://www.purerock-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cornersofsanctuary
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/cornersofsanctuary

74/100

CREATION'S END – Metaphysical (CD) USA March 2015 Kostas Kounadinis
Style: Progressive Metal Running time: 60:15 (Tracks: 12)
Creation's End hails from New York city and is fronted by ex Riot, Ilium and Masterplan vocalist Mike Dimeo. Having debuted in 2010 with the album titled A New Beginning, the band returns after a 4 year period to solidify its place in the progressive metal universe. Dimeo is accompanied by some accomplished NYC musicians such as guitarist Marco Sfogli (James Labrie), and ex Zandelle members Joe Black and Rudy Albert. The band's style is obviously close to Dream Theater, meaning contemporary progressive metal but with a bit less complex song structures. Symphony X is also a second name that comes to mind. Dimeo though is far from his signature melodic singing style and has a more raspy approach. I wouldn't recognize him if I didn't know he was part of the band. Metaphysical is clearly a more enjoyable effort than most of the recent Dream Theater albums. The progressive metal fans will not be disappointed at all.
Visit their website: http://www.creationsend.net
Recordlabel: http://www.pureprog-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/creationsend
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/creationsendnyc

75/100

DESMA – Identita Anonime (CD) Italy March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Rock Running time: 35:21 (Tracks: 9)
My first thought when Identita Anonime starts is: Marilyn Manson? No, it's Italian they're singing, and they keep that up all through the album. So Desma it is. And they do mix the industrial feel of MM with old fashioned heavy rock. And it sounds interestingly groovy. And solid, rendering Desma a band with a proper identity of its own. I just wish I knew what the hell Albert Gobbi was singing about. The guitar solos are the bonus on Identita Anonime, as they're all of a very high standard, lifting the rather average songs just high enough to keep me listening. Once when I stop analysing what I hear and start listening as a metal fan, I realise that it's not doing anything for me. The songs aren't sticking around in my head or for that matter anywhere else. Unfortunately.
Visit their website: http://www.desma.it
Recordlabel: http://www.atomicstuff.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/desmarock

65/100

DISASTER – Blasphemy Attack (CD) Colombia March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 38:06 (Tracks: 10)
I'm just hoping the band name doesn't say it all. Disaster play proper thrash with a singer that seems be halfway between Black Metal and squashed balls in tight trousers.. It takes some getting used to, and I haven't mastered that art yet. He sounds like a failed replica of Dan Beehler. Musically it's also quite poor, not to say substandard. Of course, the real underground thrash metal fan will love this to bits, but I look for more than just an under-accomplishing sound and quality. But it's all I'm getting, so I'll have to make do. What does rock my boat is when Disaster really let it rip, like on Evil Mind, Burning Alive and Satan's Spy. That's when Blasphemy Attack does make sense. At those times they even sound like the first two Exciter albums. I only wish they'd do that more often.
Visit their website: http://www.disasterthrashmedellin.tk
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/disaster.thrashmedellin
MySpace: https://myspace.com/disasterthrashmedellin

61/100

DRAGONSCLAW – Judgement Day (CD) Australia March 2015 Kostas Kounadinis
Style: Power Metal Running time: 41:25 (Tracks: 9)
Aussie metallers Dragonsclaw debuted in 2011 with the impressive Prophecy album. The band literally came out of nowhere and surprised the power metal fans. Featuring singer Giles Lavery, known also as a member of the recently reanimated metal legends Warlord (a cover of their classic tune Lucifer's Hammer is included), the band delivers high octane power metal similar to Iced Earth and fellow countrymen Ilium and Black Steel with keyboards playing a significant part in the orchestration. There are also some noticeable guest appearances by the American guitar hero Jack Starr (Burning Starr, ex Virgin Steele) and singer David Reece (Bangalore Choir, ex-Accept). Overall Judgement Day fails to make the same impact as its predecessor but that doesn't mean that this is a week effort. It's just difficult to surprise twice using a very similar approach.
Visit their website: http://www.dragonsclawband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.killermetalrecords.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dragonsclawofficial

73/100

EDEN'S CURSE – Live With The Curse (CD) Germany March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Hard Rock / Melodic Metal Running time: 101:41 (Tracks: 20)
Wow, a live album from Eden's Curse. That's a surprise, but what a pleasant one it is. Eden's Curse is one of the finest bands lately in the Melodic Metal Scene after releasing their awesome fierce 2011 record “Trinity” (see review in MMM April 2011) and their more Melodic 2013 “Symphony of Sin” (see review in MMM september 2013). With this great live album you'll get a perfect summary of their 4 albums with an accent at their last one. Not surprising because that album marked the entrance of new vocalist Nikola Mijic after the departure of Michael Eden. This album is simply more than 100 minutes pure enjoyment. The show is recorded during their Glasgow show in Paul Loque's homecountry Scotland. With a great sound, splendid musical craftmanship and a cheerful crowd this really rocks your balls out ! It simply is one hell of a live experience. Gladly monstrous tracks from the “Trinity” album like the phenomenal headbangers “Black Widow”, “Trinity” and “Jerusalem Sleeps” are present and vocally performed well by Nikola, who's voice on album is less heavy then Michael's but live also got a raw edge. Furious guitars, pounding drums, atmospheric keys and powerful bass makes it a splendid sounding live performance. There is really nothing wrong with this album. The only thing I can imagine that would be better was playing the whole “Trinity” album, but you can't have it all. Still there is an amazing set list with great performances of “Masquerade Ball”, Breaking the Silence” etc. so this is an album that you'll have to get. It's simply a stunning good one and offers the band at their best. Rock the roof off with this great record, it simply won't get better.
Visit their website: http://www.edenscurse.com
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/edenscurseofficial
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/edenscurse

88/100

EXPLORER – Shout In The Fog (CD) Italy March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Speed / Thrash Metal Running time: 32:21 (Tracks: 8)
Italian Speed-, Thrash Metal band EXPLORER was formed in 2004 from the ashes of several local bands, with the intention to play covers of Heavy Metal classics. In 2005 the band recorded a 4-track demo with cover versions of OZZY OSBOURNE ("Crazy Train"), IRON MAIDEN ("Iron Maiden"), SCORPIONS ("Rock You Like A Hurricane") and RAINBOW ("Long Live Rock 'N Roll"). During the years the band had several line-up changes and in 2010 EXPLORER released a 5-track EP titled "E.P. 2010". One year later, in November of 2011, the band released its debut album "Sober Deserve To Die!!"on Moonlight Records. And now I have to review the second EXPLORER album "Shout In The Fog", which was released in September of 2014 on Iron Shield Records. The line-up of EXPLORER on "Shout In The Fog" exists of Billy (vocals, bass), Jack (guitar) and Niki (drums). Well, I can be very short about it, because after listening for the third time to this album, I already had enough of it. There isn't any song on "Shout In The Fog" which I really like. To me the 8 tracks which are on this album are just to moderate. Well, of course there will be metalheads out there, who will absolutely like this second EXPLORER album and enjoy of songs such as "Tell Me (What You Want)" (4:18), "Into The Pub (With No Exit)" (3:33), "Maggots Of Evil" (4:14) or "Hidden In The Dark" (3:54). But for me, this weak album disappears in my garbage can. Sorry guys. Anyway, if you like Speed-, Thrash Metal and you are still curious about this second album of EXPLORER, well check it out yourself.
Recordlabel: http://www.ironshieldrecords.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/explorerofficial
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/explorerband

50/100

FIREWOLFE – We Rule the Night (CD) USA March 2015 Kostas Kounadinis
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 46:02 (Tracks: 10)
Back in 2011 I had the pleasure of reviewing the Firewolfe debut album. 3 years later the band returns with its successor, having inked a deal with the accomplished LMP label. Not many things have changed besides some line-up changes. The band continues in the same path delivering heavy metal with melodic touches. The choruses are big and memorable and that seems to be the main goal of the band. To deliver heavy music with some commercial character. We Rule the Night is equal to its predecessor, a step in the same direction. They didn't let me down after all and they won't let down all those who invested in their debut album.
Visit their website: http://www.firewolfe.com
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/firewolfeband
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/firewolfeband

76/100

FIRST AID – Nursed (CD) Germany March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 39:33 (Tracks: 10)
Well, first of all, although German Thrash Metal band FIRST AID exists since 1999, I never had heard of the band before. These Thrashers from Berlin started in 1999 by paying tribute to the great Thrash Metal bands of the eighties. In 2003 the band released their first album "Prisoner Of Hell" and in 2007 their second album "Infection" was released. During the years the band had several line-up changes. The current line-up of FIRST AID exists of Christoph Carl (vocals), Johannes Scheffler (guitar), Stephan Kern (guitar), Sascha Habel (bass) and Max Scheffler (drums). This third FIRST AID album, titled "Nursed", was released in November of 2014 on Iron Shield Records, and features 10 tracks. Okay, I have to admit, during the first listen to "Nursed" I thought, "well, this is again one of the many new Thrash Metal bands who are playing old school Thrash Metal". As with many other newer Thrash bands, originality is hard to find, and mostly it all sounds very predictable as well. So, also with the ten songs on "Nursed". But don't get me wrong, what these German Thrashers are doing sounds still great. In that case, I've heard Thrash bands which are much worse. In the meantime "Nursed" has made a lot of spins, and I must say that the album grows with every listen. I'm sure with these songs FIRST AID will absolutely get many moshpits during their shows. FIRST AID even opened at the Tilburg Headbangers Festival on September 29th, 2007 in Café Extase, Tilburg, Holland which was co-organized by MMM. Personally I missed that festival (with also ALTER EGO X, ONE BULLET LEFT, GUN BARREL, HYADES, EMERALD (NL), CRUSTACEAN and INNERWISH). Anyway, my favorite tracks of "Nursed" are "Horror Of War" (4:38), "Chained To Die" (2:39), "Lifetime Torment" (3:47), "Suicide Moshpit" (3:42) and "Dead Again" (4:43). The band also pays a tribute to actor and martial artist Chuck Norris with the track "Missing In Action" (3:28) (which is the title of the 1984 action movie "Missing In Action" Norris played in). If you are into Thrash Metal and like, of course the great Thrash bands from the '80's, but also newer bands such as MUNICIPAL WASTE or GAMA BOMB, then you'll have to check this album out. Maybe Mario is going to book FIRST AID again for in the Little Devil, Tilburg, with some other good Thrash bands!!!!
Recordlabel: http://www.ironshieldrecords.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/firstaidmetal

75/100

GANG – Inject The Venom (CD) France March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 53:45 (Tracks: 12)
GANG is a traditional old school Heavy Metal band from France, that already exists since the early nineties. So far, the band has released the following products: the debut album "1993" (1993), the demo "Brainwashed Man" (1994), the albums "Unknown But Surely Evil" (1995), "Piece Of War" (2002), "Dead Or Alive" (2007), "V" (2010), the 7-track EP "HM-666%" (2012, with a cover of SAXON, SCORPIONS, BLACK SABBATH, MOTÖRHEAD and MERCYFUL FATE) and the live album "Heavy Metal Road 666 - Live In Fismes 2012" (2013). Well, the current line-up of GANG exists of Bill (vocals), Steve (guitar), Biggy (guitar), Philty (bass) and Malo (drums). "Inject The Venom", which is the band's sixth studio album, is my first acquaintance with GANG. And, after several spins in my CD-player, I must say that there are just a few songs on "Inject The Venom" that I like. Well, in my opinion the album has actually too much fillers on it. Maybe 8 or 9 tracks instead of 12 would be enough. Vocalist Bill, who sings with high pitched vocals, is just an average singer to me. Overall, it strikes me that GANG are pretty much influenced by the mighty JUDAS PRIEST. The album has one instrumental track, which is titled "Midnight" (2:55), only the basic riff of the song reminds me very much of SCORPIONS' "Coast To Coast" (from the 1979 "Lovedrive" album). Only, instead of "Coast To Coast", "Midnight" sounds very boring. GANG also did a very nice cover version of TOKYO BLADE's "If Heaven Is Hell" (from the 1983 debut album "Tokyo Blade") on this album, which also features guest vocals of TOKYO BLADE's singer. "Behind The Gate" (1:54) is the intro for "All The Fool Around" (4:43), which is the last track of the album. Anyway, the songs which I like the most of "Inject The Venom" are "Primal Reign" (4:10), "Dying World" (4:08), the TOKYO BLADE cover "If Heaven Is Hell" (6:05) and "The King Became A God" (3:22). Overall I can't say I am that impressed by this album of GANG, so to me "Inject The Venom" is nothing more than just an average Heavy Metal album.
Visit their website: http://www.gang.believeband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.emanesmetalrecords.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gang51

62/100

GORY BLISTER - The Fifth Fury (CD) Italy March 2015 Rob Claesen
Style: Death Metal Running time: 35:51 (Tracks: 9)
The Fifth Fury (What's in a name) is the fifth full length album of this Italian death metal band. I have never listened to any previous recorded albums, but I will shure check them out after listening tot this one. Gory Blister has put out an album full of brutal, technical, Swedish oriented death metal. My personal favourite is the fifth song and titeltrack. Anyone who is into well played, old school death metal, should give this album a try. The only reason the rating isn't higher, is because of the poor production. The songs don't pop out of the speakers as they could have.
Visit their website: http://www.goryblister.com
Recordlabel: http://www.sliptrackrecords.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/goryblister

79/100

GRAI - Mlada (CD) Russia March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Folk Metal Running time: 46:10 (Tracks: 11)
Grai hails from Russia and already has some fine products on their conto. Formed in 2005 this band plays folk music with metal elements formerly based on flute. For some of the metalheads this may sound to “nice” but that doesn't mean this 2014 release “Mlada” is a damn good record. I'm not really into this stuff but Grai is simply a very pleasant surprise. It's an enjoyable, fresh sounding record with lots of folk instruments and fitting female vocals. The first two tracks, “Beard” and “Hunt” however are with the grunts of bassist Yri, the rest are wit Irina and Aliya handling vocal duties and are completely without growls. So you can say the first two songs misled a bit. Nevertheless the musical craftsmanship drips of songs like “Hay Harvest”, “Get Back”, “Hugging the Storm” ,“Beard” and the instrumental “Fortress”. Flutes, bagpipes, kaljuka, violins it all comes by, mixed perfectly with classic metal elements into cheerful songs about nature and the soul of the native land. Don't expect something like Arkona, this band sounds much “sweeter” but certainly no less. The bonus tracks “In the Arms of Mara” (new version) and the funny `Fish` belong to their best stuff so i´m glad they´re put on the album. With its irresistible happy sound this is a damn catchy album that will put a smile on your face. Worth mentioning is the beautiful package with enclosed lyric booklet in Russian and English. Grai may be very proud of this album. Dive yourself into authentic folk and let the music enchant you.
Recordlabel: http://www.noizegate.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/grai.folkrussia

84/100

HELL CITY - Victorious (CD) Belgium March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 34:49 (Tracks: 9)
Belgium band Hell City began in 2007 as a coverband. In 2009 their first EP “Here Comes The Sin” was presented in the underground metalcircuit. With vocalist Michelle Nivelle handling vocal duties their first full length "Demons To Rest” came out in 2012 and was received very well. This resulted in playing Graspop that year and in 2013 they were present at the MFVF. At his festival I sae the band performing live and for me they were one of the most pleasant surprises. Old school Heavy Metal mixed with classic Hardrock and some slight Stoner Grooving elements. The band played very energetic and the female vocals of Michelle fitted in perfectly. I got myself their debut full length “Demons To Rest” and that album presented itself as pretty good. Don't get me wrong, the album was good but it lacked the more heavy, energetic sound they present live. Follow up “Victorious” sounds better but still for me live they are at their best. After the threatening instrumental “Thriumph Is Turmoil”, “Lies” immediately shows the bands qualities. Great, clean vocals with a raw edge, harsh guitars and fine solo's. Nothing wrong with the musical craftsmanship so this band certainly has enough potential. Single “Ice Cold Rage” follows and is one of their best songs. Vocally Michelle delivers an outstanding job. The song has more balls and it really “bites”. This track is present in an acoustic version as well and also then it stands out. The album has it's resting point in the semi-ballad “Running In Circles” but overall it presents catchy Heavy Metal tracks interwoven with fast and furious guitar solos by Vincent Noben like “Burning Irony”, “Rockalypse” and the fetching “The Fight”. Best track however is the awesome, slow banging. title track “Victorious” with a mean sounding Michelle. The album overall is a bit short with it's playing time of 35 minutes including an intro and an acoustic version but better short and put it on replay instead of deleting some tracks which are hardly worth listening. Fans of old school Metal/Rock certainly have to take a shot of this.
Visit their website: http://www.hellcity.be
Recordlabel: http://www.spinalrecords.net
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hellcityband

83/100

HIDE THE KNIVES – Silence The Youth (CD) Sweden March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Hard Rock Running time: 35:01 (Tracks: 10)
Wow, I was really surprised by this album of HIDE THE KNIVES, because I never had heard of this band before, and didn't know what to expect. But with the first listen to "Silence The Youth", I already knew enough, this is a good band and a really fine album. Anyway, one year after the release of the band's debut and breakthrough album "Savior For Sale" (which was released in February of 2009), all members, except singer Glen Gilbert, left the band. But in 2014 Gilbert started the band again, so he could record the band's second album "Silence The Youth" (which was released in October of 2014). The line-up of HIDE THE KNIVES on this second album exists of Glen Gilbert (vocals, guitar), Jimmy Norberg (guitar), Micke Holm (bass) and Olle Töpel (drums). To me, all songs on "Silence The Youth" are very good compositions, and are very accessible and catchy. The band exists of very good musicians, and Gilbert is a very good singer as well. "Silence The Youth" was produced by Jimmy Norberg, Glen Gilbert and Svein Jensen, and sounds excellent. This is an album that will visit my CD-player more often. Although I also like the songs "Care" (3:51), "Deception" (4:01), "Light" (3:44) and "Brothers" (3:47), my favorites are absolutely "Darkest Hour" (3:06), "Our Hearts" (4:01), "Savior For Sale" (3:52), "Holy Banner" (3:19), "Honey" (2:28) and the title track "Silence The Youth" (2:48). Fantastic band and an excellent album.
Recordlabel: http://www.gain.se
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hidetheknives

80/100

HIGHWAY DREAM – Wonderful Race (CD) Italy March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 44:11 (Tracks: 10)
Highway Dream is an Italian band who play Hard Rock with a Metal and Melodic touch. The band is formed in 2008 and after some EP stuff by “Born to be..” this “Wonderful Race” is their full length debut album. It sounds pretty good but not earthshaking. That's because there are so many bands bringing this kind of rockswingers to a bunch of bikers in your local bar. Amusement guaranteed, that's for sure, certainly with a good looking lady handling the microphone. That lady Isabella delivers a fine job and provides the songs with a certain punch. What I like is that in some songs they add a low bass driven metal feel like in “Many Reasons”. Musically it's all in order, the tracks are brought energetic and some songs have a nice unexpected twist. As said, not earthshaking but a nice rockin' record, nor more, no less.
Visit their website: http://www.highwaydream.it
Recordlabel: http://www.streetsymphonies.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/highwaydream

72/100

JORN – Swing of Death (CD) Norway March 2015 Manfred Werger
Style: Melodic Metal Running time: 45:38 (Tracks: 10)
Swing of Death is the new album of Jorn Lande backed up by his friend a guitarist Trond 'Teeny 'Holter, former guitarplayer for Wig Wam. The new album is based on the Bram Stoker novel about Prince Vlad III, The Impaler, who sold his soul to the devil. The inner struggle of Vlad Dracul(a), the balance between true love and devilish feelings, is the main theme of this album. The music on this album has a great variety in moods,in the musical structures, in the songs, but the phenomenal vocals of Jorn shines troughout this album and I am very fond of the guitars of Trond Holter, his heavy, dark sounds are amazing, just listen to “Queen of the dead “, “Walking on Water” and “Under the gun”, the closing track on this album. There is an instrumental track as well, featuring Trond's guitar playing, the mysterious “True love through blood “, that reminds me of John Norum and Michael Schenker.The rhythm section is thick and strong, with Per Morten Bergseth on drums and Bernt Jansen on bass guitar.The girls'roles in Vlad's life are sung by Lena Fløitmoen Børresen. She has a strong, beautiful voice and the Norwegian songbird takes hold of the flame in the duets (there are four of them), swapping beautiful vocal lines with Jorn. I like the album, it has an Ayreon – feel and you can hear traces of Alice Cooper, Meat Loaf, Epica, Savatage and the darker Whitesnake- sounds. Special song is “The Masquerade Ball, a great track with many suprises, it gets better and better after each spin. Nice album, check this one out!
Visit their website: http://www.jornlande.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jornlande
MySpace: http//:www.myspace.com/realjorn

81/100

KELLY SIMONZ'S BLIND FAITH – Blind Faith (CD) Japan March 2015 Ronny Elst
Style: Neo-classical Hardrock Running time: 54:58 (Tracks: 13)
I've been following this Japanese guitarist/songwriter since many years. At the end of the 90's he blew me away with his debut album "Sign of the Times"! That was a neo-classical hardrock masterpiece, combined with melodic hardrock. My nephew and I mentioned Lasse Mattsson from Lion Music about Kelly, which resulted in an European deal. After "Sign of the Times" (1998), two other good albums followed ; "Silent Scream" (1999) and "The Rule of Right" (2002). After these albums Kelly even toured in Europe with the Hughes Turner Project in 2002. He continued to play in Japan, contributed to many guitar clinics and even played in a death metal band. Kelly also released a "best of" and a" cover" album (of his favourite bands). Now he's finally back with his fourth solo album!! "Blind Faith" is for me a return to his best album so far, "Sign of the Times". The new album is filled again with neo-classical rock/metal, melodic rock, acoustic guitar, and a few instrumental neo-classical masterpieces. Kelly Simonz is not a copycat of Y.J. Malmsteen, okay there are several influences from Yngwie, but Kelly combines that with better songwriting, and a mix with melodic (hard)rock. Kelly likes besides Yngwie also Gary Moore, John Norum, Sing/The Police and 80's U.S. hardrock like Winger and Dokken, so his songs are a cocktail of all this. For sure a very good neo-classical/melodic hardrock release!!
Visit their website: http://www.kellysimonz.com
Recordlabel: http://www.kingrecords.co.jp
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kellysimonz

93/100

KHAøS – Risen (CD) Switserland / USA March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Alternative Rock Running time: 63:36 (Tracks: 12)
The sound is impeccable. Khaos have nailed that aspect of the music, and with the music they play that's half the battle won. Multi layered vocals can only come out fine when the production is appropriately done. So no complaints there. Risen also a fine album musically, as the songs available on this disc have a proper structure. But they're also very predictable, and I can't imagine that having been done intentional. Every band likes they're music surprising people, catching them off guard. So there are no surprises on offer here. Having said that, they are quality. And for many, that will be more important than being amazed by every turn or break the songs entail. To those people I will honestly love to recommend Risen.
Visit their website: http://khaos-risen.com
Recordlabel: http://www.plastichead.com/mrrrecords
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Khaos2012
Twitter: https://twitter.com/khaos_rising

73/100

LEVEL 10 – Chapter One (CD) USA March 2015 Manfred Werger
Style: Melodic Metal Running time: 54:59 (Tracks: 12)
It's supergroup-time! Level 10, Frontier's newest project , features the German top notch-musicians bassist Mat Sinner (Primal Fear, Sinner), guitarist Roland Grapow (Masterplan, ex-Helloween), guitarist Alex Beyrodt (Silent Force, Primal Fear) and drummer Randy Black (ex-Primal Fear). But the musicians share their music with Russel Allen (Adrenaline Mob, Symphony X) and their founder and composer mastermind-keyboardist Alessandro Del Vecchio (way too many projects to name). And the project has a briljant guest list to be jealous of as well. Magnus Karlsson, Carsten Schulz, Sander Gommans and Amanda Somerville joined forces for this project and their offspring, named 'Chapter One'. The bar is raised and the expectations are high enough, but does the album live up to these expectations? Well, I can say that Level 10 has made a great album full of headbanging melodic metal. If you are a fan of acts like Primal Fear, Pretty Maids, Masterplan, Sinner and the Allen-Lande-discs, you won't be disappointed. Russel allen shows what a fine singer he is, with his strong vocal powerness and variaton between melodic structures and the brute force he has. The other musicial stars shine as well, i like the strong guitars on this album and the majestic soloing.The album is full of potent rockers, with a thick based rhytym section and crunchy guitars.The production is fat and solid, with a prominent role for the axe work and the vocals. The only minor point is that the album hasn't got that the instant hit-factor, there are no instant classic hits that stick like glue or fit like a glove. The albums as well is a real smasher, not far away from Primal Fear's latest album and again a vehicle for the top players and the top singer in the land of heavy power metal. Check this one out!
Band: Russell Allen (v), Mat Sinner (b) (v), Roland Grapow (g), Alex Beyrodt (g), Randy Black (d), Alessandro Del Vecchio (k)
Visit their website: https://www.facebook.com/sirrussellallen
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/matsinnerofficial
MySpace: http//:www.myspace.comofficialrusselallen

83/100

MORTICIAN – Shout For Heavy Metal (CD) Austria March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 41:56 (Tracks: 10)
MORTICIAN is an Austrian traditional Heavy Metal band that has been formed in the early eighties. The attached info sheet tells that, since many years, MORTICIAN got a cult status in their own country. Anyway, in 1987 the band released their demo "Street Warrior", and in that same year MORTICIAN also released the 3-track EP "No War". And the band's second demo "Break The Rules" was released in 1989. The "No War" EP was re-released with bonus tracks in 2009 via Pure Steel Records, and was re-titled in "No War & More". In 2011 the self-titled debut album "Mortician" was released on Pure Underground Records. Personally, I am not familiar with these aforementioned products of the band. So, this second full length album "Shout For Heavy Metal" is my first acquaintance with MORTICIAN. Don't ask me if the line-up of MORTICIAN, which are Daniel Khan (vocals), Thomas Metzler (guitar), Patrik Lercher (bass) and Alex (drums), is still the original line-up or that the band had a lot of line-up changes during the years. Anyway, since I got this album to review, I've listened several times to "Shout For Heavy Metal", but to me it's just nothing more than an average Heavy Metal album. It sounds absolutely not bad, but it's not that great as well. The band plays eighties Heavy Metal with so now and then also some Thrash influences in it. Bands which comes in mind while listening are JUDAS PRIEST, ACCEPT, SAXON, DIO et cetera. Even the riff of "Rock Power" (3:08) sounds like, or do I have to say "is stolen from" DIO's classic "Stand Up And Shout". And halfway the song "The Devil You Know" (4:46) the band reminded me even a bit of OVERKILL. The songs which I like the most, and which are in my opinion the best songs of the album, are the openings- and title-track "Shout For Heavy Metal" (4:37), "Eagle Spy" (5:09), "Black Eyes" (4:26) and "Inner Self" (4:27), which has more Thrash Metal influences in it. Altogether, "Shout For Heavy Metal" is, like I already said above, not a bad album, it's just a nice average Heavy Metal album. Check it out if you are intested.
Visit their website: http://www.mortician.at
Recordlabel: http://www.pureunderground-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mortician.austria
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/morticianaustria

68/100

MOTÖRHEAD – Stage Fright (re-release Blu-Ray DVD) United Kingdom March 2015 Martio van Dooren
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 209 minutes
This is a re-release from the DVD that was originally released in 2005. Now its re-released as a Blu-Ray DVD with a lot of extra footage!! As extra's they added, beside the 20 songs from the original DVD, some testimonials, a making of, a photo gallery, a few doku's and so on.... This is real great stuff for the die hard MOTORHEAD fan and a welcome surprise for my private collection! Check this out if you love MOTORHEAD as much as I do!
Visit their website: http://www.imotorhead.com
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de

--/---

NIGHT DEMON – Curse of the Damned (CD) USA March 2015 Martio van Dooren
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 209 minutes
Hailing from the city of Ventura an hour north of Los Angeles, Night Demon is a classic metal trio comprising Jarvis Leatherby on bass and vocals, Brent Woodward on guitar and Dusty Squires on drums. The band unites the three members' musical inspirations and influences ranging from old-school metal greats such as Iron Maiden, Metallica, Diamond Head, Angel Witch, Riot and Saxon to punk legends The Misfits. But whilst Night Demon's music proudly exhibits these roots, it does so in a manner contemporary with modern times in every aspect, and even in Night Demon's short tenure as an active band since 2012, this quality has compelled first-time listeners to take notice and has made an indelible impact on them. I was already familiar with the bands self released MCD which is already sold out these days. I saw the band for the first time on the Keep it True festival and later that year, 2014, I managed to book the band for a clubshow in my seconds livingroom; Little Devil club, Tilburg, The Netherlands. After that 2 shows it was already clear for me; this band has all the ingredients to become a big band! Well SPV records also heard about the positive feedback from the band's visitors and deciced to offer them a contract! Well finally the album is finished and man; its a damn good one again!!! Very enjoyable hardrock 'n roll in the vein of bands like (mostly) Thin Lizzy, Vanderbuyst, UFO & also Dead Lord (also Thin Lizzy adorers). The band manages to deliver some pretty fine rock tunes with a swing! Live this band is also worth checking out! The band is doing an european tour at the moment and will, again, play a show @ the Little Devil bar in Tilburg, The Netherlands!! Ofcourse organised by........just check them out!!!
Visit their website: http://www.nightdemon.net
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de

85/100

ORDEN OGAN - Ravenhead (CD) Germany March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Power Metal Running time: 48.28 (Tracks: 11)
Orden Ogan definitely may call themselves a “big” band in the Power metal scene after releasing their third “bull's eye” record in a row. Although this is their 5th release their status is rising rapidly since the highly acclaimed predecessors “Easton Hope” (2010) and “To The End” (2012). The band perfections their bombastic Power Metal with great choirs and a fantastic orchestral sound album after album into tracks that sound like stand alone musicals. I must admit you'll have to be into this kind of stuff, but the thing is that's it's all so well done. After the instrumental opener “Orden Ogan”, “Ravenhead” opens fierce and powerful with Blind Guardian/Running Wild influences. Even better, and for me the best Orden Ogan track until now, follows named ”F.E.V.E.R.” Orden Ogan has become one of the best at impact choruses and they come no better than what you will hear on “F.E.V.E.R.” The song and sound reminds me strongly to that of the amazing Dawn Of Destiny album “F.E.A.R.” (is this pure coincidental ?) Nevertrheless, it rocks, kick's ass and man, what a great bombastic bass/drum performance by Niels and Dirk. ”The Lake”, “Evil Lies In Every Man” and “Here At The End Of The World” follow in the same high quality. Although sometimes Orden Ogan may began to sound a bit cheesy they get away with it simply because of their musical craftmanship. The only thing I have to nag is that to the end the high level increases a bit so the album goes off like a fizzled. If you are into fierce and friendly sounding bombastic Metal with melodic hooks, a powerful sound, catchy songs and sing along choirs all of high level this is the band and album for you.
Visit their website: http://www.ordenogan.de
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com//ordenogan

83/100

OVERDRIVE – The Final Nightmare (CD) United Kingdom March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: NWOBHM Running time: 45:25 (Tracks: 9)
As a visitor of the Brofest (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) and Very Eavy (Stadskanaal, NL) festivals I think I'm allowed to call myself a proper NWOBHM fan. I actually enjoyed that period quite intently, as I was in my late teens when it all kicked off. I was very aware of a lot of the bands, but did realise that it was quite impossible to experience all the bands from the UK, being Dutch. So I've never heard Overdrive before. And I would have liked to have, as they sometimes really sound great on The Final Nightmare. For instance Twice Shy sounds like early Tygers Of Pan Tang, who were a real sensation of Wild Cat. This also goes for many of the other songs Overdive have put on this record: the vibe is unmistakable NWOBHM, with an old fashioned sound to match. What makes them different from many other bands from that era is the use of a Hammond Organ. It adds another layer on top of the good music on The Final Nightmare. This is proper headbanging stuff for those who are still discovering that the NWOBHM had more to offer than they encountered back then.
Visit their website: http://www.overdriverockband.co.uk
Recordlabel: http://www.purerock-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/overdrive-nwobhm
Twitter: https://twitter.com/overdrivenwobhm

80/100

PANTHEON - Intervention (MCD) United Kingdom March 2015 Rob Claesen
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 17:25 (Tracks: 4)
As soon as I opened the package, I was very curious because of the professional way the EP is presented. To be honest: the music doen't live up to the given expectations. The musicians know their way around their instruments, but I've heard the song a thousand times before. And much better. The four songs on the EP give us a glimp of any future potential, but firts Pantheon has to work on their own identity.
Visit their website: http://www.pantheonofficial.com

50/100

RED CIRCUIT – Haze Of Nemesis (CD/DVD) Germany March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Progressive Metal / Power Metal Running time: CD: 53:14 (Tracks: 11) / DVD: 63:18 (Tracks: 12)
"Haze Of Nemesis" is the third album of German melodic Progressive- / Power- Metal band RED CIRCUIT and was released in October of 2014. Personally I am not familiar with the debut album "Trance State" (2006) and the second album "Homeland" (2009) of the band. Anyway the line-up of RED CIRCUIT on this third album exists of Chitral "Chity" Somapala (vocals, ex-FIREWIND, ex-DOMAIN, also CIVILIZATION ONE, REKUIEM), Christian Moser (guitar), Thomas Schmitt (bass), Michael Stein (drums) and Markus Teske (keyboards). "Haze Of Nemesis" features eleven tracks, of which two songs are cover versions. The third track is a cover version of PETER GABRIEL's "Digging In The Dirt" (from the 1992 album "Us"), and the last track, which is a bonus track, is a cover version of DEEP PURPLE's "Soldier Of Fortune" (from the classic 1974 album "Stormbringer"). Only I don't like the "Digging In The Dirt" (4:33) song that much. But I do like the cover version of PURPLE's "Soldier Of Fortune" (3:04). And the ballad of the album, which is "My World Collides" (3:51), is a duet with Amanda Somervillle of AVANTASIA. Well, this is my first acquaintance with the voice of Chitral Somapala, and I must say that he's just a good singer. RED CIRCUIT exists of good and skilled musicians, and I really enjoy of Moser's guitar solos on this album. The songs on "Haze Of Nemesis" which I like the most are "My Lonely Hearts" (4:58), "Believing A Lie" (4:46), "Spear Of Fate" (4:29), "Serpent's Smile" (4:39) and "Silent Roaring" (4:16). As a bonus with this CD, there's a DVD with a full concert of RED CIRCUIT which is filmed when the band played at the Progpower festival in Atlanta, U.S.A. on September 17th of 2011. And I must say, it's a nice concert to watch. During the concert at the Progpower festival, RED CIRCUIT also played two new songs, which are on this new album, namely "Spear Of Fate" and the title track "Haze Of Nemesis". Other songs on this live-DVD which RED CIRCUIT played at the festival are "Under The Sun", "Through The Eyes Of A Child", "Homeland", "The World Forgotten Sons", "You Can Sleep While You're Dead", "The Veil", "See The Light", "Absinth" and "Sun Of Utopia". And the DVD ends with a bonus video of "Oceans Apart", which is the opening track of "Haze Of Nemesis". Anyway, if you like bands such as THRESHOLD, DREAM THEATER, KAMELOT or you are already familiar with the first 2 albums of RED CIRCUIT, then you will like this album as well.
Visit their website: http://www.redcircuit.de
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/redcircuitgermany

77/100

SANCTUAIRE – Sainte Mort (CD) France March 2015 Kees Schijven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 44:27 (Tracks: 9)
SANCTUAIRE is a French heavy metal band, started by Florent B. Manquat (Necrowretch/Ex Aldaaron) in Grenoble in 2008. The band is influenced by eighties French metal bands like Sortilege, ADX, H Bomb...After their 'Un autre enfer' demo, the band signed with Emanes metal records. On this label they released their debut album 'L'Empreinte de Lucifer' and promoted it on the Up The Hammers festival in Greece, with Raven, Vanderbuyst etc...the band got the play live with bands like Wizard, Elvenstorm, Vulcain, Blaze Bailey and lots of others.
The line up of SANCTUAIRE consists of members from Necrowretch, Aldaaron and Nocturnal Depression. And now here's their follow up to their debut album 'Sainte Mort'. The music of SANCTUAIRE is oldschool French heavy metal, with high pitch vocals in French language. Nice melodic metal tunes, in the veins of ADX, Trust and you name em, not really outstanding, but certainly not bad either. Production sounds well, good songs and guitarwork on here, if you don't mind the French lyrics, you have a very good heavy metal band to enjoy, who brought out a nice second album, not the most original, but well done eighties style heavy metal, if this was their goal, I would say mission accomplished! Maybe more outstanding and original on the next album would be a good idea, I know they are capable enough!
Visit their website: http://www.myspace.com/sanctuaireforce
Recordlabel: http://www.emanesmetalrecords.com
MySpace: http://www.facebook.com/sanctuaire

74/100

SORROWS PATH – Doom Philosophy (CD) Greece March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Doom Metal Running time: 57:00 (Tracks: 11)
Sorrows Path is Greek Doom Metal band that already exists since 1993. Very productive they are certainly not because this “Doom Philosophy” is their second (!) full length release after their 2010 “The Rough Path of Nihilism”. I'm not familiar with their former releases but this one certainly isn't bad. Sorrows path plays melodic Doom Metal with some sniffs of prog notable in a few tracks like for example the (almost) instrumental close “damned (O) fish – L.S.D. Most inspired by bands like Candlemass, Solitude Aeturnus and most of all the melody of Memonto Mori they deliver an enjoyable record in this genre. All ingredients are present and more for a fine hour of melancholic Doom with surprising breaks, good instrumental control and deep vibrato vocals. After the fine instrumental opener “First Beam Of Darkness Into Light” you already get the best songs in line. Just listen to “Tragedy”, “A Dance With The Dead” (with haunting vocals), the darker and heavier “Brother Of Life” and “Everything Can Change”. Very good songs with enough variety and more than promising. There isn't a bad song on this album but sometimes they repeat themselves. Guest appearances are made by Snowy Shaw (vocally) and Edgar Rivera (guitars) so they are already noticed by some big names in the genre. The band certainly deserves to be heard, musically and productionally it's all pretty good stuff. Good album which tastes for more.
Visit their website: http://www.sorrowspath.net
Recordlabel: http://www.ironshieldsrecords.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/sorrowspath
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/sorrowspathmusic

78/100

SOULHEALER – Bear The Cross (CD) Finland March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Heavy Metal Running time: 43:06 (Tracks: 10)
In October of 2013 I reviewed the second album "Chasing The Dream" of Finnish Melodic Metal band SOULHEALER, which got 72 out of 100 points from me. "Chasing The Dream" was the band's first album released on Pure Legend Records. In October 2014 these five men released their third album "Bear The Cross", and was again released on Pure Legend Records. Well, the line-up of the band on this album hasn't changed, so it's still Jori Kärki (vocals), Sami Mikkonen (guitar), Teemu Kuosmanen (guitar, backing vocals), Pasi Laakkonen (bass) and Jani Nyman (drums). Also musically there hasn't changed much. SOULHEALER still treats us on fine melodic Heavy Metal / Hard Rock like we already know from the mid-eighties. In my review of "Chasing The Dream" I wrote that I didn't like the vocals of Kärki that much. Well, on this new album I don't have problems with his voice anymore. So, I think he has made some progression. To me, "Bear The Cross", which has a very nice album cover, is in my opinion in its entirely a better album than its predecessor "Chasing The Dream". So also musically the band has made progression. The ten songs on this album are again sounding really nice. I'm sure so now and then this album will make some more spins in my CD-player. Anyway, if you like melodic Metal / Hard Rock like during in the eighties, or you already liked the previous albums of SOULHEALER, then check this album out. I'm sure you will like it. The songs which I like the most on "Bear The Cross" are the fantastic opener "Unleash The Beast" (4:26), "The Journey Goes On" (3:43), "Fall From Grace" (3:34), "The Viper's Kiss" (4:16), "Revealed" (3:38) and the last track of the album "Settle The Score" (5:45). My end conclusion is that "Bear The Cross" is a good melodic Metal album.
Visit their website: http://www.soulhealermusic.com
Recordlabel: http://www.purelegend-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/soulhealermusic
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/soulhealermusic

74/100

STUD – Rust On The Rose (CD) Finland March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 45:43 (Tracks: 11)
STUD is a Finnish melodic Hard Rock band that was already formed way back in 1986. At that time the band chose to sing in Finnish, which resulted in the band's first single "Mä Haluun Elää" / "Viimeinen Yö" that was released in 1986. At some moment they decided to start to sing in English. In 2012 the original line-up of the band came back together, which are Ari Toivanen (vocals), Mika Kansikas (guitar), Matti Jalonen (bass) and Stenda Kukkonen (drums), and they finally recorded the band's first album "Out Of The Darkness", which was released in 2013. In March of 2014 the band started to recorded their second album, which became this one titled "Rust On The Rose", and was released in October 2014 through Cranksonic. And Metal Revelation is doing the promotion for the band. And I must say, I was really surprised with this second album of the band. The band plays heavy guitar orientated melodic Hard Rock, and they reminded me mostly of DOKKEN. It's just like you are listening to DOKKEN without singer Don Dokken, and even the great guitar solos of Kansikas are sounding like George Lynch (ex-DOKKEN, LYNCH MOB). Also the production, which was also done by Kansikas, sounds fantastic. To me, all the songs on this album are excellent compositions, and most of them are very catchy as well. Although "Poor Man's Buddy" (4:45) is a good song, to me it's the least track of the album. And the last track of the album, "Playing To Win" (4:57), is a nice semi-ballad. I like the songs "Raise Your Fist" (4:32), "Promised To Be Mine" (3:25), "Freedom Call" (4:21) and "I Don't Know" (3:36), but my favorite songs of this album are absolutely "Rock 'N Roll World" (4:02), the title track "Rust On The World" (4:13), the superb "We're Gonna Strike" (3:35), "Break The Chains" (4:01) and "Dangerous" (4:11). "Rust On The Rose" is a very good Melodic Hard Rock album, and is a real recommendation to anyone who likes Hard Rock / Metal from the eighties.
Visit their website: http://www.stud.fi
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/studofficial

78/100

SWEET / LYNCH– Only to rise (CD) USA March 2015 Manfred Werger
Style: Melodic Rock Running time: 49:21 (Tracks: 12)
Huh…..another supergroup in the Frontiers's landscape? After Level 10 this Sweet / Lynch-project is another collaboration of 'the who is who' in melodic rock. This time Stryper's Michael Sweet returns after his amazing solo album released in 2014 joining up with legendary shredder George Lynch (Lynch Mob, ex-Dokken, bassist James Lomenzo (ex-Megadeth, Black Label Society, White Lion) and drummer Brian Tichy (ex-Whitesnake, Foreigner and guitar player behind the beautiful curves of Sass Jordan in SUN) on to round out a band. The fruits of their writing, playing and producing (the album was produced by Michael Sweet) is a thirteen track album that showcases the extreme talented gifts of the musicians involved in the project. The vocals of Michael shine throughout this album and the fat crispy soloing of George Lynch is a return to his legato-phrased solo's, sweet arpeggio's and his spicy riffing we've missed from him. Brian Tichy hits the drums at his best and the smooth bass lines of James Lomenzo are fat and groovy. The album is full of choruses and hooks, i like it a lot. The production is is crispy, clear and the balance is good.The vocals lay in the mix right in the “sweet” audible spot, there are layered vocals lines as well ( just listen to “Time will tell”, “Me without you”, filled with great backings!) . Sometimes the guitars are put away a little backward, they sound a little tempered in favour of the vocals, too bad. But the energy level is high enough and there are enough songs to please the fans of Stryper, Dokken, Pride and Glory (that dark bluesy edges can also be found in this music) and Lynch Mob.Sweet & Lynch is a rock-solid addition to anyone's collection of music. Opening with “The Wish” and ending with “Only to Rise” ,the title track, fans are going to love Sweet & Lynch. Band: Michael Sweet – lead vocals, guitars, George Lynch – lead guitars, James Lomenzo – bass guitar and Brian Tichy – drums Track Listing: 1. The Wish 2. Like A Dying Rose 3. Love Stays 4. Time Will Tell 5. Rescue Me 6. Me Without You 7. Recover 8. Divine 9. September10. Strength In Numbers 11. Hero-Zero 12. Only To Rise
Visit their website: www.michaelsweet.com/
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sweetlynch
MySpace: http//:www.myspace.com/michaelsweetrocks

86/100

TELLURION – Tellurion (CD) The Netherlands March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Modern Metal / Industrial / Djent / Metalcore Running time: 46:52 (Tracks: 9)
TELLURION is a Dutch Modern Metal band from Oostburg (Zeeland), that was formed in 2009 or 2010 and started by playing covers of PANTERA, LAMB OF GOD and MACHINE HEAD to name a few. The band had released their self-titled debut album "Tellurion" in March of 2014 all by themselves. TELLURION did actually their own promotion so far, but at the end of 2014 they asked Mike de Coene from Hard Life Promotion if he wanted to do the promotion for the band. So Mike agreed, and now I've got that self-titled album "Tellurion" to review for MMM. Well, I liked the album immediately. With the first listen TELLURION reminded me of a mixture of LAMB OF GOD, FEAR FACTORY PERIPHERY and KILLSWITCH ENGAGE. The band, which exists of Elton Boussen (vocals), Brennan Caboor (guitar), Benjamin Moll (guitar), Marvin Marteijn (bass) and Matthijs Quaars (drums), leaves with this debut album a perfect visiting card behind. Really, all nine tracks, which are "Apex Predator" (4:54), "Left For Dead" (4:26), "Stones Break The Water" (6:15), "The Architect" (4:52), "Mountains Crumble" (4:34), "Portal Of The Sun" (6:35), "The Gift" (5:22), "22-7" (4:17) and "Ruined" (5:34), are sounding great and are fantastic compositions. To me, there isn't any weak song on "Tellurion". The band exists of excellent musicians, and they have the perfect singer in Elton Boussen. Also the production of this album, which was done by the band themselves, sounds fantastic. Once again, I like the entire album very much, and this album will find its way to my CD-player much more. Superb album and awesome band, who, in my opinion, really deserves a record deal. If you like the above mentioned bands, you really have to check this band out. I'm sure you will like TELLURION too. Thanks guys for this excellent album. Hope to see you play someday at the Little Devil bar in Tilburg, and I'm already looking forward to the second album.
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/tellurion

82/100

THRASH BOMBZ – Dawn (MCD) Italy March 2015 Kees Schijven
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 21:19 (Tracks: 6)
THRASH BOMBZ was born in December 2007 in Sicilia from the ashes of Necrosis. The line-up consisted of Giuseppe Peri on rhythm guitar/bass and Salvatore Li Causi on lead guitar/drums. With the help of Tony Frenda on vocals they recorded their 'Sicilian Way of Thrash' demo which was released in 2012. In the meantime they found a frontman in Leonardo Botta, and recorded a new demo ep early 2013 'Mission of Blood'. In april of that year the line-up was completed by Angelo Bissanti on bass, and Vincenzo Lombardi on drums. And now there is a new (short) thrash attack as a four piece, since Leonardo needed to leave the band, and Angelo taking over the vocals. This new release starts off with an intro called 'Unknown' after which 'Presence' bursts loose in total oldschool thrash attack, this brings back the feel of the eighties, but with a modern day sound. The music of THRASH BOMBZ is ultra fast and heavy thrash metal from the heart, and this release is just way too short!! Time for a full length album!! Other tracks are 'Drown in your Misery', 'Eternal Punishment', 'Dawn', the last title track of this release is a longer instrumental song, showing the skills of THRASH BOMBZ musicians. After this 'Human Obliteration' ends this release in a thrash explosion, great stuff for sure!
Visit their website: http://www.thrashbombz.bandcamp.com
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
MySpace: http://www.facebook.it/thrashbombzofficial

82/100

UDO – Decadent (CD) Germany March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Metal Running time: 59.30 (Tracks: 12)
2015 starts damn fine with the release of a new U.D.O. album. Udo Dirkschneider doesn't need no introduction at all. This flesh made “Metal Machine” always delivers high levelled albums within two years and never forsakes his roots. “Decadent” is the 15th studio release and the second one with his renewed band. This band even sounds tighter and more solid as on the previous “Steelhammer” so it will be no surprise that this one's even better. Don't expect any real surprises because U.D.O. simply delivers what he does best; serving you dynamic metal in optima forma. 80's based rockers like “Meaning of Life”, “Pain”, and “Rebels of the Night”, up tempo stuff like “Speeder”, a power ballad by “Secrets in Paradise” and hard hitting foot stompers like “Decadent”, Untouchable” and the awesome “House of Fake” (fantastic riff work and solo's ). On every album there is room for a song which is just a bit different. This time it's the threating, dark and sinister sounding “Mystery” which is one of the finest tracks on the album. A welcome alternation and a splendid try out that fits the band like a glove. “Decadent” simply is a great, damn fine record with enough solid stuff to be heard live and loud. The band deserves a metal statue for bringing out this constantly high levelled albums. Not many bands can be named to do so. Great sound, great mastering, great band, great album. Just as simple as that, so go a get it !
Visit their website: http://www.-udo-online.de
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/udo-online
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/udoonline

86/100

UFO – A Conspiracy of stars (CD) United Kingdom March 2015 Manfred Werger
Style: Hard Rock / Bluesy Rock Running time: 50:30 (11 tracks)
Ah…. A new UFO- album! UFO, my absolute favourite band in their heydays from 1974 to 1980, making albums that left trademarks in my memory and in my soul and providing the best album ever: their live-opus 'Strangers in the night'. 'A conspiracy of stars ' is the eagerly awaited follow up to 'Seven Deadly '. The album was produced by Chris Tsangarides, who was involved in UFO's first album with Michael Schenker, Phenomenon in 1974, as an assistant engineer. The production is fatter, better and more open than the former UFO albums of recent years.The new UFO album gives away what their music al all about these days. Bluesy edged hard rock with many nods to their very, very rich back catalogue. Vinnie Moore is Michael Schenker's 'remplacant' in UFO for about ten years, but the former Shrapnel-shredder is in a great mood and responsible for the beautiful axework on this album. Phil Mogg, founder member of the band and in it for passion and love since 1969 (!), shines on this album. He can't reach the high notes, but his bluesy tone, his evocative lyrics, his timing and phrasing are still great to listen to. Paul Raymond is still the mastermind on keys and guitars and the rhythm section, good old Andy Parker on drums and Rob De Luca on bass guitars, provide that crunchy, thick layered, bluesy relaxation grounds where the other members can flow. The album has a rocking relaxed feel with good songs. There are no lows on this album and that makes it very hard to pick a favourite. There are a lot of nods to the heydays of the seventies of the former century ( Precious cargo, Run boy run, Sugar cane, King of the hill, Devils in the Detail), but also the eighties'period of the band ( with Paul Chapman on guitars) comes in mind.Great album by these veterans!
Visit their website: http://www.ufo-music.info
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de

85/100

UFO – Showtime (re-release Blu-Ray DVD) United Kingdom March 2015 Martio van Dooren
Style: Hard Rock / Bluesy Rock Running time: 209 minutes
This is also a re-release (like above reviewed Motorhead's Stage Fright) from the DVD that was originally released in 2005. I reviewed that DVD in April 2008. So now its re-released as a Blu-Ray DVD with a lot of extra footage!! As extra's they added, beside the 16 songs from the original DVD, 6 studio songs, a making of, several interviews, a few doku's and so on.... This is real great stuff for the die hard UFO fan and a welcome surprise for my private collection! Check this out if you love UFO as much as I do!
Visit their website: http://www.ufo-music.info
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de

--/---

VCPS – VCPS (CD) Sweden March 2015 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Rock Running time: 19:31 (Tracks: 6)
Formerly known as Vietcong Porn Surfers the band has apparently decided that if they want to reach more people they'd better use the abbreviation of their name to try and achieve that goal. And I sincerely hope they'll succeed, as VCPS do make me smile when I listen to their music. They've got a bit of Andrew WK, without the cheap party vibe, and some Black Train Jack, without the hardcore influences. You could even say they're just like those old fashioned Glam rock bands, but thankfully without the exaggerated female impressions. But most of all they're a feel good band with very strong songs. Even these six short tunes make me want to jump, sing along and lift my spirit up a notch or two. This rocks, this bangs, this has proper groove, but the main thing is that everything you hear sticks to your brain like super glue. And that is what makes a good (mini) album better: songs you remember instantly! Please, I want to hear more!!
Visit their website: http://www.vcpsofficial.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vcpsband
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/vcpsoffical

83/100

VEXILLUM – Unum (CD) Italy March 2015 Frans Neelen
Style: Folk Power metal Running time: 46:25 (Tracks: 9)
Vexillum from Italy brings Power Metal with a fierce portion of Folk. It's something they do very well. Their previous and second album “The Bivouac” showed some pleasant, clean Power Metal and showed a healthy portion of ambition and quality. For more info about that album and more background information I refer to my review in MMM from January 2013. Was their former album a long shot with over 67 minutes, this one is rather shot with it's 46 minutes because it includes 2 covers of Tazanda and Slade. To begin with the covers, well ehm, let's say they really add nothing at all. If I was them I never had added them at all because they do a lot more harm than good. Just forget them because “Unum” is a really good album. “Unum” is a story telling concept album and for that you need some vocal characters. The guest singers enlisted for this include Chris Bay (Freedom Call), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Maxi Nil (Jaded Star) and Mark Boals (Ring of Fire) who each take on the role of a character in this tale. These contributions are fine but the music is the thing that impresses most. The folky elements like bagpipes etc. have a supporting role and don't dominate. The fine metal listens away very easily, the songs sound full of adventure and the musical skills of the band are beyond any doubt present. The sound is a bit clean and sometimes lacks a bit of “thunder” but overall it's more than acceptable. Fans from Blind Guardian, Elvenking and Rhapsody of Fire certainly must give this band a chance because they perform no less comparing to those bands. Italy again surprises with a good product. With bands like for example Cadavaria and Amberian Dawn Italy performs way better than a few years ago. Vexillum paints a Folky Power Metal landscape in which it's pleasant to stay in. Well done again.
Visit their website: http://www.vexillumband.eu
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
MySpace: http://www.facebook.vexillumofficial

80/100

WOLFEN - Evilution (CD) Germany March 2015 Rob Claesen
Style: Power Metal Running time: 56:13 (Tracks: 10)
If you like bands like Iced Earth or Primal Fear you should definitely listen to Evilution of Wolfen. Their third album contains 10 well written songs which include al the ingredients that characterize the genre: pounding drums and bass, screaming vocals, heavy riffing and melodic guitar solos. But what's more important: Wolfen has developed it's own unique style. Listening to Evilution feels like a trip back in time, but the band surely lives up to today's standards.
Visit their website: http://www.wolfen-metal.de
Recordlabel: http://purelegend-records.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wolfenmetal

84/100

WRONG ERA – The Wrong EP (MCD) Italy March 2015 Ad van Osch
Style: Different Metal / Alternative Metal Running time: 23:55 (Tracks: 6)
First of all I hated when Italian bands have their press release with their promo-CD or their biography on their website or Facebook completely in Italian. And secondly I also don't like it when the songs are sung in Italian as well. Not everyone is familiar with the Italian language, you fools. Now in front of me, I have the promo-CD of the 6-track EP "The Wrong EP" of Italian band WRONG ERA. The band, who are from Mantove, Italy, was formed in 2014, and exists of Marco Nicoli (vocals, bass, midi), Lorenzo Zagni (guitar, backing vocals) and Gianluca Montanari (drums). The songs on this EP are titled "Perfect Li(v)es" (4:27), "Skepticism" (5:11), "Vittima & Carnefice" (2:59), "Wrong Era" (3:31), "Non Son Torpore" (4:02) and "System Failure" (3:40). And to tell the truth, the only song which I, musically, like the most is "Skepticism". The rest of the songs are really crap to me. Okay, I have to admit that these guys play their instruments well, but with that all's said. They really can't hold my attention with the rest of the songs on this EP. Actually, it's just really a waste of time to listen to this worthless EP. I can't imagine that, outside Italy, there are people who want to spend money to this piece of shit. Well, it's very clear to me, the WRONG ERA are just the WRONG BAND for me.
Recordlabel: http://www.atomicstuff.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/wrongeraofficial

47/100

Click here to make Mario's Metal Mania your default homepage