CD & DVD REVIEWS 2016

CD & DVD REVIEWS 2016

HOME NEWS LIVE REVIEWS CD REVIEWS INTERVIEWS
Archive: CD, DVD & DEMO REVIEWS:
2005 & OLDER 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

APRIL

ACE FREHLEY – Origins Vol.1 (CD) USA April 2016 Hans van Peppen
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 51:03 minutes (Tracks: 12)
Ace Frehley's follow up album of Space Invader is Origins Vol.1. I don't think I have to introduce Ace Frehley to you Metal Maniacs? Just kiddin' … Well, Origins Vol.1 has songs on it which Ace liked in his teen years or have influenced him from outer space. Just like Ace himself has influenced many, many guitar players on the globe. For example Scott Ian (Anthrax), Mike McCready (Pearl Jam), Slash (Guns 'n' Roses, Slash) and late Pantera legend Dimebag Darrell. Ace himself was of course influenced by “older” heroes. Although there are also three Kiss songs on the album. Parasite (featuring John 5), Rock N Roll Hell and Cold Gin (featuring Mike McCready). Those tracks have Ace on vocals. The other tracks are White Room (Cream), Street Fighting Man (The Rolling Stones), Spanish Castle Magic (Jimi Hendrix, feat. John 5), Emerald (Thin Lizzy, feat. Slash), Bring It On Home (Led Zeppelin), Wild Thing (The Troggs, feat. Lita Ford), Magic Carpet Ride (Steppenwolf), Till The End Of The Day (The Kinks) and maybe the most exciting song on this album Fire and Water (Free) with Paul Stanley on vocals! Who could have predicted that ten years ago and made a bet of it? He would became a millionaire in 2016! Paul Daniel Frehley has delivered the goods again with this Origins Vol.1. Unmistakable you hear the sound of Ace Frehley throughout this album with on some tracks, as mentioned, his recognizable voice. As this is Vol.1 there might be coming a Vol.2 in the future. “I am really thrilled with the whole thing” says Frehley and so am I. The master speaks again. This time from his past. And I am on my way to buy to vinyl version of Origins Vol.1!
Visit their website: http://www.acefrehley.com
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/officialacefrehley

80/100

AFTER APOCALYPSE – After Apocalypse (CD) Italy April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Symphonic Metal / Death Metal / Gothic Running time: 45:15 (Tracks: 10)
AFTER APOCALYPSE is an Italian female fronted band from Brescia that started in 2014. The band exists of Elena (vocals), Seba (guitar), Zendra (guitar), Megres (bass), Varghar (growls, clarinet) and Al (drums). This self-titled debut album "After Apocalypse" features 10 tracks and was released in November of 2015. The album is actually a mixture of Symphonic Metal, Death Metal and Gothic. That's because Elena is from origin an opera singer, and clarinetist Varghar does backing vocals with his dark deep growls. Okay, Elena has a good classical opera voice, but the first 2 or 3 spins it was really a hard job for me to finish the end of the album. The reason about that is that Elena's voice sounds the entire album all the same. And that could well be a disturbing factor. But musically, this album is okay. The band exists of good musicians, and the songs are nice compositions as well. All with all, I think I have listened in total 6 or 7 times to this album, and I must admit that it's a nice album, but I wouldn't buy it myself easily. If you like the combination of Gothic, Symphonic- and Death Metal, with high opera vocals and deep dark Death Metal grunts, then you should check this band out. The songs which are on this album are titled: "After Apocalypse", "World Of Marzipan", "Dark Side", "Glorious Way", "Insight", "Crying Moon", "One Day", "White Page", "Mechanical Mask", "Sentence". Personally, I don't have any specific favorites.
Recordlabel: http://www.logicillogic.net
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/after-apocalypse

67/100

BARK - Voice of Dog (CD) Belgium April 2016 Mario van Dooren
Style: Groove Metal / Death 'n' Roll Running time: 27:14 (Tracks: 12)
BARK is a new pack of Antwerp stray dogs of extreme sound. Infectious dirty riffs and a voice that tears your speakers apart. They serve their tunes raw, unpolished, gritty and dark!
Ive seen the band lately and was blown away by their energy!! Not the typical metal I listen to often but this longed for more and so guitarplayer Martin Furia sended me this promo CD. Well glad I got it!!! Musically its a mix of punk, hardcore, metal, sludge and a bit of stoner. Difficult to compare these guys with other bands but personally i hear influences of old Sepultura, Down, Prong, Wargasm, Carnivore & Pro Pain. This a great album but personally LIVE the band convinced me complete! Need to check these guys again soon!! Excellent album!
Visit their website: http://barkantwerp.bandcamp.com
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/barkantwerp
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bark666

92/100

BEAVERSTORE - Beaverstore Presents The Vomiteer (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 Jordy Brouwers
Style: Rock 'n Metal Running time: 35:17 (Tracks: 10)
The history of Beaverstore goes back many years ago until the moment that bassist André Hendriks got the idea to create “innovative music”. With the bass guitar in his hand the first songs were born. He found band members in the person of Daan van Dijk (Guitar), Bas de Kruijff on Vocals and Dirk Verspaget on Drums. Beaverstore was a fact!
After a year the band recorded their first demo entitled "Rock 'n Death”. After this release, quite quickly a period of inactivity followed. But a few years later, Andre, Daan and Dirk decided to resuscitate Beaverstore. Soon, Billy Bouw joined the band as the new vocalist. When the ideas for the album “Beaverstore Presents: The Vomiteer" originated, guitarist Daan decided to leave the band. It was difficult for him to combine his private life with all the activities of the band. Hakan Simsek quite quickly joined the band as the new guitarist. Last November, Beaverstore released their first album: "Beaver Store Presents: The Vomiteer". The album is available in a limited edition with a comic and it introduces the Vomiteer, a new hero who fights evil with his "Master Deathray Vomit". By super human control of his stomach and oesophagus, he vomits with deadly precision. The comic “learns” us how the Vomiteer acquired his powers and who his enemies are. Actually, one do not buy a CD, but a comic with a CD.
The debut album has been recorded in the Split Second Sound studios in Amsterdam under the direction of Jochem Jacobs and Bauke Visser. It has been released by Kaiserschlacht Records. I have to say that the end product has really surprised me. The band as well as the producers have delivered a really nice album. The opener of the album immediately sets the tone for the album. After a nice intro (marching music), the band shows what we can expect, some really good rock `n roll with a huge touch of metal (that`s why rock `n metal). The tempo in the first songs is quite high, and this persists during the first half of the album. The consequence is that you have to listen the album several times before you can fathom all the songs. This can maybe be a trap for the band. It lasts until the seventh song until they band slows down a little bit. During this song (“Above the law abiding citizen”), Beaverstore shows also that it`s not a problem to compose songs which have a lower tempo. This song is by the way one of my favourites, together with Scum Redeemer. I am really impressed by the guitar solo of Hakan during this song (without depriving the other band members.) The album ends nice with the songs Ultimate Ugliness (with a nice middle east intro) and Infinite Depredation, in the style in which the album began.
I have only one advice: go out and check it!
Visit their website: http://www.beaverstore.nl
Recordlabel: http://kaiserschlacht-records.nl
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/beaverstore

85/100

BED OF A NUN – Waiting For A Visit (CD) Austria April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Rock Running time: 56:21 (Tracks: 12)
First off, this is a strange name for a band. But as they're Austrians, I'll let them off. They must have thought that the Bed Of A Nun is a comfortable one and felt the name would fit their music. Because this is a stress free exercise. It's rock with a little eerie underground, but always easy to listen to. Nothing wrong with that if the songs are alright, and they are. But honestly said, to me they're nothing more than that. And that just isn't enough. The album never explodes, or even implodes, for that matter. It just dabbles on. It makes Waiting For A Visit exactly just that, an album that will have to wait until it's played next time around. It might be a long wait.
Recordlabel: http://www.purerock-records.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bedofanun
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/bedofanun

61/100

BLACKSLASH – Sinister Lightning (CD) Germany April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal / NWOBHM Running time: 42:21 (Tracks: 9)
BLACKSLASH is a German Heavy Metal band that was formed in 2007. So far I wasn't familiar with this band. BLACKSLASH, which exists of Clemens Haas (vocals), Christian Haas (guitar), Daniel Hölderle (guitar), Alec Trojan (bass) and David Hofmeier (drums), released their self-titled debut EP "Blackslash" in 2011, followed by the band's first full length album "Separate But Equal" (2013) and the 3 track EP "Stellar Master" (2014). Now I've got the band's second full length album "Sinister Lightning" to review, and man…..this album is awesome. The band plays old school Heavy Metal / NWOBHM like in the eighties. Okay, you'll hear influences of IRON MAIDEN and THIN LIZZY. The band exists of excellent musicians, and Clemens Haas is a good singer with a clean melodic voice. It's a pleasure to listen to the great twin solos of Christian Haas and Daniel Hölderle. There's one semi-ballad on "Sinister Lightning", which is titled "Made Of Steel", and is a good song. In fact, there isn't any weak song on "Sinister Lightning". The beginning of the second track "Lucifer's Reign" also reminded me a bit of VANDERBUYST. All three tracks of the aforementioned "Stellar Master" EP ("Stellar Master", "Steel Stallions" and "Don't Touch Me") are also on this album. The vinyl version has a bonus track, which is titled "Bleed Out". Too bad, that song isn't on this CD as well. Anyway, this is a superb album, and believe me all tracks, which are "Empire Rising", "Lucifer's Reign", "Stellar Master", "Edge Of The World", "Rock 'N' Roll", "Steel Stallions", "Wild And Free", "Made Of Steel" and "Don't Touch Me", are great. Once again, "Sinister Lightning" is a superb album, which is really a recommendation to anyone who's into the Heavy Metal of the eighties, but also likes newer bands such as DEAD LORD and NIGHT DEMON. Anyway, I really hope that Mario of MMM will book this fantastic band in the Little Devil, Tilburg, Holland pretty soon. Thanks guys for this making this great album.
Visit their website: http://www.blackslash-band.de
Recordlabel: http://www.ironshieldrecords.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/blackslashband

85/100

BLIZZARD HUNTER – Heavy Metal To The Vein (CD) Peru April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal / Speed Metal Running time: 49:08 (Tracks: 10)
BLIZZARD HUNTER is a 5 piece Heavy Metal / Speed Metal band from Lima, Peru, that started in 2006 as a tribute/cover band under the name BLIZZARD. "Heavy Metal To The Vein" is the band's debut album and was released in June of 2015 on Pure Underground Records. The line-up of the band on this album exists of Sebastian Palma (vocals), Lucho Sanchez (guitar), Toòo Rojas (guitar) and Lalo Salas (bass). The drums on this album was done by a session drummer named Juan Miguel Leon. But I saw on their Facebook page that BLIZZARD HUNTER has a permanent drummer in Bruno Gadea. Well, this is an awesome debut album. The band plays 80's Heavy Metal and Speed Metal, and their singer Sebastian Palma sings with high pitched vocals. The album starts with a nice instrumental titled "Conqueror Of Destiny", followed by "I'm On My Way" and the title track "Heavy Metal To The Vein", which are two awesome speed metal tracks. "Heart Of Fire (Vampire Hunter's Song)" isn't a bad one, but it's my less favorite song of the album. So now and then, it sounds a bit like IRON MAIDEN on speed. Since I've got this album to review it already made lots of spins. Anyone who's into old school Heavy Metal / Speed Metal with high pitched vocals, check this band out, because "Heavy Metal To The Vein" is an excellent album. The songs which are my favorite tracks are the aforementioned "I'm On My Way" and "Heavy Metal To The Vein", but also "Ghost Rider", "My Revenge" and "The Joke". Thanks guys for this fantastic debut album.
Recordlabel: http://www.pureunderground-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/blizzardhunter

80/100

BOSTOK – Land Of Fire (CD) Spain April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Alternative Metal Running time: 38:01 (Tracks: 8)
The thing you really need to get used to is the voice. Once you get past that there are the not so standard songs you have to find your way through. Crowbar does come to mind regularly, but the extra high clean voice, the keyboards and the structures stray away from that. These Spaniards know what they're doing, I'm just not sure they've taken enough time to think it all through. It prevents the songs from becoming whole and therefore memorable. You get the feeling that they reckoned that this was enough, let's just end it here. It just doesn't gel. Not only that, sometimes instruments are so obviously out of tune it seems deliberate. As if they are striving to release an album that's not easy to comprehend. Well, they have succeeded.
Recordlabel: http://www.metalrevelation.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bostokband
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/bostokband

60/100

BRAINSTORM – Scary Creatures (CD) Germany April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Power Metal Running time: 49:57 (Tracks: 10)
Although German Power Metal band BRAINSTORM already exists since 1989, I never had heard any album of the band, and I also never have seen them live. Now I've got "Scary Creatures" to review, which is the band's eleventh studio album. The line-up of the band on this album exists of Andy B. Franck (vocals), Torsten Ihlenfeld (guitar), Milan Loncaric (guitar), Anotonio Ieva (bass) and Dieter Bernert (drums). Well, to be honest, after several listens to this album, I come to the conclusion that BRAINSTORM is not really my band. The band exists of good musicians, no doubt about it, but I am not so impressed about the vocals of Andy B. Franck. Sorry guys, but the only songs which I like a bit of this album are "The World To See", "Where Angels Dream" and "Twisted Ways". To me, BRAINSTORM are just an average Power Metal band. But nevertheless, I'm sure die-hard fans of BRAINSTORM will be very happy with this eleventh album.
Visit their website: http://www.brainstorm-web.net
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/officialbrainstorm

68/100

CHASTAIN – We Bleed Metal (CD) USA April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: US Metal Running time: 44:51 (Tracks: 9)
I remember that in 1985 I bought the debut album "Mystery Of Illusion" of CHASTAIN on vinyl (the US Import version on Schrapnel Records). That still is a great album. But I actually don't know (or remember) why I never listened to (and bought) the albums "Ruler Of The Wasteland" (1986), and "The 7th Of Never" (1987). The second CHASTAIN album in my collection was the 1988 album "The Voice Of The Cult". Anyway, now I've got this eleventh studio album "We Bleed Metal" of CHASTAIN to review for MMM, and with the first listen I already liked it very much. I understand that female singer Leather Leone wasn't in the band for eleven years, but since 2013 she's again a member of CHASTAIN. In fact, since 2013 the line-up of CHASTAIN exists of Leather Leone (vocals), founder David T. Chastain (guitar), Mike Skimmerhorn (bass) and Stian Kristoffersen (drums). The band recorded 9 tracks for this eleventh album, and besides some fast songs, there are also some "slow bangers" on "We Bleed Metal". My favorite songs of "We Bleed Metal" are without a doubt the title track "We Bleed Metal", "All Hail The King", "Don't Trust Tomorrow", "I Am A Warrior" and "The Last Ones Alive". But the rest of the songs, which are "Against All The Gods", "Search Time For You", "Evolution Of Terror" and "Secrets", are good as well. "We Bleed Metal" is a good US Metal album, which is a recommendation to all US Metal fans.
Visit their website: http://www.davidtchastain.com
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/davidt.chastain
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/chastainofficial

78/100

CHILL – Artificially Alive (CD) Finland April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Modern Metal Running time: 17:52 (Tracks: 4)
This EP is very interesting. chILL is a Finnish band that gets their influences from different sides of the heavy spectrum. Nu metal, melodic death metal, hardcore, math core, it's all there. And it makes for a pleasant listen. Opener Recycled Unentertainment delivers what it says on the package, because you do get the feeling you've heard it before. Just not in this order or in this fashion. Nonbeliever is a headbanging monster of a song, making it very hard to sit still and type this review. More Beast Than A Man and Useless Byproducts go on in the same fashion as the first two songs, jolting you every way possible. In short: you've got to be a metal chameleon to take it all in and enjoy chILL. If you're not one of those, you won't appreciate Artificially Alive.
Visit their website: http://twistedent.net/chill
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chillinyourspine
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/chillpe

71/100

CIRCUS MAXIMUS – Havoc (CD) Norway April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Progrock / Progressive Metal Running time: 56:07 (Tracks: 9)
Circus Maximus was an ancient Roman chariot racing stadium and mass entertainment venue located in Rome, Italy. Situated in the valley between the Aventine and Palatine hills, it was the first and largest stadium in ancient Rome and its later Empire. It measured 621 m (2,037 ft.) in length and 118 m (387 ft.) in width and could accommodate over 150,000 spectators. But Circus Maximus it's also the name of a Norway based progressive metal band. The Oslo 'quintet started as a Dream Theater - Symphony X-cover band, combining technical skills and grandeur songs from both bands and other bands in the genre, but since 2004 the band employs the use of symphonic and power metal influences that feature synths and occasional keyboards. The three albums they've made until 2016 were / are all very tasteful; my personal favourite is “Nine”. The new album 'Havoc' is a really step forward for the band, however in many aspects. Nine well-crafted songs with a great diversity of structures are making this 56 minutes album a real tasty affair. The sound is a little more commercial than the former album (Nine), the sound of the band has changed also a bit. There are a lot more modern twists and injections of other genres on the album, like in “Highest bitter “, “The beautiful people” and “Pages'. There's also a bigger focus on melodies, more melodic structures and themes. It will have a certain impact on the listener ánd the fans. The lyrics are a pleasure as well, the theme of 'fire '(in many personal aspects) is the mainframe of the thoughts and words. But fans of the Norwegians will be pleased by the epic tracks. The prog-power-metal is still intact and it brings great moments. Nice album!
Visit their website: www.circusmaximussite.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/circusmaximusband
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/officialcm

80/100

DIAMOND HEAD – Diamond Head (CD) England April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: NWOBHM Running time: 48:26 (Tracks: 11)
That's the way I like it, uh huh, uh huh, that's the way I like it. Sorry to start off with a little KC & The Sunshine band, but I'm quite psyched by this. Diamond Head are back with a vengeance. This is the natural follow up to the White Album and Living On Borrowed Time. And with Rasmus Bom Andersen they've got the new version of Sean Harris in their midst. This is magic to my ears. I've been playing this over and over again. And yes, of course you hear parts that remind you of older songs (Speed, Bones, Blood On My Hands), but does it bother me at all? No, because the songs are all so outstanding. And yes, their love for Led Zeppelin is still rife all through the album. Just listen to Set My Soul On Fire and Silence. It's impossible to mention all the songs and their characteristics, but you'd better believe me that every song has that hint of a classic over it. Diamond Head have outshone themselves massively, and are delivering my first sure fired Top 10 album of 2016.
Visit their website: http://www.diamond-head.net
Recordlabel: http://www.palmerturneroverdrive.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/diamond-head

99,9/100

DIRTY FINGERS – 250 Dollars (CD) Italy April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Hard Rock / Sleaze Rock Running time: 39:46 (Tracks: 9)
Well, first of all, I discovered that there are several bands with the band name DIRTY FINGERS. This album, which I have to review is from the Italian DIRTY FINGERS, which are a Hard Rock/Sleaze Rock band which was formed in 2010. The line-up of DIRTY FINGERS exists of Gabriel Grisanti (vocals, guitar; he's the only member from the original line-up), Riccardo Menini (guitar), Edoardo Micheloni (bass) and Giorgo Nuzzo (drums). This album "250 Dollars" is the debut album of the band, and was already released in March of 2015. Although I've listened multiple times to this album "250 Dollars", I can't say that I really got impressed that much by it. The only songs which I like a bit are "Back To The Move", the title track "250 Dollars" and "Dirty Fingers". The rest of the songs aren't, in my opinion, that fantastic. All with all, this CD "250 Dollars" is nothing more than a moderate album. In the meantime I have reviewed plenty albums of Italian bands, and most of the time those bands are very moderate. Anyway, if you are interested in this Italian DIRTY FINGERS and their album, well, check it out yourself.
Recordlabel: http://www.logicillogic.net
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dirtyfingersrockmetalband
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/dirtyfingersvr

63/100

EDGE OF PARADISE – Immortal Waltz (CD) USA April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 40:40 (Tracks: 9)
EDGE OF PARADISE is an American female fronted Heavy Metal band (there's also an Brazilian Progressive Metal band called EDGE OF PARADISE) that was formed in 2011 and exists of Margarita Monet (vocals), Dave Bates (guitar), Nick Ericson (bass) and John Chominsky (drums). Personally I wasn't familiar with EDGE OF PARADISE so far. The band released its debut album "Mask" in 2011. Now I've got the second album "Immortal Waltz" to review, which was already released in May of 2015. I've listened a few times to this album, but every time I couldn't get impressed by the songs on it. The band exists of good musicians, and Margarita is a nice singer. But you have to love her voice I think. The album "Immortal Waltz" features nine tracks, of which the last one is a nice cover version of BLACK SABBATH's classic "Children Of The Sea" (from the classic "Heaven And Hell" (1980) album). And to me, although it's a cover version, "Children Of The Sea" is the best song of the album. Their own compositions on this album can't compete with the aforementioned cover version of "Children Of The Sea". If you are still curious about EDGE OF PARADISE and this album, check it out yourself.
Visit their website: http://www.edgeofparadiseband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.purerock-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/edgeofparadiseband

55/100

EISENHAUER – Horse Of Hell (MCD) Germany April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Metal Running time: 24:00 (Tracks: 4)
EISENHAUER is a four piece Metal band from Germany and was formed in 2007. The band exists of Christian Wagner (vocals, guitar), Simon Bihlmayer (guitar), Thomas Aschermann (bass) and Johann Beckteler (drums) released their debut album "Never Surrender" in 2013. And this 4-track EP "Horse Of Hell" was released in November of 2015. Personally I wasn't familiar with EISENHAUER, so I was curious what to expect. But with the first listen, I already knew enough. This is absolutely not a band for me. The four tracks on this EP can't impress me at all. To me the songs, which are titled "Sail My Soul", "Horse Of Hell", "Never Surrender" and "Eisenhauer", are sounding pretty simple and are very boring. And I also don't like the vocals of Christian Wagner that much, because his vocals are sounding boring as well. I just can't believe that there are metalheads out there who will like this band. To me, this EP is nothing more than a waste of time. Very moderate stuff.
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/eisenhauermetal

45/100

EKTOMORF – Aggressor (CD) Hungary April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Groove Metal Running time: 46:48 (Tracks: 14)
Hard and heavy. Ektomorf have always been that. More importantly, they go on where Max Cavalera era Sepultura left off. And the heavier side of Soulfly. Not always as good as they were, but always as pure. The songs, the structures, the sound, it's all there. I know they're probably sick of hearing it, but it's what I hear. Aggressor is no different. But on a positive note: this is easily their best album to date. Because now the songs are finished, make sense and make sure you keep listening and wanting more. Actually, Ektomorf must still be following Max. As this time you hear they also adore Cavalera Conspiracy, because some songs (like the title song) could have come straight from them. If after reading this you haven't got a clue what I'm on about, you must have been asleep the last 25 years or so.
Visit their website: http://www.ektomorf.com
Recordlabel: http://www.suburban.nl
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ektomorfofficial

70/100

EVENLINE – Dear Morpheus (Deluxe edition) (2 CD) France April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Modern Metal / Alternative Metal Running time: CD1: 50:45 (Tracks: 11) / CD2: 23:36 (Tracks: 5)
EVENLINE is a French Modern Metal band that was formed in 2009. The band, which exists of Arnaud Guezie (vocals), Fabrice Tedaldi (guitar, vocals), Thomas Jeagle (bass) and Olivier Stefanelli (drums), released their first EP "The Coming Life" in 2010 and their full length album "Dear Morpheus" was released in July of 2014. Now, in January of this year, "Dear Morpheus" was re-released as a deluxe edition. This deluxe edition features a bonus disc (titled "In The Arms Of Morpheus") with 5 acoustic songs of songs from the "Dear Morpeus" album("Misunderstood", "Without You", "A Letter To A Grave", "Hard To Breathe" and "Already Gone"). To me, EVENLINE sounds like a mixture of bands such as ALTER BRIDGE, NICKELBACK and STAIND. Well, if you like these mentioned bands, then I'm sure you will like EVENLINE as well. The band has delivered an album with eleven strong songs. In fact, this is a very accessible album. What else can I say, EVENLINE exists of excellent musicians, and they have in Arnaud Guezie a fantastic singer. The "Dear Morpeus" album was produced by Jim Dewailly and sounds marvelous, and the bonus disc "In The Arms Of Morpheus" was produced by Thomas Jaeger. Well, the five acoustic versions on disc 2 are sounding nice, but personally I do prefer the original versions of disc 1. Anyway, I like the entire "Dear Morpheus" album very much, and there isn't any weak song on it. But if I have to mention my favorite tracks, then I will say my favorites are "Misunderstood", "Without You", "Insomnia", "Already Gone", "Hard To Breathe" and "Judgment Day". EVENLINE is a fantastic band and "Dear Morpheus" is a superb album. Absolutely an album which will visit my CD-player more often. Well done guys.
Visit their website: http://www.evenline-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/evenlinemusic

83/100

GAMA BOMB – Untouchable Glory (CD) Ireland April 2016 Mario van Dooren
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 32:02 (Tracks: 12)
GAMA BOMB are a band out of time. They combine the reckless, headbanging intensity of 80s thrash metal with a 21st century love of all things geek. Formed in Newry, Northern Ireland in 2002, GAMA BOMB bonded over cassette tapes of obscure thrash and 1950s horror comics at a time when Nu Metal ruled the world. Following three strict, self-imposed rules (no clean guitars, no ballads, and no synths allowed) the five-piece cut their teeth on the UK's punk and hardcore circuit over years of backroom shows. After self-releasing their first album “Survival Of The Fastest” in 2005, the band slogged to endless UK gigs on public transport before finding themselves at the forefront of an unexpected thrash revival. Albums “Citizen Brain” (2008) and 2009's “Tales from the Grave in Space” marked them out as a band with big ideas, with Tales one of the first albums ever released as a free download by a signed band.In 2013, the band signed to AFM Records to release “The Terror Tapes”, followed this year by their most audacious move yet: “Untouchable Glory”, an unapologetically hooky thrash album inspired by vintage kung fu movies. This all according their official biography
Ive seen the band live and these guys know how to enjoy the audience; full speed ahaid thrash/crossover metal with a lot of humor. Well hope they come to tour soon again because this new release is again great. Okay; its not all that original but hey; which retro thrashband is original nowadays? I love this album; full speed songs; lots of energy and a perfect production! Check it out if you didnt do it already!!
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gamabomb

90/100

GHOST MACHINERY – Evil Undertow (CD) Finland April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Heavy Metal Running time: 42:05 (Tracks: 11)
From Finland comes GHOST MACHINERY, a four piece melodic Heavy Metal band that exists of Pete Ahonen (vocals, guitar), Mikko Myllylä (guitar), Sami Nyman (bass) and Jussi Ontero (drums, keyboards). So far, the band had released two demos "Ghosts In The Castle" (2003) and "Ghosts In The Castle pt. II" (2008), and two albums "Haunting Remains" (2004) and "Out For Blood" (2010). Personally I am not familiar with these 2 demos and 2 albums, so this third GHOST MACHINERY album "Evil Undertow", which was released in November of 2015, is my first acquaintance with the band. Although it all sounds far from original, I must say that "Evil Undertow" is a fine melodic Heavy Metal album. You hear some IRON MAIDEN influences, but it also reminded me a bit of JORN, DOKKEN, SURVIVOR. Pete Ahonen is a good singer, and it's a real pleasure to listen to the great guitar-solos on this album. I assume that Mikko Myllylä is the lead guitarist, and he is a talented guitarist. Mikko must be heavily influenced by Yngwie Malmsteen, because his solo's remind me of Yngwie Malmsteen, but also a bit of George Lynch. The beginning of "Lost To Love" reminded me very much of SURVIVOR's "Burning Heart". This album features also one cover, which is the ROBERT TEPPER cover "No Easy Way Out" (from the "No Easy Way Out" (1986) album, and which is also on the "Rocky IV" (1985) soundtrack album). My favorite songs are "Arms Of The Strangers", "Fatal", "Kingdom Of Decay", "Go To Hell (It's Where You Belong)", the aforemention cover version of "No Easy Way Out", "Lost To Love" and "The Last Line Of Defence". If you are into melodic Heavy Metal with great guitar-solos, then you have to check out this album.
Visit their website: http://www.ghostmachinery.com
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ghostmachinery
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/ghostmachinery

80/100

GODSIZED – Heavy Lies The Crown (CD) United Kingdom April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Hard Rock, Modern Metal Running time: 51:59 (Tracks: 11)
Well, so far I only knew GODSIZED by name. I never had taken a listen to the band's first album "Time", that was released in 2013. Anyway, GODSIZED are from England, and exists of Glen Korner (vocals, guitar), Chris Charles (guitar), Gavin Kerrigan (bass) and Dan Kavanagh (drums). "Heavy Lies The Crown" is the band's second album, and was released in March of 2015. The album features eleven tracks, and with the first listen I liked the album immediately. "Heavy Lies The Crown" opens very strong with "Welcome To Hell". While listening to this album, the first band which came in mind was ALTER BRIDGE. In that case GODSIZED sounds almost exactly like ALTER BRIDGE. The band exists of fantastic musicians, and GODSIZED does have an excellent singer in Glen Korner. Although this album reminds me very much of ALTER BRIDGE, it's absolutely not bad. In fact it's just an excellent album, and I'm sure "Heavy Lies The Crown" will visit my CD-player more often so now and then. To me, there isn't any weak song on this second album. All songs are fantastic compositions and are very accessible. There are two ballads on it, which are the songs "Fade" and "Do You See What I See?". Anyway, although I like the songs such as "Push Against The Ride", "Forgotten Friend", "Out Of Fear" and "Pay Your Debt" very much as well, my favorite tracks of "Heavy Lies The Crown" are "Welcome To Hell", "Saving You", "Never A Better Time" and "Stone Cold Blow To The Head". Well, if you also like ALTER BRIDGE, then I'm sure you will like this album "Heavy Lies The Crown" as well. Check it out. Once again, excellent album.
Visit their website: http://www.godsized.co.uk
Recordlabel: http://www.metalville.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/godsizedband

80/100

GOOM – Solar Motel (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Stoner Rock Running time: 43:59 (Tracks: 12)
Dutch Stoner Rock, brought to you by people are in Zeus and Astrosoniq. Zeus delivers Roy Jansen (guitars & keys) and Paul Jansen (drums). Before you ask: no, they're not related. Erik de Vocht (vocals & bass) is the Astrosoniq connection, and the power trio they formed is called Goom. And, in all honestly, this is just as good or even better than the bands these guys come from. Heavy sound, fitting voice and great songs make this an easy listen. Heavy, grooving, rocking and with a touch of grunge here and there. But the main part is Black Sabbath like doom. All these parts put together make Solar Motel into a very fine album. Here's to hoping that there's more to come!
Recordlabel: http://www.rvprecords.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/goommusic

75/100

HEAVIEST – Nowhere (CD) Brasil April 2016 Mario van Dooren
Style: Power Metal Running time: 42:47 (Tracks: 10)
Founded in 2014 by guitar players Guto Mantesso and Marcio Eidt, “Heaviest” was born from the desire and with the purpose to produce quality music within the Brazilian heavy metal setting. Both the guitar players had already worked together on previous successful projects such as the late “Ready Mades” band in the mid-1990s. The compositions of the debut album, which would be called “Nowhere”, began in September 2014 and the album realease took place one year later. The bass player Renato Dias (Marakutaia, ex-Cobaia 7) joined the band during the recording process in the beginning of 2015. After that, the acclaimed singer Mario Pastore (Pastore, ex-Depht, ex-Acid Storm) was invited to join the group, accepting quickly the invitation when he realized the quality of the work developed by its founding musicians by that time. To complete the current lineup, Vito Montanaro, a drummer known especially for his work of many years with the “Rush Project”, came up too.
Singer Mario Pastore is one of my favorite singers and his own band PASTORE was the first and only CD that ever got the maximum score on MMM webzine. Well musically Heaviest is not really comparable with Pastore. Pastore is a pure powermetalband and Heaviest has lot of modern influences which make their sound a lot more unique. Also listening to the vocal parts I must admit that Mario Pastore surprises me a lot; his voice is rawer and more powerfull. Sometimes he reminds me to Jorn Lande (also one of my favorite vocalist) and Russell Allan (Symphony X). Musically this album is great and it should attract a wide audience if you ask me! But the only problem will be the promotion; Hope to see this band (and PASTORE as well) someday in Europe…cant hardly wait!
Visit their website: http://www.heaviestband.com
Recordlabel: http:// www.msmetalagencybrasil.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/heaviestband

88/100

INGLORIOUS – Inglorious (CD) United Kingdom April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Melodic / Classic Hardrock Running time: 50:49 (Tracks: 11)
Inglorious is the brainchild of Nathan James, singer of the Trans-Siberian Orchestra and former vocalist for the ex- Scorpions guitar player Uli John Roth (on his Scorpions Revisited album). In the Northeast of England Nathan found musicians he wanted to share his musical ideas with and I must say he's especially found a great rhythm section, Phil Beaver (drums)and Tim Parkinson (bass) and Wil Taylor (rhythm guitars). They play like they've been haunted by a monster, they've finally killed. The Swedish guitar player Anders Eriksson completes the band with his soulful, bluesy and melodic playing. Very tasteful guitar player! Listening to this Frontiers' release the British Classic Rock giants like Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow and Whitesnake come in mind. The songs, the vibe, the great vocals and the musical approach, it all has a lot of references to the late seventies and the band sounds like they're going to give a good shot or go down fighting, what a massive songs are played here. I like the album, the vocals are mainframe of the production, done by the band itself, but the musical background is heavy like an elephant storm. If you are a fan of the genre, check this album out.
Visit their website: http://www.inglorious.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/weareinglorious
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/njamesmusic

80/100

IN VAIN – The Little Things That Matter (CD) Spain April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 40:40 (Tracks: 9)
Old school heavy metal with a twist of power metal, coming from Spain. Fast, furious, forceful, impelling, with a good sound and some great sounding tunes. This definitely is music to bang your head to extensively and repeatedly. The band In Vain itself isn't too shabby either. All four know how to handle their instruments and even the voice of Daniel Cordon is exactly right for this kind of music. The songs are sharp, have content and, very important, don't linger or repeat themselves too much. This makes them just the right length. It's some of The Little Things That Matter, and In Vain has taken that advice by heart. Good for them. Now, where can I find their first two albums, because this is just the right kind of metal to keep yourself (and the neighbours) awake.
Visit their website: http://www.invainmetal.com
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/invainmetal
Twitter: https://twitter.com/invainmetal

81/100

INNFIGHT – Boulevard Of Pain (CD) Germany April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Alternative Metal Running time: 45:55 (Tracks: 10)
What starts off as a power metal intro soon turns into a proper rock song with All In. The next one is Liars Place, and that has a more nu-metal vibe over it. Till I Fall has a bit of folk metal in it. After mentioning these three songs you'll get the drift: Innfight doesn't constrict themselves to just one style. The use of keyboards with all this ensures it never gets too heavy, preserves a bit of lightness where needed. Boulevard Of Pain might have songs coming from all angles, it still has a certain cohesion. The voice of Frank Widderson (ex Virus) is the main contributor to that fact, but there's also always a bit of recognition built in. You can hear that you're listening to Innfight. And for a debut album, which Boulveard Of Pain is, that's rare these days. And as all songs are very well written and executed, I can only conclude that Boulevard Of Pain is a very good album.
Visit their website: http://www.innfightmusic.com
Recordlabel: http://cargorecords.co.uk
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/innfight

80/100

JAMESON RAID – Uninvited Guests (CD) United Kingdom April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: NWOBHM Running time: 56:28 (Tracks: 11)
Jameson Raid really is a name from the past. But they're still around, and having seen them live at Brofest, my conclusion was that they were past it. They just didn't wow me while playing on stage. I just figured it would be the same with this album. Well, I was wrong, very wrong. Uninvited Guests is a very respectable album by a band in form, even though the riff in the title song is stolen direct from Fight. But they do remind me of that Rob Halford band more often, caused by the way the music and the vocal lines run along with each other. For the rest I can't fault anything they are doing. If you don't know Jameson Raid; they're not very fast, they're not the most adventurous band to listen to, but they are steady, rocking, and surely delivering with Uninvited Guests. Old fashioned metal all the way. Loving it!
Visit their website: http://www.jamesonraid.co.uk
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jamesonraid

75/100

JOHN DALLAS – Wild Life (CD) Italy April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Rock Running time: 35:55 (Tracks: 9)
John Dallas? Who is he? Well, he's actually called Luca Stanzani, but when playing American style hard rock a good sounding name might be beneficial. He's the singer, but who the rest of the band is remains a mystery, as they don't wish to mentioned for “personal reasons”. Well, he should be very grateful to them, as the musical side is well catered for. Thankfully all the songs are of a rather good standard, sometimes even quite high. As for John, he's got quite a diverse voice that covers a lot of octaves, and tries to deliver as best he can. That is always a game of hit and miss, and both are prevalent on this album. John is somehow lacking that extra spark, that little something that makes him stand out. It's the one thing that prevents Wild Life from becoming a great album. Unfortunately.
Recordlabel: http://www.streetsymphonies.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/john-dallas

69/100

LACHRYMOSE – Carpe Noctum (CD) Greece April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Dark Metal Running time: 49:33 (Tracks: 10)
Lachrymose is a Greek band with two members of Rotting Flesh. Thus making the expectations of what's on offer quite high. “Carpe Noctum” is filled with quite good Dark Metal. Songs that have that mysterious edge, making you feel in constant twilight. Lachrymose easily delivers, at least musically. Unfortunately the female vocals of Hel (what's in a name) spoil the whole experience for me. Not only does she not fit as well as hoped, she misses the necessary steadiness to keep her voice in tune all the time. The on the other hand fitting male voice of Blackmass doesn't sing often enough to counteract that enough to take away the annoyance Hel creates.
Visit their website: http://lachrymose.gr
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lachrymose.band.official

59/100

LAST IN LINE – Heavy Crown (CD) USA April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Classic Hard Rock Running time: 50:38 (Tracks: 11)
Former DIO-members Vivian Campbell, Claude Schnell, Vinny Appice and Jimmy Bain decided to release an album with former Lynch Mob and Raiding The Rock Vaults- shouter Andrew Freeman, an album that would sound like the era in which the first DIO-albums shocked the airwaves. The quintet was 'Last in Line', named after the second DIO-album. But faith has struck the band. One month before the release of 'Heavy Crown ', Jimmy Bain died in his sleep when the band was on The High Sea Cruise-bill (with Def Leppard, Kix, Eric Martin, Richie Kotzen, Kip Winger, Tom Keifer and many other guests and bands).In an epitaph-interview Vivian Campbell stated that there would be no successor of the album I'm listening to. Too bad……because the album has a lot to offer for DIO-fans. I like the production by Jeff Pilson, former bass player for Dokken and bass player in the current fantastic and revamped Foreigner-line up. The guitars are perfect, Vivian still has that bluesy touch and feeling, and the rhythm section still has the no-nonsense power from above. The vocalist is not a copy of the mighty Ronnie James Dio, but he does his job well………but the songs (sigh) doesn't have the electrifying spirit and the grander momentums of the DIO-repertoire. I like the songs, but I can't say that they can match the classy output of the first four DIO-albums. The musicians don't leave their comfort-zone and their stylistic armour and that's a pity. I think Frontiers Records brought a nice fitting tribute on the market, it's the last album featuring the solid bass playing of former Rainbow, Wild Horses, Grand Slam, Dio and Hollywood All Starz-member Jimmy Bain, but it isn't the solid backfire-album many fans had hopes for. The band still has some tour dates in the late spring in the USA.
Visit their website: http://www.lastinlineofficial.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lastinlinerocks

77/100

LITA FORD – Time Capsule (CD) USA April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Rock Running time: 44:14 (Tracks: 11)
Lita Ford has been through her personal archives and has come up trumps. She has dug up some forgotten gems from the past and has revived them in her own fashion. She decided to record them with a bunch of guest players and singers. It has worked a treat. Jeff Scott Soto, Dave Navarro, Billy Sheehan, Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen, Gene Simmons, Bruce Kulick, Jimmy Tavis (ex Odin), Rodger Carter (Rick Springfield) and Chris Holmes, who spoke the intro, are all on this album. This is a tribute to eighties metal Lita Ford style, and it certainly has her quality and taste written all over it. If you love her old stuff, like Dancing On The Edge, don't let this one slip. It's just too good. Now let's hope she's got more treasures to unearth.
Visit their website: http://litafordonline.com
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/litaofficial
Twitter: https://twitter.com/litaford

79/100

LOLA STONECRACKER – Doomsday breakdown (CD) Italy April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Rock Running time: 62:11 (Tracks: 15)
Hair Metal like Dokken and Van Halen mixed with Party Metal like Andrew WK and Manitoba's Kingdom. All transferred and set in current times with a very slight but serious twist of Faith No More. How would it sound if you mix all those elements together in one band. Well, Lola Stonecracker have tried just that. The result is Doomsday Breakdown, and it is anything but a disappointment. The heavier songs all have that recognisable fast and happy vibe, without being too frivolous. And they all rock in a proper fashion. Even the ballad Secret For A Universe is good. I'm sure that if Doomsday Breakdown had been an American release, the press and public would have been all over it. But as this is 'only' Italian, there's not much chance of that happening. And as far as I'm concerned I think that's a real pity. And a loss for those who don't get to hear how good this is. All 62 minutes long.
Visit their website: http://www.lolastonecracker.com
Recordlabel: http://www.thisiscore.net
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lolastonecracker
Twitter: https://twitter.com/lolastonecracker

78/100

LUCID DREAMS – Build And Destroy (CD) Norway April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Symphonic Metal / Progressive Metal Running time: 37:36 (Tracks: 8)
In February of 2014 I reviewed the self-titled debut album "Lucid Dreams" of Norwegian Symphonic / Progressive Metal band LUCID DREAMS. Now, in front of me I have "Build And Destroy" to review, which is the band's second full length album. Well, there has been one line-up change, namely former guitarist Adne Olastuen has been replaced by new guitarist Henrik Antonsson. The rest of the line-up still exists of Frederik Sindsen (vocals), Rune Cutuen (guitar), Jan-Erik Lysø (bass, backing vocals), Rune Hagen (drums) and Thorleif Østmoe (keyboards, backing vocals). Well, also this second album is a fine melodic Metal album, with so now and then Symphonic and Progressive moments. Also this album was, just like their debut album, produced by guitarist Rune Cutuen, and sounds fantastic. "Absence Of Innocence" is the semi-ballad of the album, which is one of the songs that also has it's symphonic moments. The songs which I like the most are the opener "Wings Of The Night", "Hellbound", "Fear No Evil", the aforementioned "Absence Of Innocence" and "Eye Of The Storm". If you already liked the band's debut album "Lucid Dreams", then you will like this second one as well.
Visit their website: http://www.luciddreamsband.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lucidreamsrocks

80/100

LYNCH MOB – Revel (CD) USA April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Bluesy Hardrock Running time: 55:31 (Tracks: 11)
George Lynch is a guitar hero. Last year I reviewed his album with Michael Sweet and it was a pleasure hearing George's riffing and soloing again Many listeners would expect George would fill his new Lynch Mob album with fast-paced tracks and blazing, high-pitched guitar solos, but those are not to be found on “Rebel “the new Lynch Mob album. Rather, this is a bluesy, groove-oriented rock release. The songs of George and his vocalist Oni Logan (glad this great voice is back again) certainly feature guitar solos, but they're of the subtler variety and are interwoven into the fabric of the music instead of those lying overtop of it. “Rebel” has a bluesy rock -approach with alternative overtones. Guitar fanatics will be pleased as George riffs like hell and there are indeed a lot of great guitar solos. But George has left a lot of room for his singer and the solid driving backbone of the tracks, provided by Brian Tichy and Jeff Pilson. What an amazing rhythm section they are. The songs on “Rebel” are mostly mid and slow tempo fat and bluesy rock opuses, too bad there isn't more variation. Oni's vocals are crystal clear and have a great expression, but the narrow range makes me longing for more variety. This makes the album a bit one- dimensional for me. Rebel is one of those albums that really can't be pigeonholed into a particular category. This amalgam of music has a lot to offer and with the powerful vocals, the 'don't let the door hit you in the face 'riffs and soloing of George and the best rhythm section you can create music with, you can't go wrong. Just try this one out. Frontiers Records has released this opus already! Jimmy Danda (Bullet Boys) will take care of the drums on the Lynch Mob tours and Sean McNabb (Dokken, Burning Rain, and Great White) will play bass. Both musicians toured with George Lynch earlier.
Visit their website: http://www.georgelynch.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lynchmobband
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/georgelynch

80/100

KELLY SIMONZ'S BLIND FAITH – At The Gates Of A New World (CD) Japan April 2016 Ronny Elst
Style: Neo-classical Hardrock Running time: 51:16 (Tracks: 11)
At the beginning of 2015 I reviewed "Blind Faith", Kelly Simonz's fourth solo album. In July of 2015 his record label King Records already released the follow-up of that album. Well, Kelly's new album "At The Gates Of A New World" is in my opinion even better as "Blind Faith"! It's once again a perfect mixture of (mainly) neo-classical hardrock/metal, melodic rock and once again some great instrumental tracks. Kelly got the help of some guest musicians, of which Yama-B (vocals) is the most important. This one sings on 5 songs, with a strong, operatic vocal style. But the star of the album is of course Kelly Simonz himself, his guitar playing gets better and better!! Okay, several Yngwie influences, but with a more melodic touch. This album is almost as good as Kelly's first album ("Sign Of The Times"), which I still like the most. For fans of Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Elegy, Concerto Moon, John Norum and Dokken.
Visit their website: http://www.kellysimonz.com
Recordlabel: http://www.kingrecords.co.jp
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kellysimonz

94/100

MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREEFALL – Kingdom of rock (CD) Sweden April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Melodic Metal Running time: 54:48 (Tracks: 11)
In 2013 I reviewed the solo-album of guitar mastermind Magnus Karlsson. I was very enthusiastic about the songs and his composing talents. Magnus has the ability to write hard, guitar driven metal songs with an open feel, a strong melodic backbone and he avoids being cheesy, writing he same stuff all over again. Magnus has worked with a lot of artists in the genre as well, it helps him to create the great riff, the great solo and the great song he has in mind. His first solo-album had three vocalists and for his second release 'Kingdom of Rock' he has booked an army of the 'who is who' in vocal-rockland......he has a friend-list every rocker would be jealous about. Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Amaranthe, Primal Fear-producer) was hired in to produce the album and Jamie Salazar provided the thick and heavy drum sound. And what an album it is! Okay....what would happen if Magnus sings the album all by himself, because the guitarist has a nice voice as well (Magnus sung two tracks on this album and three songs on his first solo-album). It would make the album cohesive, but the vocal power of this list of friends....you can't top them! What an overwhelming and amazing package of tonsil troubadours we have here: Harry Hess, Rick Altzi, Tony Harnell, Jorn Lande, Joe Lynn Turner, Jakob Samuel, Rebecca de la Motte, Tony Martin and David Readman, these master craftsmen provide their skills to the great songs Magnus write. The songs provide room for vocal strength; Magnus has a great sense for melodies that fit vocalists perfectly! I'm getting straight to the point: This is the best Frontiers release at this moment. Although the album has the best of all Magnus' worlds and projects, and the lack of variety comparing these projects to this album is a minor critical point, this is a great album! Try it, you won't be disappointed!.
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/magnuskarlssonsf
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/magnuskarlsson

86/100

MARTYR – You Are Next (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 Hans van Peppen
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 43:17 minutes (Tracks: 10)
You Are Next is the next chapter in the history of the Dutch Heavy Metal band Martyr. Once a promising band mid-eighties last century with two great albums For The Universe (1985) and Darkness at Time's Edge (1986). Then it went all quiet at the Martyr front until 2011 when they had a comeback with the Circle Of 8 album. That was a nice album but wasn't able to reach the level of the eighties work of these guys. Now five years later we have the follow-up full-length You Are Next with several guest musicians, but more important much better songs on it. So after five intense touring years this might be the best album from the Dutch Metal Legends (since 1982). The opening track, Into The Darkest Of All Realms, starts and ends with the voice of the 9-year old Johanna Kindt (daughter of the Into the Limelight Records director). In my opinion this is maybe the best song on the album and gives you an impression where Martyr stands for today. If you couple that with songs as Souls Breathe and In the End the band has evaluated into the direction of thrash metal without losing their roots. And that is a compliment worth! Some guest musicians who appear on this album are Marloes Voskuil from Izegrim who brings the track Soul Breathe to a higher level in companion with vocalist Robert “Rop” van Haren. On Unborn Evil you can enjoy the vocals of John 'Jaycee' Cuijpers from Praying Mantis and DEO. And maybe the best vocalist at this time in the Netherlands Nick Holleman (Vicious Rumors, Powerized and Methusalem) is upgrading the tracks Monster, Crawl and Souls Breath. On InThe End we have Andreas von Lipinski from Wolven. And on Monster we have Gert Nijboer (Highway Chile, DEO and Deathriders EU). The album end with the successful Raven cover Don't Need Your Money which will appear later this year on a tribute album to this English NWOBHM band. You Are Next is the most heaviest album in the history of Martyr with a lot to discover on it. Did you know that even our own Mario van Dooren is “singing” on two tracks? He does that on Into The Darkest Of All Realms and Mother's Tear. It's only April but this one might be in my top 10 list from 2016 already. I'm gonna play You Are Next again with a nice cold beer called “The Martyr Experience”. What more do you want?
Visit their website: http://www.martyronline.nl
Recordlabel: http://www.ittlr-shop.nl/en_gb
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/martyronline

89/100

MARTYR – You Are Next (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 44:36 (Tracks: 10)
Martyr are a phenomenon in their home country The Netherlands. They are a band from the early eighties that just seems to get better as the years go by. You Are Next starts off with Into The Darkest Of All Realms, that has a certain touch of Testament over it. It's thrashy and loud. Infinity is more of a NWOBHM based song, whilst Inch By Inch is a heavy metal song pur sang. There you have the three elements that gel Martyr nowadays, and you've got to be able to keep up with what they do. Thankfully that isn't too difficult, as the whole album has the class and quality one might expect from a band that has been around for so long. As for the voice of Rop Van Haren, he can go from Chuck Billy all the way to Geoff Tate, ensuring that the voice used does fit the heaviness of the songs played. The backing vocals are done by some fans, and I for one am grateful I can't distinguish the individual vocals (sorry, Mario!). Just kidding, they are also slotted in properly and tastefully. So no complaints at all? Yes, only one, really. They should have left Don't Need You Money off, as nobody can ever come within a mile of Raven's original version.
Visit their website: http://www.martyronline.nl
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/martyronline
Twitter: https://twitter.com/martyronline

83/100

MONOMYTH – Exo (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Progressive Rock Running time: 43:43 (Tracks: 5)
The name Monomyth says it all, really. The Mono is not because it's not stereo, but because there's no voices on their albums. The music is the real Myth, because how on earth do you think of five soundscapes that have the impact that Exo brings to me. As they state themselves: we make music for the mind, the body and the soul. And that's exactly how you need to experience this, with all your senses in full flow. You could say that this is one massive jam session put on record. But it's one with all five members in the unison on everything they do. Musically this is progressive in direction, spacy in atmosphere and intense in mindset. Fans of early Genesis, Pink Floyd aficionado and Steve Wilson adorers will relish Exo.
Visit their website: http://www.monomyththeband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.suburban.nl
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/monomyththeband
Twitter: https://twitter.com/monomythnl

61/100

NORDIC UNION - Nordic Union (CD) Sweden / Denmark April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Melodic Hardrock Running time: 42:33 (Tracks: 11)
Ronnie Atkins, Pretty Maids -singer and one of the most recognizable and versatile voices in Melodic Rock and Metal joined forces with Erik Martensson? The raspy Danish rock meets the bombastic, highly polished, smooth voices of the AOR? Yeah right…many fans of both bands had their questions about this union, but the collaboration between the musicians sets the bar for many Euro-melodic rock- releases in this year. Martensson brings not only the hottest song writing pen in melodic rock these days, but he gives away excellent musicianship, production and (backing) vocals as well. Ronnie Atkins lends his voice to most of the songs and brings that rocky feel, in a fantastic way. The other musicians are Magnus Ulfstedt of Eclipse on drums, Magnus Henriksson ( Eclipse), Thomas Larsson (Glenn Hughes Band) and Fredrik Folkare (Unleashed) on guitars.There are eleven songs on the Nordic Union debut, and they're all good. Opening track “The War Has Begun” and “When Death is Calling” are the most Pretty Maids-sounding of the bunch, while the swift, catchy “Falling,” “Hypocrisy” and “The Other Side” could have come directly from Eclipse's Armageddonize sessions. Atkins has a particular flair for ballads, and Martensson gives him a great one in “Every Heartbeat,” which will have even the most jaded rockers wiping away a tear. Nordic Union is on par with the recent releases by both bands Erik and Ronnie come from, and that's really saying something. Great Frontiers' release! Pretty Maids in on tour now and Eclipse will be touring in April. I hope there will be a follow up for this album soon.
Visit their website: http://www.eclipsemania.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/prettymaids
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/frontiersrecords

84/100

ONSLAUGHT – Live At The Slaughterhouse (CD) United Kingdom April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 70:12 (Tracks: 13)
Onslaught have long been the hidden gem of thrash. At least in my country, The Netherlands. Thankfully that has changed during the last couple of years, giving these guys the recognition they deserve. To demonstrate how they sound live they've released this live album. It's a rough, unpolished, honest, loud thrash statement that leaves no room for confusion. This is how Onslaught sound, plain and simple. Take it or leave it. My version of Live At The Slaughterhouse is the CD version, but there's also the DVD, with a bonus DVD on the side. Be sure to get yours.
Visit their website: http://www.onslaughtuk.com
Recordlabel: http://www.suburban.nl
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/onslaughtuk
Twitter: https://twitter.com/onslaughtuk

78/100

OZONE – Self Defence (CD) USA April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Adult Orientated Rock / Melodic Rock Running time: 51:18 (Tracks: 12)
City Boy guitar slinger Mike Slamer is the man behind many classics in the AOR (adult orientated rock)-genre). Seventh Key, Steelhouse Lane, Streets, those magnificent albums were all made by this guy and his musical friends. Mike has provided guitars on a lot of albums in the past as well. I was enthusiastic when Escape Records signed Mike to make an album with Steve Overland from FM and Chris Ousey from Heartland, Virginia Wolf and known for his collaboration with Micky Moody and Bernie Marsden from the first line up of Whitesnake. But after hearing this album I must admit I'm a bit disappointed. The guitar work is fantastic, The riffing reminds me a lot of the musical contribution that Mike did to the Terry Brock album, the Chris Ousey solo album (Rhyme and Reason from 2011) and the first Steelhouse Lane album. But the songs aren't that spectacular and the crispy voice of Chris Ousey doesn't fit that good in the musical adventure. There are some great songs on this album (Practice what you preach, Save my soul, Tiger by the tail, Evolve) but most of the songs aren't that compelling. This isn't the melodic rock top disc many fans had hopes for. I put on Steelhouse Lane – Slaves of the new world instead, now that was a killer! Great stuff, this new Mike Slamer opus, but no homerun..... Try it..
Recordlabel: http://www.escape-music.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/mike-slamer
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/mike slamer

83/100

PLACENTA – XV Greatest Hits (CD) Germany April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Extreme Metal Running time: 68:30 (Tracks: 15)
Placenta isn't your run of the mill band. Grindcore, death metal, math core, alternative metal, industrial and even some emo tunes are mixed together to make you aware that you should always expect the unexpected. XV Greatest Hits is a celebration of their history, with 11 songs that you must have heard on your radio at one point or other. Two oldies are added that were never released before, just to add to the excitement. To top it all they have even written two brand new songs to complete the festivities. They are actually the first and last song on the album, and fit in perfectly. So if you're looking for a good time and some accompanying music to boot, why not get this Placenta record and enjoy the XV Greatest Hits. Oh, don't turn the cd off until it's really finished, just to add to the laughter.
Recordlabel: http://www.noizgate.net
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/placentametal
MySpace: https://myspace.com/placentametal

61/100

PRONG - X-No Absolutes (CD) USA April 2016 Rob Claesen
Style: Thrash / Groove metal Running time: 41:18 (Tracks: 12)
Bands which have such a unique sound, you recognize them after listening to their music for just a few seconds are rare. Prong are one of them. X-No Absolutes is Prongs 12th studio album and it contains their unique, trademark mixture of thrash, groove, hardcore and punk filled with pinch harmonics and hooky riffs. If you like classic albums like 'Cleansing' or 'Prove you wrong', you can blindly purchase this album. Does this mean Prong is repeating itself? Not at all! The song 'Do nothing' allmost sounds like a ballad and some tracks even have some radio potential. X-No Absolutes has no weak spots and contains all the ingredients that makes Prong the one of a kind band they are.
Visit their website: http://prongmusic.com
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/prongmusic

88/100

RED MORRIS – Lady Rose (CD) Italy April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Rock Running time: 33:38 (Tracks: 8)
The intro makes me look up, makes my hair stand on end and my ears extra alert to what's coming. That actually doesn't change once the music starts. Red Morris is an Italian called Maurizio Parisi, who's been writing music his whole life. Finally he's taken up the courage to record it and have it released. Word of warning; this album is completely instrumental. But whereas some guitarists make themselves more important than the songs, Red Morris defies that feeling. It's because the compositions are simple and straight to the point that this works. Lady Rose is dedicated to his wife, and listening to it all I can understand why. Feel good guitar tunes that have a slight progressive streak, but more often than not are as effective as a bouquet of roses. The last feather in his cap is the length of the album: just over 33 minutes is more than enough. Well done.
Visit their website: http://redmorris.jimdo.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/red.morris.musician

76/100

RESURRECTION KINGS – Resurrection Kings (CD) USA April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Classic Hard Rock Running time: 53:32 (Tracks: 11)
When Serafino Perugino, the Napoli based manager of Frontiers Records Italy, wanted to form a band with a lot of eighties musicians, a small DIO-reunion took place. Craig Goldy and Vinny Appice (former DIO-players) joined forces with Sean McNabb (Dio, Quiet Riot, Lynch Mob) and Chas West (Bonham, Lynch Mob, Red Dragon Cartel). Alessandro DelVecchio took care of the production and added keyboards as well. Ah…a few old dogs cashing in on their past-offspring and their history in rock music? Many fans of the genre were thinking this. No way, Resurrection Kings has brought out an album that holds a good and solid mix between retro-classic rock and melodic rock. You can hear traces of the former bands the members are known for, but I especially like the musical contribution of Craig Goldy, peeling off one riff after another and giving away nice solos. The music of Resurrection Kings is a little polished and there's no exceptional stand-out track on this album, a few minor points for me. I had to get accustomed to the voice of Chas West as well, a bit too high-pitched for me. But besides those minors, the production is fair and bright and the playing is phenomenal. Check this Frontiers' release out!
Visit their website: www.craiggoldy.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/resurrectionkingsmusic
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/craiggoldy

81/100

REVERENCE – Gods Of War (CD) USA April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Power Metal Running time: 55:20 (Tracks: 12)
So far I only knew REVERENCE by name. I never had heard the 4-track EP "Gatekeeper" (2011) and the debut album "When Darkness Calls" of the band, that was released in 2012. So, this second album "Gods Of War" is my first acquaintance with REVERENCE. Well, what else can I say, after this album has made lots of spins in my CD-player, is that "Gods Of War" is an excellent melodic Power Metal album. Anyway, REVERENCE was formed in 2010, and the line-up exists of Todd Michael Hall (vocals; RIOT V, JACK STARR'S BURNING STAR), Bryan Holland (guitar; ex-TOKYO BLADE, ARREST), Pete Rossi (guitar; OVERLAND, SANXTION), Michael Massie (bass; OVERLOADED, INNER RECIPE) and Steve Wacholz (drums; ex-SAVATAGE, CRIMSON GLORY). "Gods Of War" features 12 high quality melodic Power Metal tracks, of which the last track, "Kick The Dog", is a bonus-track. There's also a ballad on "Gods Of War", which is titled "Splinter". You can say that REVERENCE is an "all-star" band, that exists of excellent musicians, with Todd Michael Hall as a brilliant singer. Well, I just don't have any negative to mention about this album. Great songs, fantastic riffs/guitar solos, awesome vocals, what else do you need? Now I need to check out the band's debut album "When Darkness Calls" myself. Anyway, my favorite tracks are the strong opener and title track "Gods Of War", "Heart Of Gold", "Until My Dying Breath", "Angel In Black", "Tear Down The Mountain", "Battle Cry", "Cleaned By Fire" and "Race To Obscene". Great band and fantastic, strong album. Without a doubt a recommendation to anyone who's into high quality melodic (US/European) Power Metal. It would be great if Mario could book REVERENCE for a show in the Little Devil, Tilburg, Holland.
Visit their website: http://www.reverencemetal.com
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/reverencemetal

85/100

RICK SPRINGFIELD – Rocket Science (CD) Australia April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Adult Orientated Rock (with a country twist) Running time: 47:20 (Tracks: 13)
I was very fond of the latest output by the Australian legend Rick Springfield. The albums 'Venus in Overdrive' and Songs for the End of the World' had that eclectic, modern vibe and the lyrics he offered showed Rick's emotional background and the weaker, vulnerable side of his personality. Really great stuff! On this eighteenth album (yes, Rick makes music since 1972, his heyday-era however spans between 1982 and 1988) Rick proves us that he has never made the same album twice. The songs on Rocket Science might sound familiar: well crafted, well played, holding a chorus that sticks in your head, multi-layered vocals and guitars in a million bucks production atmosphere, but Rick has opted a more country musical- approach this time. Don't be afraid….the songs breeze even more than before, but the emphasis on the lighter country genre is obvious. And the vibe is reflected in his lyrics. His stories are more spiritual, positive, brighter and lighter than his former introvert songscape- attitude. Rick has chosen the great set of musicians to lay down the musical tapestry (tasty guitars by George Nastos and Tim Pierce!) and in the song writing department he's helped by Matt Bissonette (former bass player for Elton John, David Lee Roth, Joe Satriani a.o., who also took care of the production and mixing), Jay deMarcus (Rascal Flatts), and Tad Kubler (The Hold Steady). I like this album very much. The diversity, the enlightens, the vibe have that positive feel. I rate this album not as high as 'Songs for the End of the World', it had more balls, more adventure. But I think this record will please the fans of Rick and fans of the Midwest- AOR genre. Great record, this fourth album for Frontiers, it will be the first Springfield' record that will be distributed by Frontiers Records Italy in the United States. Good luck, Rick!
Visit their website: http://www.rickspringfield.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rickspringfield
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/officialrickspringfield

85/100

RUSTY PACEMAKER – Ruins (CD) Austria April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Doom / Rock / Metal Running time: 53:28 (Tracks: 10)
In October of 2011 I reviewed RUSTY PACEMAKER's debut album "Blackness And White Light" for MMM, which got 69 out of 100 points. Well, as you can read in my review of "Blackness And White Light", RUSTY PACEMAKER did seven years over that album. For this second album "Ruins", RUSTY PACEMAKER a.k.a. Rusty Hessel started in 2011 with writing songs for it. For this album RUSTY got help from Franz Löchinger, who played drums on this album, and also LADY K. sings on a few songs ("Ocean Of Life" and "Night Angel"). Rusty himself is again playing all the guitars, bass and keyboards…..and he's doing the vocals as well. But to be honest, Rusty isn't a fantastic singer, which I already mentioned in my review of his debut album. Musically you can expect a mixture of Doom, Rock and Metal. It all sounds atmospheric, dark and very depressive. The shortest track is "Forever" (± 1:20) which is dedicated to Rusty's wife. To me, that song is nothing more than a superfluous one. Well, I didn't listen to RUSTY PACEMAKER's first album anymore, after I finished the review of it. I think the same goes for this second one "Ruins". The track list of "Ruins" exists of "Ruins", "Made Of Lies", "Ocean Of Life", "The Game", "Night Angel", "Candlemass", "Forever", "Matter Over Mind", "Knowing" and "Pillow Of Silence".
Visit their website: http://www.rustypacemaker.com
Recordlabel: http://www.solanumrecords.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/rustypacemaker

67/100

SECOND RATE ANGELS – II (CD) United Kingdom April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Melodic Metal Running time: 16:02 (Tracks: 4)
This UK band are making a name for themselves on that big island. Judging by what I hear on II they would be very welcome on the main land of Europe to strut their stuff there as well. Grooving melodic heavy metal with impressive clear vocals. The songs sound good, they make sense and all have that je-ne-sais-quoi over them that makes you want to listen over and over again. They have promised a full album for later this year. Well, I'll be waiting for it. Second Rate Angels my arse, this is first class good flowing metal.
Visit their website: http://www.secondrateangels.com
Recordlabel: http://www.metalrevelation.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/secondrateangels
Twitter: https://twitter.com/secondrateangel

85/100

SHADOWKILLER – Until The War Is Won (CD) USA April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Heavy Metal / Progressive Power Metal Running time: 54:34 (Tracks: 9)
SHADOWKILLER is a 4 piece Heavy Metal/Progressive Power Metal band from Northern California, U.S.A., that exists of Joe Liszt (vocals, guitar), Marc Petac (lead guitar), Dan Lynch (bass) and Gary Neff (drums). In 2013 the band released their debut album "Slaves Of Egypt" through Stormspell Records. According to the attached biography, with that debut album SHADOWKILLER were quite successful in the U.S. underground. Now I've got the band's second album "Until The War Is Won" to review, which was released in August of 2015 on Pure Steel Records. This second album is my first acquaintance with SHADOWKILLER, and I must say I like it very much. I can understand that their debut "Slaves Of Egypt" was successful in the U.S. underground scene. The more I listened to "Until The War Is Won", the better the album got. So now and then you hear some NWOBHM and especially IRON MAIDEN influences in their songs as well. Anyway, the album starts with the fantastic "Flames Of War", and I must say the rest of the songs on this album are really good compositions as well. SHADOWKILLER exists of excellent musicians and Joe Liszt is a good singer. The songs on this album which are my favorites are "Flames Of War", "Legacy", "A Price Of Freedom", "Staring Into Oblivion" and the title track "Until The War Is Won". SHADOWKILLER are a fantastic band, and this second album is absolutely worth checking out.
Visit their website: http://www.shadowkillerband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.puresteel-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/shadowkillerband

77/100

SIGNS OF DARKNESS – The Age of Decay (CD) Belgium April 2016 Iron Dennis van Dommelen
Style: Melodic Black Metal Running time: 41:10 (Tracks: 11)
Wow! Another long time running black metal band from Belgium I haven't heard of before. We are talking about Signs of Darkness here who are hailing from Genk and are already existing since 1994 releasing three albums and an EP before this album that was unleashed last year. For starters the production is typical studio sounding and not that powerful especially where there's blastbeats used most of the instruments sound too quiet except for the vocals which are high pitched and wherein you can hear a sense of commitment which is important playing this kind of music. The drummer is below average and the guitarists produce an interesting riff here and there but it is mostly one generic melo-death, tremelo picked riff or melody after the other. That being said there are some moments here and there like in "The Sound of Winter" that has some nice melodies and "Like Flies on your Coffin" which is a nice fast one. Artwork done by the infamous Marc Niederhagen from ArtWars design is always great to see. A better studio and producer could help this band to the next step in their career. In the beginning of the nineties this would be a good record but for now it's way too generic and missing power.
Visit their website: http://www.signsofdarkness.be
Recordlabel: http://www.shiver-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/signsofdarkness

60/100

SINATRAS – Six Sexy Songs (CDemo) Italy April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Metal Running time: 26:46 (Tracks: 6)
SINATRAS is a five-piece band from Italy, that exists of Fla Sinatra (vocals), Lele Sinatra (guitar), Minkio Sinatra (guitar), Lispio Sinatra (bass) and Jenny B. Sinatra (drums). The idea to start this project came from Emanuele Zilio (guitarist of Italian metal/hardcore band STRANGE CORNER). Anyway, these guys recorded six songs for this CD-demo, which is titled "Six Sexy Songs". The band hopes to find a label deal with this demo for their upcoming debut album. The songs on this demo are "Contamination", "Frank Is Back", "Sunshine", "The Game", "W.A.F.S. (We Are Fucking Sinatras)" and "All Or Nothing". To be honest, after one listen I already had enough of the songs on this demo. To me, those songs are sounding way to moderate. The only songs I like a bit are "Contamination" (that sounds a bit like MACHINE HEAD) and "All Or Nothing". Well, like the title of the last track ("All Or Nothing") this demo is all or nothing for getting a label deal. I would say it's nothing.
Visit their website: http://www.sinatras-band.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/sinatrasband

55/100

SOLUTION .45 – Nightmares In The Waking State – Part 1 (CD) Sweden April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Melodic Death Metal Running time: 59:21 (Tracks: 10)
Melodic Death Metal. Another new band. Will Solution .45 offer anything new to the genre? No, not really, but hey, they're not exactly bad either. Nightmares In The Waking State Part 1 (NITW) does benefit from the addition of some modern influences, preventing the album becoming monotonous or dreary. For the rest it's just as others have done before them. (Darkane, Soilwork, In Flames and such.) Clear?
Visit their website: http://www.solution45.com
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/solution.45.official

69/100

SPITANGER – SpitAnger (CD) Denmark April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Groove Metal Running time: 46:59 (Tracks: 9)
It's not too often that you see a band actually encouraging you to share their album freely. “It is legal to share and replicate this cd according to the copyright agreement consolidated by Creative Commons.” So if you've got trouble Here You Go, you probably really haven't been looking. And maybe you should be. Because SpitAnger don't only know how to rock, they also have a great sense of humour. Just listen to Tales From Reality. This is music to bang your head to, but with caution. Sometimes the use of two different voices throws you off, as they don't always work too well together. I'd almost call this Death 'n' Roll, but that would mean comparing these guys to Entombed (AD), and that's a fight they'll always lose. Main reason being that the quality of the songs is about par. Nothing more, nothing less. But as this is their debut album I for one am hopeful that they will take time to improve with time. In the meantime, if you're just looking for 47 minutes of headbanging, Here You Go!
Visit their website: http://www.spitanger.com
Recordlabel: http://www.fastbeatrecords.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/spitanger
Twitter: https://twitter.com/spitanger

66/100

STARQUAKE – Times That Matter (CD) Germany April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 73:07 (Tracks: 11)
STARQUAKE is a German Hard Rock band/project that mainly is influenced by IRON MAIDEN, SPOCK'S BEARD and seventies Hard Rock (think of DEEP PURPLE, YES, URIAH HEEP etc.). Well, I never had heard of the band/project before. In 2010 STARQUAKE had released its debut album "A Matter Of Time", and this second album "Times That Matter" was released in May of 2015 on Pure Rock Records. STARQUAKE is Mikey Wenzel (vocals, instruments, programming) and got help from Alex Kugler (guitar), Joe Wagner (guitar), Michael Wopshall (guitar), Jan van Meerendonk (drums), Andi Pempeintner (Hammond organ), Corinna Reif (violin) and Sandra Wenzel (additional vocals). Anyway, this second album counts eleven tracks, and has a running time of 73:.. minutes. To tell the truth, after two listens, I really had enough of this album. The entire album couldn't impress me at all. The title track "Times That Matter" is a boring ballad, "Rise And Fall" has a running time of 21:59 minutes and takes in my opinion way to long, "Goodbye My Friend" is a moderate instrumental track and "No More Hate" is nothing more than a rip-off of IRON MAIDEN's classic "Wasted Years" (from the classic 1986 album "Somewhere In Time"). No, although I grew up with the seventies Hard Rock, and I also like IRON MAIDEN (Paul Di'Anno and Bruce Dickinson era) very much, I really don't like this album at all. The only thing which is awesome, is the fantastic album cover, which was done by legendary fantasy artist Rodney Matthews (DIAMOND HEAD, PRAYING MANTIS, ASIA, NAZARETH, MAGNUM to name a few).
Visit their website: http://www.starquake.de
Recordlabel: http://www.purerock-records.com

40/100

SYNAPTIK – The Mechanisms of Consequence (CD) United Kingdom April 2016 Mario van Dooren
Style: Progressive Metal Running time: 52:04 (Tracks: 11)
SYNAPTIK is a British Metal band from the East Coast of England. Formed in 2012,known to incorporate elements from styles such as thrash, power, progressive. Synaptik aren't afraid to mix up the influences and certainly don't fear melody with their heavier than a black hole riffage and dynamic vocals, death metal aggressiveness with a progressive, melodic outlook. They draw on influences old and new to create a mutant hybrid sound-scape that makes them stand out. This is the bands debut album.
Personally I came in contact with the band due to the cooperation with one of my alltime favorite singers Alan Tecchio Watchtower/Hades/Non Fiction/Seven Witches/Power). Alan sings on the song “Your Cold Dead Trace”.
Synaptik's music is not the standard stuff most metalheads will like; its very complex and only for the open minded metalheads. Well personally I love this kind of metal very much and I share the band in the same category like Biomechanical, One Machine and Hades (USA). Progressive metal with some very good compositions. But no easy-listening stuff. Great album which you need to check if you're open-minded in metalmusic!
Visit their website: http://www.synaptikmetal.com
Recordlabel: http://www.rebeltunerecords.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/synaptikmetal
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/synaptikmetal

85/100

THE SHIVA HYPOTHESIS – Promo 2015 (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Black Metal Running time: 20:41 (Tracks: 3)
My floor is shaking beneath me. My walls are cracking beside me. My ceiling is starting to cave in above me. My windows are rattling because all the ghosts in my house need to leave. The Shiva Hypothesis is spewing their brand of (black) metal over me and I feel completely numb. I daren't move, as I feel that my intestines are wishing they could be somewhere else. This is as ungodly as it gets. The structured songs and proper production are the only things keeping my ears stuck to my head. I can feel one eye is starting to bleed, whilst the other one just wants to retract and hide within the mush that is now my brain. I thank Satan for the fact that this promo doesn't contain any real fast songs, otherwise I suspect there would only be a black hole where I'm seated right now. Phew.
Visit their website: https://the-shiva-hypothesis.bandcamp.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theshivahypothesis

80/100

TRANCEMISSION – Paranoia (CD) Germany April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Rock / Hard Rock Running time: 55:21 (Tracks: 14)
In October of 2012 I reviewed the album "Naked Flames" of German Rock, Hard Rock band TRANCEMISSION (formerly known as TRANCE). That album got 48 out of 100 points of me, simply because it was a terrible album. At that time I was really disappointed, because I had expected that TRANCEMISSION would sound exactly like TRANCE. But "Naked Flames" did not even came close to the level of the two legendary TRANCE albums "Breakout" (1982) and "Power Infusion" (1983). And after I had finished my review of "Naked Flames" for MMM, the CD disappeared in my garbage can. Anyway, now I've got "Paranoia" to review, and also with this new album, I really can't do nothing with it. It features 14 tracks (of which 2 are short intros), and there are just two songs which I like a little bit, namely "Killer" and "Rockin' Is Ma Business". And even these two songs aren't really superb. The rest of the songs, which are titled "Queen Of The Night", "Make My Day", "Paranoia", "Hey There Gipsies", "Lone Wolf", "Jesus Christ" (one of the low points of the album), "The Soil Of Man's Heart", "Legal Highs", "Diamond Pretty" and "Power Of The Heart (Act 4 Aid)", are really awful to hear. After two spins, I already had enough of this album. The line-up of the band hasn't changed since the previous album "Naked Flames", so it's still Lothar Antoni (vocals, guitar), Andreas Meyer (guitar), Joe J. Hagl (bass) and Alex Franken (drums). Well, the album was produced by the band themselves, and sounds good, but about the songs…..once again these are really terrible. I can't believe that everyone who knows and likes the classic TRANCE albums "Breakout" and "Power Infusion", are still interested in the albums of TRANCEMISSION. Well, what will happen with this promo CD of "Paranoia"? You probably know the answer!!!! YES……also this CD will finds its way to my garbage can. My conclusion is, after reviewing two TRANCEMISSION albums for MMM, that any other new album of TRANCEMISSION doesn't belong at any Metal webzine like MMM at all.
Visit their website: http://www.trancemission-music.com
Recordlabel: http://www.purerock-records.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/trancemissionrock

45/100

ULYSSES SIREN – Justifiable Homicide (MCD) USA April 2016 Mario van Dooren
Style: Bay Area Thrash Metal Running time: 28:57 (Tracks: 6)
Ulysses Siren is an oldschool thrashmetal band from the mighty Bay Area. Ulysses Siren formed in 1983 in South San Francisco when Steve Pickering and Manny Lopez got together in their senior year in high school and decided to form a band. Ulysses Sirens demo Terrorist Attack in 1985 became the No.1 selling underground demo at the Record Vault and radio play on KUSF Radio. The band reunited in 2002 when Relentless Records decided Ulysses Sirens 80s demos were worth pressing. The underground popularity grew and Ulysses Siren received strong reviews comparing Ulysses Siren to early Slayer.
Justifiable Homicide consists of three "new" studio tracks (2012), three live tracks with Leviathan and Above The Ashes recorded as one (2006). The second half of Ulysses Siren's - Justifiable Homicide is filled with live material, one of these tracks being a cover of Destruction's - The Ritual. Musically Ulysses Siren reminds me most to the oldschool version of Exodus (Paul Ballof era) mixed with oldschool Death Angel. This is Thrash metal at it's very finest. Pity the band is not really productive with their releases but musically they could have been as huge as above mentioned bands!!! Their brand of thrash metal and sound was an invention to say the very least about these San Francisco natives; (Circa 1983). Justifiable Homicide is a definite must have for the true die-hard thrash metal fans!
Justifiable Homicide was in remembrance to the untimely and unfortunate death of Jon Torres in September 2013, long time Ulysses Siren guitarist and bassist. Jon Torres was one of the driving forces behind Ulysses Siren for many years. Jon was both a brilliant and iconic musician. Rest in Peace Jon 1963-2013. I had the luck to see the band on stage twice in 2006; also live this band is killer!! Hope to hear from them in the near future!!!
Recordlabel: http://www.malevolence-records.us
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ulyssessirensfmetal

85/100

UNCHAINED REALITY – Unchained Reality (CD) The Netherlands April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 37:46 (Tracks: 11)
UNCHAINED REALITY is a pretty new band from Tilburg, Holland. The band exists of Koert van Zon (vocals, ex-NUCLEAR SUSHI), Daan Janzing (guitar), Martijn Balsters (guitar), Jason Duykers (bas) en Tim Verheijden (drums; also RAZEND, THE COVERING), and their self-titled debut album "Unchained Reality" was released in September of 2015 on Painted Bass Records. UNCHAINED REALITY plays a mix of Metal and Thrash Metal. This debut album sounds damn good. Well, I know Koert van Zon already since the nineties, when he sung in SINISTER FOOTWEAR. Anyway, Koert has gathered fantastic musicians around him for this album. The band also recorded a tribute song for Ad "Fozz Bear" van Oudheusden (who played together with Koert in the KISS cover band KISS MY ASS), who passed away at the age of 44 in February of 2015. That tribute song got the title "You Will Always Be Alive (Ad's Song)". This album is very well produced, and sounds fantastic. The songs on this self-titled debut album "Unchained Reality" which are my favorites are "Better Off", "Computerized Humanity", "You Will Always Be Alive (Ad's Song)", "Stranger", "Legalize" and "Still Fucking Mad". Once again, this is a good debut album, and UNCHAINED REALITY is absolutely a band to keep an eye on. If you are into good Thrash Metal, then you'll have to check this band and album out.
Visit their website: http://www.unchainedreality.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/unchainedreality

78/100

V.A. (VARIOUS ARTISTS) – Epictronic (CD) Italy April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Various Running time: 68:28 (Tracks: 18)
A compilation album with six acts each doing three songs is very difficult to review. You're in danger of writing a very long story, picking out every artist individually and trying to explain what they do and how they sound. Well, bugger that. No way! So I'll start off with saying that this is NOT a metal album , but an alternative one. With emotional but powerful songs by Jamie-Lee-Smit (Azylya) and Ashes To Ashes. Earthist sounds like a modern version of Blur. The Way Of Purity is very empowering electronic rock, whilst Deplacement treads the more poppy side of it. Last band is Arsenic Unbirthday, and they are an emotional outburst of musical styles. Every band sounds interesting, and that's not often the case on a compilation album. Epictronic have done it right. Check it out.

Recordlabel: http://www.epictronic.com

--/---

VIOLENT DIVINE – Hyperactivity Disorder (CD) Sweden April 2016 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 50:21 (Tracks: 13)
Hyperactivity is one thing this album is really inviting me to embrace. The catchy tunes, the laser sharp riffs, the thundering drums and bass and the great use of voices make this an absolute joy to listen to. The Disorder part stems from the dirty rock 'n' roll with a melodic metal edge they play. It has your foot tapping, your neck nodding, your head swivelling, your mind racing and your stereo blasting. And it makes you feel happier than you did before you started listening. This is Violent Divine's fourth album, and I'm seriously asking myself why I haven't heard of them before. I need to rectify that.
Visit their website: http://www.violentdivine.se
Recordlabel: http://www.metalrevelation.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/violentdivine
Twitter: https://twitter.com/violentdivine

83/100

VIOLENT REVOLUTION – Damaged Society (CDemo) USA April 2016 Mario van Dooren
Style: Crossover / Thrash Metal Running time: 13:57 (Tracks: 5)
Formed in late 2014 by George Robb (Agent Steel/L.S.N./Detente/Obscene Gesture) with the idea of bringing Old School 80's style Thrash/Crossover back in the new style mix. With influences by Old School Slayer, Exodus, S.O.D., The Exploited, D.R.I. and Suicidal Tendencies.... Violent Revolution is trying to make their mark on a new generation of metalheads.This according their biography! Well; a better way to subscribe the band is difficult
Years ago I already reviewed a demo of the band Obscene Gesture in which Georg Robb was also the bandleader. Well this is the “new” project of Georg Robb and again its classic crossover thrash in a style I like it most; fast, aggressive and powerfull. No technical bullshit; just Thrash with a T!! Check this band out if you're into oldschool crossover; you wont regret it! I hope that the band will record a full length soon....
Website: http://violentrevolution.net
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/violentrevolutionaz

78/100

VOODOO HILL – Waterfall (CD) USA / Italy April 2016 Manfred Werger
Style: Hardrock Running time: 55:18 (Tracks: 11)
After an eleven year coffee break Glenn Hughes and the Italian guitar player Dario Mollo have joined forces again in the eleven songs of the third Voodoo Hill release “Waterfall”. This album is brought to you by Frontiers, the Italian melodic rock label. Waterfall is the best Voodoo Hill record in my opinion. It has more groove, more nods to the eighties of the former century yet keeping its Deep Purple seventies' feel and cohesion. What surprises me are the vocals by Glenn Hughes. He still has got the power, the expression, the magic and the technique for his awesome vocal stigma on all the albums he's lent his vocal chords for (California Breed, BCC, Trapeze, John Norum, Gary Moore, Hughes / Thrall, Black Sabbath, Purple, Hughes / Turner, his solo stuff.....at the age of 64). Waterfall doesn't have that darker image of the former Voodoo Hill album (Wild seed of Mother Earth from 2004). The songs have more open structures and a guitaristic approach (the excellent Savona based Dario mixed and produced the music as well) has a more eighties 'feel. The album made me think of John Norum's Face the Truth from 1992. The songs on Waterfall are catchy and have a lot of attitude. Check this album out, its great hearing the collaboration between these musical dinosaurs again!..
Visit their website: http://www.glennhughes.com
Recordlabel: http://www.frontiers.it
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/glennhughesonline
MySpace: https://www.myspace.com/glennhughesonline

84/100

WATCH OUT STAMPEDE – Tides (CD) Germany April 2016 Ad van Osch
Style: Post-Hardcore / Metalcore / Modern Metal Running time: 32:00 (Tracks: 11)
WATCH OUT STAMPEDE is a 5-piece Modern Metal band from Bremen, Germany that exists of Andreas Hildebrandt (vocals; screams/shouts), Dennis Landt (clean vocals, guitar), David Werner (guitar), Stefan Poggensee (bass) and Tolga Özer (drums). In 2014 the band had released its debut album "Reacher", and this second album "Tides" was released in September of 2015. This album "Tides" is my first acquaintance with WATCH OUT STAMPEDE, and I must admit that I liked the album already with the first listen. In fact, it's a very accessible album, and "Tides" will do it very good among the younger generation. The songs feature melodic harmonies, with as well clean and brutal vocals. You hear a mixture of Punk, Metalcore, Modern Metal. To me the eleven tracks are all of an equal level and are fantastic compositions. There isn't any moment that "Tides" gets boring. Okay, you could say that it all doesn't sound very original, because there are lots of bands in this kind of genre, but nevertheless these 5 German guys delivered with "Tides" an excellent album. I don't have any specific favorites, because "50/50", "Vultures", "Scheme", the title track "Tides", "No Confidence", "Until We Drown", "Interlude", "Twenty Drinks", "Ironhide", "Chances" and "Misunderstanding" are all great and accessible songs.
Recordlabel: http://www.noizgate.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/watchoutstampede

80/100

Click here to make Mario's Metal Mania your default homepage