CD & DVD REVIEWS 2014

CD & DVD REVIEWS 2014

HOME NEWS LIVE REVIEWS CD REVIEWS INTERVIEWS


UPCOMING CD REVIEWS: LADY BEAST, RAVEN BLACK NIGHT, BLINDED BY FAITH, BATTLE RAM, HERETIC, ABSOLON, ANGER AS ART, SACRED OATH, NICK HELLFORT, DYSCORDIA, HORACLE, ULYSSES SIREN, AGHARTI, TUNGSTEN, ARMORY, JAVELIN, HOLY CROSS, BLACK HAWK, SKINFLINT, JACKAL, WE ARE LEGEND, MAYFAIR, WARRION, TOJA, SINEZAMA, REESE, BASTARDOGS, KLEM, YERBADIABLO, WE ALL DIE (lAUGHING), SONIQ THEATER, LEGIONS OF WAR, DEMONA, TORCHIA, THOU SHELL OF DEATH, PLEONEXIA, THRASH BOMBZ, DISTANT PAST, MIND:SOUL, SYMPTOMEN, FIRE STRIKE, LAST FEAR, ETC, ETC.....

Archive: CD, DVD & DEMO REVIEWS:
2005 & OLDER 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013

FEBRUARY

AGE OF TORMENT – I, Against (CD) Belgium February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Nu / Heavy Metal Running time: 42:32 (Tracks: 14)
When listening to Age Of Torment you get the feeling that they shopped around big style. And made everything come together as they saw fit. The question now is whether we, the listeners, will see it in the same way. On I, Against there is a big part of Machine Head that is going around, mixed with influences that are most familiar to early Linkin Park. Add in a little touch of death metal, and the stew is complete. The music delivered is definitely intense, it hits you in the face immediately. Not like a ton of bricks though, but just a good hard few bricks are all you get. The reason for that is that the songs don't actually grab you by the throat or hit you in the guts. No, they linger around your stomach for a while and then fade away. And therein lies the one thing that is lacking; sustainability. I would have liked to say otherwise, but there you have it. As a review is a personal view, I don't expect you to believe me on my words. I even encourage you not to and give this band a listen, as I do feel that they have something going for them. When they start writing memorable songs, please count me in!
Visit their website: http://ageoftorment.com
Recordlabel: http://www.wormholedeath.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/age-of-torment
MySpace: https://myspace.com/ageoftormentbxl

64/100

ASCENSION – Far Beyond The Stars (CD) United Kingdom February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Speed / Power Metal Running time: 67:32 (Tracks: 11)
ASCENSION is a five-piece melodic Power Metal band from Scotland, England, which exists of Ricki Carnie (vocals), Fraser Edwards (guitar), Stuart Docherty (guitar), Nick Blake (bass) and Dick Gilchrist (drums), and was formed in 2004. Well, the members of the band are influenced by bands such as HELLOWEEN, BLIND GUARDIAN, DRAGONFORCE, GAMMA RAY et cetera. So, now you know what you can expect from ASCENSION. High tech melodic Speed- / Power metal. Well, this debut album "Far Beyond The Stars" was originally released in March of 2012 on a Japanese label. This version is actually a re-release of Limb Music, and was released in October of 2013. Anyway, before this album, the band also had released the 5-track "Alchemy" EP. This re-release version of the album, which was produced by Andy La Roque, features eleven tracks, of which the last one, a cover version of the beautiful ROXETTE classic "Listen To Your Heart", is a bonus track. There are also two instrumentals on this album, which are "Orb Of The Moons" (4:47) and the title track "Far Beyond The Stars" (1:15). The band exists of excellent musicians, and Carnie is a good singer, who can sing high as well. Most of the songs do have a very long running time. The average running time is about six minutes. Well, I have listened several times to this album, but every time I couldn't mention which songs would belong to my favorite tracks. And I think the reason is, that I do get a bit tired of the ultra fast guitar riffs and solos, which in my opinion are a bit too extreme. In fact, that ultra fast stuff begins to irritate. Don't get me wrong, there are absolutely beautiful parts in the songs of this album, but when the pace extremely goes up, I find it all of a sudden a whole lot less. Of course there will be plenty of Metalheads who will like this album, but no, this isn't my thing…..sorry.
Visit their website: http://www.ascension.co.uk
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ascensionbanduk

67/100

ASHES OF CHAOS – Eye (CD) Italy February 2014 Jordy Brouwers
Style: Progressive Metal Running time: 64:56 (Tracks: 10)
The musical career of Ashes of Chaos started at the end of 2008. In that time, the band was mainly active as a metal cover band. Shortly after their foundation, the need originated to start writing own songs. However, it took some time before the songs were ready for their debut album “Eye”. In the meanwhile (2011), the band released a demo, called “Demo Concept”. This album was not more than a preview of the whole debut album. It received several good reviews about the composing style of the four songs, despite the low recording quality. The debut which has now been released, was recorded in 2012 and 2013 and has become a concept album. The central theme of “Eye” deals “about a fight of an arbitrary protagonist against the problems in a society of a pre-apocalyptic ambience”. This is quite a heavy theme of course. The album deals with madness but also with hope. These are also the feelings which I got when I listened to the album. The first song (Ashes of Chaos) but also Atmosfear pt. 2 brings me sometimes to madness. I have quite a progressive mind, but the rhythmic alternations are sometimes too much for me. The music is sometimes chaotic and that makes me nervous. However, most of the other songs surprised me. It becomes clear that the band has the potential to write nice progressive metal songs! It is all quite heavy influenced by bands like Dream Theater, Symphony X and Tool, but that doesn`t matter. There are nowadays hardly any bands which are completely unique in my opinion. The songs Mechanical Rage and Awake have become really nice songs and show the potential of the band. I hope that they will continue this line in the future!
Visit their website: http://www.ashesofchaos.com
Recordlabel: http://www.logicillogic.net
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/ashes-of-chaos
MySpace: https://myspace.com/ashesofchaosband

71/100

BROKEN FATE – Rising To The Dream (MCD) Switserland February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy / Speed Metal Running time: 24:21 (Tracks: 6)
Broken Fate exist since 2006 and have released a couple of demo's before Rising To The Dream. Listening to the songs I can understand why no record company signed them until now. On the other hand, when I see which bands do get the chance to release their music through a label I feel there is a great injustice in Broken Fate not having that chance. They started out playing covers of Metallica and such, and it is easily recognisable that they have taken the right influences with them from that era. The pace of the songs is good. They are quite fast and furious, but never to such extent that they derail. And talking of influences, just listen to the intro of Eternal Memories and to Frozen and dare say you can't hear the resemblance to a certain band. And still, they do sound as their own bosses. You get six songs that rock, creak, rumble and want to make you bang from time to time. Nothing here is life-changing, but it really isn't bad either. I like!
Visit their website: http://www.broken-fate.ch
Recordlabel: http://www.broken-fate.ch
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/brokenfate6
MySpace: https://myspace.com/brokenfate6

69/100

BEYOND MORTALITY - Infected Life (CD) Sweden February 2014 Kees Schijven
Style: Death Metal Running time: 34:27 (Tracks: 12)
Swedish Death Metallers BEYOND MORTALITY were originally formed back in 1999 by Anton (drums), Tobias (guitar) and Tony (guitar). In 2001 they released their first demo called “The final chapter of life”, a dark tale about the art of dying. A year later the band released their second eight track demo titled “Dear Boss”, which was influenced by the serial killer Jack the Ripper. Then again in 2004 a third, three track, demo EP “Not meant to last” was released. David Goransson (ex Mark Black) joined in on this release, which was more thrash influenced, but after a few gigs David decided to leave the band. The three original members released a new demo in 2008, as a trio. To get the sound they wanted to achieve, the guys decided to form a bigger band and added Johan Kaiser (ex Mindcollapse) on vocals and Gustav Sundin on bass, in 2009. The music became angrier and faster, and a new demo “Infected Life” was made in 2010, followed by “Suffocation By Fear” in 2011. In 2012 BEYOND MORTALITY signed a pact with Grom records and Wormholedeath Records to release their first full length album. And here it is, named after their 2010 demo; “Infected Life”, recorded in Mathlab studios in Italy during 2012 and mastered by Dan Swano at Unisound studios. The album is a great oldschool thrash influenced death metal album, brutal, extreme and aggressive. Songs like “Exhumed Remains”, “Final Order”, “Aborted” or “Born For The Grave” rip the flesh from your bones, and gives you an idea of what this band is about. Some great extreme metal from Sweden, very enjoyable album, but the question is if they stand out and get noticed in the mass of bands and releases in this genre of metal.
Visit their website: http://www.beyond-mortality.com
Recordlabel: http://www.wormholedeath.com
MySpace: http://www.facebook.com/beyondmortalityswe

78/100

BLACK MESSIAH - Heimweh (CD) Germany February 2014 Kees Schijven
Style: Pagan / Viking Metal Running time: 51:53 (Tracks: 8)
From Germany, BLACK MESSIAH delivers their 6th. Effort, entitled “Heimweh”. The band was founded in 1992, and stylistically mainly paid tribute to their black metal idols, before finding their own sound. On their debut album “Spectres Of Black Knowledge”, which came out in 1998, their music turned more towards folk and classical elements. In 2005 their second album “Oath Of Warrior” was released, and received very positive feedback and got their name established as one of the more respected bands in the German pagan scene. In 2006 BLACK MESSIAH got signed bij AFM records, and released their third album “Of Myths And Legends”. The band played numerous festival gigs (a.o. Summer Breeze, Ragnarok) and did a European tour with Tyr. The band's fourth album “First War Of The World” came out in 2009, and was their first concept album. The concept aspect was kept up with their fifth release “The Final Journey” in 2012. “Heimweh” is their latest effort, and consists of 7 songs and one intro, on which the band combines blackened pagan metal with folk instrumentation. The whole album is done in their native German language and this suits their music well, except for one song “In The Name Of Ancient Gods”, which is in English language. The album has a very good production and sound, some great songs on it too, like “Nidhogg” or “Wildsau”, and a variation of 'strange' instruments like a violin or tin-whistle. They did a great job, delivering a quality album, although this is not really my cup of tea, I do like the uptempo songs though. But if you are into pagan or folk metal, then you should really give this album a listen, I certainly believe they are in the top of their genre, to compare is difficult, but if I have to name some bands Arkona comes to mind, certainly for the faster songs, while a song like “Heimweh” makes me think more of Lacrimosa. These musicians know what they are doing, and it shows, quality music, no doubt about that, if this is your thing, you probably already are familiar with BLACK MESSIAH, if not, you should!
Visit their website: http://www.black-messiah.de
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
MySpace: http://www.facebook.com/blackmessiah666

80/100

COLOSSUS – Wake (CD) Sweden February 2014 Michel van Hassel
Style: Sludge Metal Running time: 58:35 (Tracks: 9)
This is Colossus's first full-length album. So far they made a demo, “The Mechanical Engineering of Living Machines” in 2009 and released an EP named “Spiritual Myiasis” back in 2011. Colossus is a Swedish trio consisting of Niklas Eriksson (vocals/guitars), Peter Berg (bass) and Thomas Norstedt (drums). When you listen to this album, there is a mix of sludge, stoner, doom, post-metal and progressive rock to be heard. The opening-track, “A Stir From Slumber” starts off like a hearing-play with the sound of rain, footsteps and a car hitting the brakes. The music ranges from very heavy to almost spoken word but overall it has a very catchy vibe to it. The speed is up on “Traitors Gate”. The diversity throughout the song makes this an interesting and challenging track. It goes from fast heavy parts with Eriksson blasting out to slower parts that are more modest. “Reflections of the Arcane” is one of the best tracks on the album. Norstedt pounds his drums big-time throughout this piece whilst Eriksson's voice sounds very intense. The track itself is filled with lots of examples of great guitar playing. Colossus has that special “right in your face” sound you often hear from trios. This can be clearly heard on “Ruinbuilder” as Colossus play as if their lives depend on it. The extremely high intensity with which the songs are played can also be heard clearly on “Pillars of Perennity” that features Lars G. Petrov (Entombed). The outro consists of a kind of mini drum solo. The focus on “Kingdoms” is directed to the drummer. Guest drummer Morgan Ågren (Mats/Morgan Band/Kaipa) contributes to this album in a superb way. For Colission it is great to have some guest musicians on board but in the end these guys don't make the difference as the standard of the songs is high throughout the album. “Suncarrier”, which contains some Indian sounds, is a real killer song. It is built on a very sturdy base delivered by Berg and Norstedt as they lay down a monstrous heavy sound. Weird rhythms, contradictionary playing, and distorted spoken words are the key ingredients for “Cloudhead” as this is not a straightforward track. You need to listen to it several times to appreciate it. To top this album of, Colossus has chosen to end with the longest track, “Fungle Gardens”. This is an eleven minutes long epic song on which Colossus takes the chance to show their musical craftsmanship. Eriksson has a typical voice that is strong en mesmerising. I think this is the reason that throughout the songs one stays very focused. Combine this with the superb musicality of all three members and you get great tracks resulting in a fantastic album
Visit their website: http://www.colossus.se
Recordlabel: http://www.perennityrecords.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/colossusstockholm
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/colossusstockholm

85/100

DANGEREGO – Autopsy (CD) Italy February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 46:09 (Tracks: 10)
If you are looking for a tad happier version of Soundgarden and/or Audioslave you might want to check out Dangerego. Flavio Angelini's vocals have a slight resemblance to the timbre of his peer, but especially the guitar sound is taken straight from those bands. Autopsy was originally released in 2011 by the band themselves, and now they have a deal rereleased by Atomic Stuff. I'm glad they did, as it is a great pleasure to listen to Dangerego. You mainly get to hear grunge, stoner, hard rock and even an undertone of blues once in a while. It makes the album stand out in a positive way. As an album Autopsy is ideal in a convertible car whilst driving along under the hot sun. It will make you sing and hum along. But most of all it will make you smile, as you often will be able to tell which bands were used as an influence in certain parts. Without ever becoming a copycat or thief of rhythms. That's why Dangerego is right to be proud of Autopsy.
Visit their website: http://www.dangerego.com
Recordlabel: http://www.atomicstuff.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/dangerego
MySpace: https://myspace.com/dangerego

71/100

DIABOLICAL – Neogenesis (CD) Sweden February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Death Thrash Metal Running time: 55:28 (Tracks: 11)
Diabolical from Sweden is a death thrash band that really needs no introduction in my opinion. This band contains ex- and members from band like Demonical, Centinex, Godphobia and Devian etc. So you can imagine that this is no bullshit band. Active since 1998 under the name Diabolical and released 4 full lengths and a demo, live album and an EP. This is their latest release “ Neogenesis”. 11 tracks of dark and atmospheric death thrash metal. The riffs are very tight but also very technical and filled with progressive parts. And then you got the drums, the are a constant double pounding bass, filled with groove and progressive parts in it. The vocals are grunts that are dark deep, I am really a big fan of his grunts because it really has that true Swedish Gothenburg sounds (and of course I am a big fan of Demonical and Centinex). The only thing that is a bit too much for me is that at a lot atmospheric parts in the songs they also have a choir of female vocals to give it more atmosphere, but for me that doesn`t work. This album is filled with variety and the composing of the songs are really good. When you listen to the entire album it feel like you are taking a journey and can drift away on the insensitivity of the music. I kind of lost track of this band but am really happy that they released a new album because it has everything: insensitivity ,heaviness .fast and furious combined with atmosphere. If you like Swedish death metal then you should definitely give this album a change!
Visit their website: http://diabolical.se
Recordlabel: http://www.vicisolum.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/diabolicalofficial
MySpace: https://myspace.com/religionist

80/100

DISBELIEVER – The Dark Days (CD) Italy February 2014 Jordy Brouwers
Style: Metal Running time: 42:03 (Tracks: 10)
Disbeliever is an Italian band which was founded in 2008 in Pisa. In the beginning, the band consisted only of Yuri Ciampi (guitar), Sacha Ciampi (drums) and Andy Madonia (guiter) but quite soon, Luis McFadden (vocals) and Marco Giampaolini (guitar) joined the band. This line-up is nowadays still intact. In 2010 the band recorded their debut album Soul Divided. This album was released by themselves, but now they have a contract with Wormholedeath. The debut album received good critics and in 20111 the band decided to start writing new songs for a new album This resulted in the release of the album “The Dark Days” at the end of 2013. I have listened the album several times and I have mixed feelings about it. The band has definitely talent and the musicians play their instruments well. However, the music is never really convincing. The opener Endless Dreams is excellent, but the rest of the album “never explodes”. That`s a pity in my opinion. I hope that the next album will sound more inspired, then there will be a nice future for this band.
Visit their website: http://www.disbeliever.it
Recordlabel: http://www.wormholedeath.com/dreamcell11
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/disbelieverofficial
MySpace: https://myspace.com/disbelieverofficial

70/100

EMBLAZONED – The Living Magisterium (MCD) USA February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Death Black Metal Running time: 14:24 (Tracks: 5)
Emblazoned from the USA brings death black metal since 1999. This is their new EP released by Deepsend Records in 2013. These guys are well known in the metal scene and played in bands like Jungle Rot, Cyanosis, Decrepit Birth and more. This EP contains 4 (if you count in the first songs which is an instrumental then it is 5) strong and solid blackened death metal. The riffs are fast and filled with groove but they are also technical and filled with old school solos. The drums are very fast and filled with a constant double bass. What I really like about the drums is that is very fast but also has an amazing groove in it. And the sound of the snare is also very full and that gives it a right punch. The vocals are grunts that remind me a bit of Diabolic (the US Diabolic) and that is combined with filthy screams that gives it a very aggressive feeling. The songs are filled with variety and atmosphere but also has a very old school death feeling that sounds great. This is a band that brings you black death metal and nothing more. The worst part of this EP must be the length, because it is way too short!
Visit their website: http://www.youtube.com/user/emblazoned666
Recordlabel: http://www.deepsend.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/emblazoned666
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/emblazoned

78/100

EYE OF SOLITUDE – Canto III (CD) United Kingdom February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Death Doom Metal Running time: 1:06:03 (Tracks: 6)
Eye Of Solitude from the UK is death doom band that definitely deserved there stripes their previous full-length album “Sui Caedere” is a killer album. So my expectations are quit high for this one. And I am definitely not disappointed. The guitar riffs are slow transcending agony and sometimes filled with melody. The drums are straight in your face and slow with and additional blast beat to the more black like parts. Then we have the massive vocals, Deep grunts that pull you through the gutter. The singer has growls that are very deep and agonizing (in a good way). That gives the music a totally dark and evil feeling. They combine it with some clean vocals that also make a good contrast to the music. The production and composing of this album are good and well understandable. This album only contains 6 songs but plays for over an hour. Long and slow transcending death doom that will blow your mind! If you like bands like Ataraxie or Mournful Congregation then you will enjoy this album.
Visit their website: http://www.last.fm/user/eyeofsolitude
Recordlabel: http://www.kaotoxin.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eyeofsolitudeband
MySpace: https://myspace.com/eyeofsolitude

85/100

FEROCITY – The Sovereign (CD) Denmark February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Death Metal Running time: 40:55 (Tracks: 10)
Ferocity from Denmark brings you death metal straight from the gutter, active since 1995 and still kicking ass. They released three demos and their debut album “Cocoon of Denial” saw the light in 2009. This is their second album and it sounds brutal. Strong and heavy guitar riffs combined with great melodies but not over the top. They sound so massive on guitar that it sometimes even gives it a Fear Factory feeling. The drums are also very tight and filled with double bass and progressive parts in it. And then you got the vocals....Chris Barnes versus Peter Tagtgren in the old days of Cannibal Corpse and Hypocrisy. The composing and variety of the songs are also very good, every song has a great groove that keeps your head moving, they are also not afraid to put an instrumental in the middle of the set and it sounds great very threatening because of the lead and constant solo that even sounds a bit post rock . And then you got the production....really straight in your face. Denmark has had and still has great death metal bands and this is definitely something I dig.
Recordlabel: http://www.deepsend.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ferocity666
MySpace: https://myspace.com/ferocitydk

80/100

HECATE ENTHRONED - Virulent Rapture (CD) United Kingdom February 2014 Jordy Brouwers
Style: Black Metal Running time: 55:28 (Tracks: 11)
After nine years of silence, Hecate Enthroned is back with a new album, called Virulent Rapture. Hecate Enthroned has always been called the younger brother of Cradle of Filth in their early days, but in my opinion, the band deserves much more credits. Their debut album “The Slaughter of Innocence, a Requiem for the Mighty” was quite impressive in my opinion. This album can still be found regularly in my cd player and one of the things that I really liked were the emotional parts. Since the release of the first album, I have followed the band more or less. And now, there is a new release.
Hecate Enthroned is a Welsh symphonic black metal band formed and based in Wrexham. They formed in 1993 as a blackened death metal act under the name Daemonum. In 1995 the band changed its name to their current one and embraced a symphonic black metal style. Virulent Rapture is the fifth release of the band. There have been numerous line-up changes, but there are still members present from the early days like bassist Dylan Hughes and guitarist Nigel Dennen.
I am really impressed about the quality of the songs on Virulent Rapture. It is clear that there has been an evolution in their style. The music is more guitar based than in the past and some death metal elements (riffs and grunts) were added to their symphonic black metal style. In my opinion, this enriches their music and makes it more accessible for not-black metal fans. However, I am still glad that some parts recapture some of the moods from the early beginning. In the black metal scene there has always been a dichotomy between the occult and dark style (like the old Darkthrone for example) and the symphonic style. I do not know if this album will be appreciated by fans of the first group (because it is well produced for example), but the second will definitely like Virulent Rupture. The album has in my opinion one small disadvantage and that is the acoustic song Immateria. I still do not understand the essence of this song, but furthermore Hecate Enthroned has recorded an album which I really can appreciate.
Visit their website: http://www.hecateenthroned.com
Recordlabel: http://www.crankrecord.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hecateenthroned
MySpace: https://myspace.com/wearehecateenthroned

85/100

HUMAN FORTRESS – Raided Land (CD) Germany February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Epic Melodic Metal Running time: 55:17 (Tracks: 13)
If you make Epic Melodic Metal in the vein that Human Fortress does, you will always be compared to the masters Rhapsody (of Fire). Rest assured, these guys can take that comparison easily and walk away knowing that they have stood the test with ease. Because what you get on Raided Land is of a very high quality. Something that wasn't expected, as only a few years back the overflow of bands trying to emulate the peers made it a musical direction that became too crowded. That meant the lesser bands with only limited talent were preventing the right bands from coming through. Thankfully that time is behind us, so the good bands do get the chance to shine. In Human Fortress's case it is the voice of Gus Monsanto (ex-Timo Tolkki's Revolution Renaissance, Adagio) that gives them that little bit of an extra edge. Because musically this band already has it's act together in a very fine way. What strikes most is the heaviness of the guitars; they shred where they can, sound very heavy where they must and squeal when desired. Not only that, the songs are just plainly good. Yes, all of them. And they have been welded together into an album that hits the bullseye from beginning to end. Raided Land is the right title for it, as these guys will be taking everything in sight. Let's see if the next one will be named Conquered Planet.
Visit their website: https://www.facebook.com/humanfortressofficial
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/humanfortressofficial

81/100

IMPLOSION CIRCLE – The Angry And Enraged (MCD) Switzerland February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 22:54 (Tracks: 5)
I love thrash metal. The old original stuff as well as the new bands. At least, if they're any good. This isn't your full on fast as possible modern thrash, but the more subtle, old school and thought out version. And musically Implosion Circle is quite acceptable, even good. Vocally however it is a whole different ball game. There are two people throwing out the lyrics on The Angry And The Enraged; guitarist Michi Maierhofer and bassist Mischa Blaser. One has a lower toned voice, the other a higher pitched one. I don't know which is which, but will the latter one please shut up and just play his instrument! My stereo wasn't made to be tormented in this way!! It is that annoying that my pleasure of the music has just faded. Thankfully Implosion Circle also has long instrumental parts, and they save the day for me.
Visit their website: http://www.implosioncircle.ch
Recordlabel: http://www.implosioncircle.ch
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/implosioncircle
MySpace: https://myspace.com/implosioncircle

63/100

JACK STARR feat. RHETT FORRESTER – Out of the Darkness (CD) USA February 2014 Kostas Kounadinis
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 58:43 (Tracks: 16)
The Jack Starr chapter is a huge deal for heavy metal music. He has offered us countless unique moments with Virgin Steele, Guardians of the Flame, Burning Starr and his solo career. Out of the Darkness was his first solo effort right after his departure from Virgin Steele in 1983. Back then he recruited the legendary Rods rhythm section (Garry Bordonaro and Carl Canedy) and the unforgettable Riot singer Rhett Forrester. The result was a flaming hot heavy metal album with scorchers like “Concrete Warrior”, “Eyes of Fire”, “Wild in the Streets” and many more. The chemistry between Forrester and Starr simply blows the roof to smithereens. Their two unique and distinctive styles combined, crafted an album destined to be a classic. LMP brings back this treasure amped with a remaster by R.D. Liapakis and a truckload of bonus songs! Don't miss it!!!
Visit their website: http://www.jackstarr.com
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/limbmusic

86/100

KB36 – Fish Eat Fish (CD) Russia February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Rock Running time: 53:42 (Tracks: 12)
Strange one to review, this Fish Eat Fish album. KB36 is pure rock, most of the time not even really heavy. Exceptions like Life Vest are a rarity here. KB36 sound like no-one else I know, but also have the knack to sound quite familiar. Think of a less energetic and humorous Bloodhound Gang, mixed with some subtle elements of The Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Even a bit of light ska/reggae is added at several occasions. These Russians don't set my heart racing, but I don't turn off the album either, as the music on offer is actually quite good. The reason why is that is regularly reminds of some of the greats. Not only the mentioned ones, but also Eric Clapton. End Of The Road could have straight out of his pen. These guys know what they're doing, and they do it quite well. I have enjoyed this more than I would have expected beforehand. If you're looking for a quieter time once in a while KB36 might just be the thing for you.
Visit their website: http://www.kb36rockband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.kb36rockband.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KB36rockband

72/100

KILLFACE – Feeding The Dead (CD) Ireland February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Thrash Death Metal Running time: 37:11 (Tracks: 9)
Killface from Ireland brings you death thrash since 2008. After relasing an EP in 2010 they released this full length last year and it gives me a mixed feeling. Nine tracks of music that is so filled with different kinds of music that it is difficult to give it a definition. So here we go haha. The guitar riffs are tight in vain of bands Like Dew Scented for the thrash riffs but also has the brutalness of bands like Aborted (but not that well executed). The drums are very furious and filled with blasts but also some really cool groove parts. The vocals are grunts combined with light screams that give it a great aggression.The production is good but also not the best I heard. Overall this is what we can call a band that likes more styles and they mix that well in their music. This album is an independent release so order a copy through their site and give it a try!
Visit their website: http://killface.bandcamp.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/killfaceirl
MySpace: https://myspace.com/killfaceband

70/100

KLONT!! – The Brutal One / Torsokiller (CDemos) The Netherlands February 2014 Dennis van Dommelen
Style: Brutal Death Metal Running time: 9:41 (4 tracks) & 12:34 (6 tracks)
Aaaaaaaarrrrrgggggghhhhhhhh what do we have here? Two demo cd's from this new cult hailing from the south of the Netherlands. “The Brutal One” is their first one and contains four songs that embark the word brutal. It's not rare in the death metal scene to hear incessant bragging about "brutality". Death metal bands such as Disgorge, as well as several deathcore bands (from some sad, lost individuals, who will go unnamed here...), and often those who simply use the term "heavy" are chastised. "Heavy? This shit is brutal, you fool!!", they will often be saying. This is unfortunate, as this implies that any group of four (or three, in some cases J) people with a beefy guitar tone can paint a painting of a barren landscape, in which thousands of human beings are being crucified, underneath a cloudy, red sky, simply by rehearsing several simple notes layed neatly underneath guttural pig squeals and lyrics about breaking stuff. This is all well and good, but in the end, the product is far from engaging, or memorable I, however, see things totally differently. To me, brutality is a type of atmosphere. To me, brutal is a very full, "huge" sound, with murky production and sinister riffs. Things that for sure can be heard on the first demo cd “The Brutal One” Because of the use of a drum computer the songs are sometimes a little bit monotonous on this first demo cd. I know the band is searching for a drummer of real flesh and blood so that problem may be solved in the near future. Because of the drum computer the riffs and overall sound does get a little industrial feel underneath it. Dr. Psykow (guitars) played in an Industrial band (HOER) 100 years ago so this (maybe) explains the industrial influences in the songwriting.
The vocals from the Embalmer conclude why I was always a bigger fan of Chris Barnes than of George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher. They go way deeper than your normal grunts but without being monotonous his voice is varied enough also because of the use of high pitched screams. These four songs on “The Brutal one” have paved the way for the new demo cd which is released in October 2013. 'Torsokiller” immediately sounds more improving. With a better production more adventurous guitar riffs and a drum computer that is not that much in the foreground as on the debut this is a fine improvement. “Bluebeardkiller” (hello Pungent Stench!!) and “The Death of A Thousand Children” are my favorite tracks here because they contain strong refrains and very diverse vocals. Oh yeah, had I already mentioned that the lyrics deal about serial killers? The Embalmer knows more about them than Corporate Death of Macabre so be warned…
MySpace: http://www.facebook/klontmetal

69/79/100

LIGHTLESS MOOR – The Poem (CD) Italy February 2014 Frans Neelen
Style: Gothic Metal Running time: 50:18 (Tracks: 8)
Lightless Moor comes from Italy and is formed in 2005. In 2006 they released their first ep “Renewal”. Vocalist Ilaria Falchi wanted to create a gothic metal band following old productions of bands of that background, but with a personal and more complex reinterpretation on the melodies and riffs. And so I can go on naming all the things she wanted but therefore I refer to their site or booklet. Being not familiar with their ep I hope for her she has succeed in all the things she wanted with this debut “The Poem”. The album brings gothic metal with a dark edge mixed with symphonic elements. “The Lyrics of the Journey” opens pretty cool and offers enough variation. Follower “Chained to a Dismal Chant” starts like thrash metal then turns into dramatic and later on returns to heavy stuff, so this I can appreciate much. “Arabian Nights” offers fine vocal Beauty and the Beast duels and is also powerful and energetic. The bands magnum opus is the 12 minute epic “Overwhelming Darkness” and it's a good one because it doesn't get dull and keeps you're attention. Further on the level increases a bit but for a debut it isn't bad. The female high region vocals of Illaria sometimes tend to forgery and that's a pity. Some work to be done but that doesn't bother. “The Poem” is an acceptable debut album, the band has the ideas and the musical skills so I'm wondering what their next one will bring.
Visit their website: http://www.lightlessmoor.com
Recordlabel: http://www.wormholedeath.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lightlessmoor
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/lightlessmoor

72/100

LUCID DREAM – The Eleventh Illusion (CD) Italy February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 60:29 (Tracks: 13)
In October of 2011 I reviewed the first album "Visions From Cosmos 11" of Italian band LUCID DREAM, the band around guitarist Simone Terigi. That album, which got 77 out of 100 points, was my first acquaintance with LUCID DREAM. And in April of 2012, I also reviewed the solo album "Rock Meditations" of SIMONE TERIGI for MMM. Now in front of me I have the second album of LUCID DREAM, which is titled "The Eleventh Illusion". The line-up of the band still exists of Alessio Calandriello (vocals), Simone Terigi (guitar), Gianluca Eroico (bass) and Paolo Raffo (drums). The debut album had 9 songs, well, this second album features 13 tracks. The album starts with the very short intro "The Gates Of Shadow" (0:27), followed by the fantastic "Evolution" (5:09). The band still plays classic progressive Hard Rock / 80's Rock. The fourth track, "River Drained" (6:13), is a quiet ballad, which also features a saxophone solo of Paolo Firpe, and is just nice. Especially on the great "The Lightseeker" (8:07), Terigi's guitar work again sounds like mister JOE SATRIANI. He's just a fantastic guitarist. And like I also wrote in my review of "Visions From Cosmos 11", Calandriello is a good singer, who can sing really high (think of Geddy Lee of RUSH). "Connections" (1:14) is just a short instrumental guitar intro for "Two Suns In The Sunrise" (5:31), which is also a quiet song. The next one, "The Song Of The Beyond (Acoustic Reprise Of The Beyond)" (2:57) is also a quiet one, which in my opinion is a bit less. And the last two tracks, which are the instrumental "The Pulse Of Infinity" (3:13) and "The Way Of 7M" (3:49), which is a kind of told story in Italian by Beatrice Schiaffino, could have been omitted, if I have to be honest. So, to me, the best songs on this second LUCID DREAM album are "Evolution", "Leave Me Alone", the superb "The Lightseeker" (8:07), "Back To Cosmos 11" (5:26), "Black" (6:58) and the title track "The Eleventh Illusion" (6:09). Nevertheless, "The Eleventh Illusion" is still a nice album. But please guys, don't put such crap like "The Pulse Of Infinity" and "The Way Of 7M" on your next album.'
Visit their website: http://www.luciddream.it

74/100

LUCID DREAMS – Lucid Dreams (CD) Norway February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Metal / Progressive Metal Running time: 46:13 (Tracks: 12)
From Norway comes LUCID DREAMS, a 6-piece band that was formed in 2007. The band exists of Frederik Sindsen (vocals), Rune Gutuen (guitar), Adne Olastuen Brandas (guitar, backing vocals), Jan-Erik Lysø (bass), Rune Hagen (drums) and Thorleif Østmoe (keyboards, backing vocals). Well, LUCID DREAMS really surprised me with their self titled debut album “Lucid Dreams”. The band plays a mixture of Melodic Hard Rock / Metal, with some progressive influences as well. The album, which was fantastically produced by guitarist Rune Gutuen, starts with the short intro “Introduction” (0:47), followed by the fantastic “Cassie's Escape” (3:27). LUCID DREAMS exists off excellent musicians, and man….what a great singer Frederik Sindsen is. The band writes fantastic songs. Musically I hear influences of WHITESNAKE, VAN HALEN, JORN, DREAM THEATER, to name a few. “Daisy Dukes”, which is the first single of the album, is the most commercial sounding song, and reminds me very much of VAN HALEN. The track "Lucid Dream" (5:01) is a beautiful semi-ballad, which ends with a progressive part. Another ballad on "Lucid Dreams" is "Light In The Sky" (4:20). Actually, I enjoyed this album very much. In my opinion there isn't any weak song on this CD. This fantastic debut album is absolutely a real recommendation. So, check it out yourself and listen to great songs such as "Cassie's Dream", "For Your Love" (4:30), "Stormy" (5:19), "Take Me Away" (4:15), "Wanton Conquest" (3:19) and "When I Die" (4:47). Great work guys. Strange that LUCID DREAMS, with their musical quality, isn't signed yet by a label.
Visit their website: http://www.luciddreamsband.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/luciddreamsrocks

87/100

LUCID DREAMING – The Chronicles Pt. 1 (CD) Germany February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Power Metal Running time: 76:12 (Tracks: 11)
Well, this month's update of MMM, there's, besides this review of LUCID DREAMING, also a review from LUCID DREAM (Italy) and of LUCID DREAMS (Norway). Anyway, LUCID DREAMING is a project from ELVENPATH guitarist Till Oberboßel, which was formed in 2012. Personally I'm not familiar with ELVENPATH, so I didn't know what to expect of this LUCID DREAMING project. Anyway, "The Chronicles Pt. 1" is a concept album, which features 11 tracks. The idea behind this concept album is to tell a fantasy story with the voices of some of the most extraordinary singers of the (underground) Metal scene. The vocalists who cooperate on this first LUCID DREAMING album are Alexx Stahl (ROXXCALIBUR, MASTERS OF DISGUISE), Chris Marino (SCARLATYNA), Dragutin Kremenovic (ELVENPATH), Eve Kreuzer (ILLUSORIA), Jason Conde-Houston (SKELATOR), Jordan Cutajar (NOMAD SON, FRENZYMONO), Jutta Weinhold (ex-ZED YAGO, JUTTA WEINHOLD BAND), Jvo Julmy (ex-EMERALD, DISTANT PAST), Leo Stivala (FORSAKEN, ex-REFLECTION), Ruth Knepel (OPALESSENCE) and Thassilo Herbert (DRAGONSFIRE). I don't know if Till Oberboßel also plays, besides guitar, the bass and drums on this album! Altogether "The Chronicles Pt.1" is just a nice metal album. I've listened several times to it, but I don't have specific favorites.I have to admit that I am not familiar with most of the guest singers on this album. And I don't have the information, which singer sings which song (or songs). But I have to say that Oberboßel has found some fantastic singers for this album. The longest track on this album is "To Caer Dathyl" (11:34), and all the other songs do have a running time between 6:02 and 8:04 minutes. Well, this is part 1 of "The Chronicles", so I guess there will come a part 2 as well. Like I already said above, "The Chronicles Pt. 1" is nothing more than just a nice average metal album.
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/luciddreamingmetal/info

70/100

MASADA – Hideous Rot (MCD) USA February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Death Metal Running time: 14:47:00 (Tracks: 5)
Masada from the USA brings you death metal since 2008. They released a demo in 2011 and this is their first and latest EP. Five tracks of well thought of and executed technical death metal. The first thing i thought when i putted this disc in my player was hmm that sounds like a crappy demo, but after 30 seconds that changed definitely for me. These guys play old school death metal in vain of bands like Death, Gorguts and many more bands. The riffs are technical and tight but also contain a great groove. The same goes for the drums, straight in your face And very basic but with a lot of up tempo groove. The vocals are grunts that sometimes have a Carcass ring to it. The composing of the songs are also straight in your face and filled with variety. The production is old school, raw but well listenable in my opinion. The only thing that I really do not like is the second song which is a kind of instrumental song with flutes that reminds you of asia and Jethro Tull but then very annoying. Especially the vocals that are on the song that sounds like someone that is breathing heavy and is very annoying. But never the less...the other songs are very technical and good!
Visit their website: http://masada.bandcamp.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/masadadasam
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/masadadasam

70/100

MASTERS OF DISGUISE – Back With a Vengeance (CD) USA / Germany February 2014 Kostas Kounadinis
Style: Power Metal Running time: 43:05 (Tracks: 10)
Masters of Disguise is actually the cover band Roxxcalibur (coming from the ashes of the power metal band Viron) and also the guys who backed Christian Logue in his brief Savage Grace reincarnation so the references in musical style, band name and album cover are obvious. In my opinion there are two ways to go concerning Masters of Disguise and Back with a Vengeance. The one is to see them as a speed power metal band which delivers some interesting headbanging tunes and the other one is to get somehow disappointed because the band tries very hard to touch the untouchable. Savage Grace and Master of Disguise is a sacred peak of this music and its feeling and music cannot be reproduced. So I was a bit thrown off with the album's starting point. Back with a Vengeance/Never Surrender is an obvious reproduction of Lion's Roar/Bound to be Free. I was definitely going towards the second way. But then I had a change of mind and tried to see Masters of Disguise as a band like everybody else so that I wouldn't misjudge their effort and hard work. Back with a Vengeance has some very interested moments, well executed and can appeal to the fans of power and speed metal. Give it a try and see which way you are going to choose...
Recordlabel: http://www.limb-music.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/limbmusic

71/100

MEDUSA'S CHILD – Damnatio Memoriae (MCD) Switzerland February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Melodic Power Metal Running time: 19:54 (Tracks: 4)
MEDUSA'S CHILD is a five-piece melodic Power Metal band from Switzerland, which was formed in 1999. The band has released the following products so far: the full length debut album "Awake" (2000), the EP "Blue Roses" (2001), the second album "Immortal" (2003) and the third album "Damnatio Memoriae" (2010). Well, what I've got to review for MMM is a four-track promo of the band's album "Damnatio Memoriae" (which contains 16 tracks). Actually, it's a bit strange (and dated) to review something which already has been released in 2010. Anyway, the line-up of MEDUSA'S CHILD exists of Crow (vocals), Cyrill (guitar), Toni (guitar), Marcus (bass) and Adrian (drums). The songs on this promo disc are "Unchained Soul" (5:58), "Children Of The Sun" (5:35), "Destiny" (4:07) and "The Old Men Say" (4:13). By listening to these four songs, the band reminded me immediately of our own Dutch metallers of LORD VOLTURE (especially with "Children Of The Sun"). The band exists of excellent musicians, and Crow is a nice singer. The last track, "The Old Men Say" is a ballad with piano, and sounds nice, but personally I prefer the first three songs. And my favourite track of these four songs is without a doubt "Children Of The Sun". Once again, it's a bit strange to review a promo EP of 2010 in 2014, because maybe some readers of MMM who are familiar with MEDUSA'S CHILD, already have the entire album.
Visit their website: http://www.medusaschild.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/medusaschild
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/medusaschild

70/100

MONSTRAAT – Monstraat (CD) Sweden February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Raw Black Metal Running time: 24:59 (Tracks: 10)
Monstraat from Sweden brings you raw black metal in its purest form. Forged in from hell in 2000 and released 2 demos and their debut album saw the light in 2013. Ten tracks of dark ravenous black metal in vain of Darkthrone, Pest and Gehenna. The songs are short but evil. Typical nineties black metal riffs with a great groove and dark spirit. The drums are typical black, not the best that i ever heard but it gives it a very evil feeling. The screams are very raw but also reminds me sometimes of Burzum. The production of this album is exactly what you want from a band that plays raw black metal. Everything well listenable and dusty. The variety in the songs are also well done, sometimes it is abit black and roll but mostly evil and dark black. What I like the most about this album is that it only contains 25 minutes of torment and after that you feel like putting it on again. If you are into black metal that is not over the top produced and filled with the melodies of these days then you will enjoy this album.
Visit their website: http://www.youtube.com/channel/ucgeo
Recordlabel: http://www.fallentemple.pl
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/monstraat/1442366162659509

72/100

NACOM – Crawling Human Souls (CD) Italy February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Melodic Death Metal Running time: 47:29 (Tracks: 10)
Nacom from Italy is a melodic death metal band with progressive influences. They have been active since 2004 and released 2 demo's. This is their debut album and it kicks ass. Ten tracks of well thought off and well balanced music. The guitar riffs are very catchy but also very progressive and filled with melody and solos. It reminds me sometimes of Fear Factory because of the tightness. But the you get the melody and fastness that brings it to another level. The drums are fast and furious but also very progressive.The keyboards are very well in balance and give it a good vibe. The vocals are grunts that are very deep combined with screams that go through you like a knife. The production and composing of the songs are really good. This band brings you really well balanced progressive death metal with a dose of melody that I really enjoy. There isn`t one thing on this album that gets me bored. Well done!
Visit their website: http://www.nacomband.com
Recordlabel: http://www.wormholedeath.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nacomband
MySpace: https://myspace.com/nacom.band

80/100

NASHVILLE PUSSY – Up The Dosage (CD) USA February 2014 Frans Neelen
Style: Hard Rock Running time: 38:11 (Tracks: 13)
Ready for some sleazy, heavy grooving, boot stompin', ass kickin', southern fried rock and roll? Then listen to this busters! Nashville Pussy is back with a bang presenting this splendid Up The Dosage. After 4 years finally some new stuff and I can say it's their best until now. In these 4 years they toured a lot with for example Supersuckers and their heroes ZZ Top. Well, that certainly can be heard, because they sound tighter than ever. With new lady Bonnie Buitrago on bass who replaced Karen Cuda during touring in 2012 they again deliver a fine mixture of AC/DC, Ted Nugent, ZZ Top and Motörhead. From the brilliant opener “Everybody's Fault But Mine” till the “sounding more like AC/DC then AC/DC themselves” closer “Pussy's Not A Dirty Word” they fire all cylinders on their self called “Back in Black” opus. Is it that good then? Well, it won't become that kind of classic because I guess for million selling albums the days are gone, but yeah man, this rocks and lyrically it's pretty hilarious, yet true. Ruyter Suys accelerates with razor sharp riffs and catchy hooks, while the rhythm section pumps and grooves. Masterly decadent rockers like the formerly mentioned tracks together with “Rub it to Death”, “Pillbilly Blues” and the awesome “White And Loud” are alternated with the like bluegrass/country sounding “Hooray for Cocaine, Hooray for Tennessee” and the acoustic honky tonk sound of “Before the Drugs Wear Off”. Worth to mention are the outstanding grooving tittle track and the hardcore sounding “Taking it Easy” with Ruyter or Bonnie on vocal duty. With it's 47 seconds it's way too short and that counts for the whole album. Never mind, just fire it on again. Great, dirty, filthy record just the way we rockers like it! Highly recommended.
Visit their website: http://www.nashvillepussy.com
Recordlabel: http://www.spv.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/nashville-pussy

88/100

NORHOD – The Blazing Lily (CD) Italy February 2014 Frans Neelen
Style: Symphonic Gothic Metal Running time: 45:07 (Tracks: 11)
Again a Wormhole Death Italian Symphonic Gothic release. It seems this label has some nose for this kind of production and specific Italian ones. Norhod comes from Lucca, Tuscany and is formed in 2009 as a 4 piece band. After some line up changes their current line up since 2011 consists of 7 musicians and is stable up till now. In the beginning of 2012 they released their debut ep “Ariarnhod” which contains 5 songs that are also (in re-arranged/re-recorded versions) present on this full length debut album together with 6 new songs. The band comes up with a bit typical symphonic gothic songs with slight folky influences in the best Beauty meets the Beast tradition. Like most Italian bands the thing is that it's all done and heard before. That's a pity because musically and technically this young band is more promising than most of their genre colleagues and certain their fellow country ones. The female angelic vocals by Clara maybe are a bit too fragile as the male grunts by Jev are rough enough but need some variation. If the constantly high vocal region is your cup of tea than you can skip this remark by the way. It's just a matter of opinion because Clara can sing, that's for certain. When you are into the early days of this genre and like bands as Theatre of Tragedy and the first album of Epica for example than you'll have a fine day listening to this. It's all pretty professional made stuff but sometimes a bit too sweet, it's all a bit too exactly between the lines. For me it lacks a bit of pepper, a bit like let it go, rock you're heart out. Nevertheless a promising debut from a young band and that makes curious for the future. Highlights are “Fading in the Dark”, “Doomed to Oblivion”, Creatures” and “Through the Forest”.
Visit their website: http://www.norhod.com
Recordlabel: http://www.wormholedeath.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/norhod

70/100

PORTALL - King of the Mad (CD) The Netherlands February 2014 Kees Schijven
Style: Death / Thrash Metal Running time: 54:27 (Tracks: 11)
From Zwolle, PORTALL started out February 2003, when Peter (lead guitar) joined Jeffrey (bass), Rutger (vocals/guitar) and Jeroen (drums), who were already playing together. After Peter joined them, the band started writing new material, heavier and more intense then before Peter came in. During 2003 the band recorded 2 demo's, the band started to play live more and more, and even won several band competitions, which led to more gigs. In 2005 they won the metalbattle, which gave them the opportunity to record their first EP titled “In the Absence of Light”. This started to get their name known, and they ended second in the Aardschok's Metalbash that same year. The years after that the band played several dutch and Belgian festivals, and builds up a bigger reputation. In January 2009 PORTALL releases their debut album “Code Black” on Freebird Records. And now here is their follow up album “King of the Mad”, which they choose to bring out on their own. I can tell you they did a hell of a job, superb production, a really heavy thrashing sound, which does right to their music. The album is full of straight forward Death/Thrash metal, where the death metal part consist mostly in the vocals, brutal, sometimes screaming voice of Rutger. The music on the other hand, heavy riffing thrash metal, sometimes more technical, and other times more melodic, but all very well done. Some songs got me even thinking of Testament during their “Low” period. Great killer songs like 'Transgression”, “Dead Man Walking” or “Dark and desolate”, this album is full with them, unfortunately I'm not familiar with their previous material but this one I definitely like! Check this band out for yourselves!
Visit their website: http://www.portall.net
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/portallmetal

82/100

SATURDAY OVERDOSE – Eat My Dust (MCD) Italy February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Hard Rock / Sleaze Rock Running time: 22:15 (Tracks: 5)
SATURDAY OVERDOSE is a completely unknown band to me. The band comes from Italy and was formed in 2007 as just OVERDOSE. The four members Enrico "Bosco": Boschiazzo (vocals, keyboards), Andrea "Serve" Servetti (guitar), Andrea "Pana" Panaro (bass, backing vocals) and Filipp "Kocks" Galli (drums, backing vocals), started by playing covers at school parties. In 2008 they already split, and reformed again in 2009. And since that moment, the band name became SATURDAY OVERDOSE. And since March of 2013, the band has a rhythm guitarist as their fifth member. Well, this is a nice EP. The band plays 80's inspired Hard Rock / Sleaze Rock, and reminds musically very much of GUNS 'N ROSES. Especially when you hear the guitar solos of Andrea Servetti, who seems to be influenced very much by Slash. I don't have anything negative to mention about this "Eat My Dust" EP. "Free Bones", "Don't Care About The Rain", "Fallin' Apart", "Anthem For A Dream" and "Fucking Mustang" are all very nice songs. So, if you like Hard Rock / Sleaz Rock, give this band a try by checking them out.
Recordlabel: http://www.streetsymphonies.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/saturdayoverdose

70/100

SETA – Interferenze (CD) Italy February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Heavy Metal Running time: 44:48 (Tracks: 11)
Some bands are unknown for a reason. Seta is one of those. Interferenze is a heavy metal album that just doesn't have any bite. It is old fashioned hard and heavy rock, with keyboards, but that's not a problem. That lies in the production, which is quite flat, resulting in the songs not being displayed to their full potential. And that's a pity, because every now and then you do get the feeling that Seta have something to say. A little more attention to detail in the songwriting might have helped them. Also apparently the lyrics are quite strong, but the Italian language will not be everyone's strongest point and/or acquired taste. Maybe this is all a bit too negative, but unfortunately it's what it is. Just not a very strong album.
Visit their website: http://www.setaofficial.com
Recordlabel: http://www.atomicstuff.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/setaofficial

56/100

SKAPT AV SKOG – Skapt Av Skog (MCD) Norway February 2014 William Nijhof
Style: Raw Black Metal Running time: 10:47 (Tracks: 3)
Skapt Av Skog from Norway is a black metal band that existed in the mid 90`s and got disbanded before they ever released a debut. Fallen Temple (label) found some old recording and released it in 2013. Well this is old school indeed...strong and typical Norwegian black metal from the nineties. Filthy and raw riffs that are grooving and reminds me about the essential black band from that time. The drums are straight in your face and filled with blasts and up tempo beats. The vocals are very evil and mesmerizing screams. It sounds filthy and very mystical, think of Darkthrone and old Bathory. The songs have a great atmosphere and the production is like the nineties. Very true and dusty. If this band would have still existed they would probably be called cult black metal. This MCD only contains three songs but it is well worth to get and put in your CD player and turn up the volume. This is a treasure of the old days.
Recordlabel: http://www.fallentemple.pl

75/100

SUPERHORRORFUCK – Death Becomes Us (CD) Italy February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Glam / Sleaze Rock Running time: 39:16 (Tracks: 12)
First of all, what a band name, SUPERHORRORFUCK. Anyway, SUPERHORRORFUCK is an Italian five piece band (the band picture shows us 4 members), that currently exists of Dr. Freak (vocals), Deadly Bucks (guitar), Izzy Wyldhell (guitar), Mr. 4 (bass) and Franky Voltage (drums), who are playing Glam- / Sleaze Rock with a Horror touch. "Death Becomes Her" is the band's third album, and was still recorded by the old line-up which existed of Dr. Freak (vocals), Paghalloween (lead guitar), Sgt. Anubis (rhythm guitar), Mr. 4 (bass) and Littlebomb (drums). Before this third album, SUPERHORRORFUCK released their debut album "Horrorchy" (2008), "Livingdeadstars" (2010) and the 4 track EP "Gore-Geous" (2012). Well, I never had heard of SUPERHORRORFUCK before, so "Death Becomes Us" is my first acquaintance with the band. And I must say, it's a very nice acquaintance, because this is a very delicious and catchy sounding Sleaze/Glam album. All members wear colorful make-up on their faces, and are excellent musicians. I assume that the band produced the album themselves. If so, they did a fine job, because the production sounds very good. In the meantime, this album has made a lot of spins in my CD player. And it will visit it more often I guess. The last track on the album, "Holy Zombie (Holly Bullshit remix)", is a bonus track. There are also guest appearances of members from LONDON BASED HELLFIRE CLUB and EASY TRIGGER on this album ("Break Your Shit" and "Holly Zombie (Holly Bullshit remix)". Well, the songs which I like the most are "Dead World I Live In" (2:52), "Down At The Graveyard" (3:09), "Voodoo Holiday" (3:22), "Threesome With The Dead" (3:55), "Break Your Shit" (1:35) and "Headless Groupie" (3:01). My conclusion is that "Death Becomes Us" is a good album and is a real recommendation to all who are into Sleaze and Glam Rock.
Visit their website: http://www.superhorrorfuck.net
Recordlabel: http://www.logicillogic.net
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/superhorrorfuck
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/superhorrorfuck

77/100

TAD MOROSE - Revenant (CD) Sweden February 2014 Frans Neelen
Style: Heavy / Power Metal Running time: 52:13 (Tracks: 12)
Well, Swedish Metallers Tad Morose have returned to the front after an absence of 10 years. Tad Morose has always been a guarantee for solid Heavy/Power Metal with a melodic touch in the finest Judas Priest/Metal Church (Mike Howe arera)/Obsession tradition. Former albums like the fantastic 'Modus Vivendi” with Urban Breed handling the vocals surprisingly didn't deliver the well deserved fame and fortune, but I guess that's what they call “the time wasn't right for it”. Urban Breed's no longer in the band but his follow up Ronny Hemlin also knows how to deliver a damn fine piece of Power Metal vocals. His powerful vocals with a fine rough edge reminds of Mike Howe or Tim “Ripper” Owens so in this genre he fits in perfectly.
Further on, gladly nothing really has changed musically. If you are into melodic US Power Metal than you can get this one blindly. A big plus is the superb production which results in a fantastic metal sound. Technically brilliant, opener “Beneath a Veil of Crying Souls” immediately grabs you by the balls and don't let go. Also the tracks “Follow”, “Babylon”, “Within a Dream”, “Absence of Light” , “Timeless Dreaming” and “Millennium Lie” provide the best you can find in Heavy/Power Metal. Melodic, powerful, bombastic, varied stuff with a razor sharp dark edge that cuts like a knife. Swedish craftsmanship in optima forma. The only small minor I can come up with is that some tracks may need some auditions before they're hammered in your head. Not a real surprising album, but definitely a damn good one. Great welcome back album and hope this time they get what they deserve.
Visit their website: http://www.tadmorose.se
Recordlabel: http://www.despotzrecords.se
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/tadmorose
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/tadmorose

85/100

THRASHBACK – Possessed By Thrash (CD) France February 2014 Ad van Osch
Style: Thrash Metal Running time: 32:02 (Tracks: 10)
THRASHBACK is an old school Thrash Metal band from France, which was formed in 2012 by three ex-members of EVIL ONE. After EVIL ONE did have too much line-up problems, Fabien 'Speed' Cortiana (vocals, drums), Freddy Bouteloup (guitar) and Didier 'Le Gorg' Latour (bass) decided to start a new band, which became THRASHBACK. “Possessed By Thrash” is the debut album of the band, which is released by Emanes Metal Records. The album features 10 old school Thrash metal songs, of which the last track is a cover version of EXCITER's “Pounding Metal” (from the “Violence & Force” (1984) album). And even Dan Beehler (ex-EXCITER, BEEHLER) is doing special guest vocals on that one. About the rest of the songs on this debut album, well, these are mainly influenced by EXODUS. “Possessed By Thrash” was produced by Marc Varez (VULCAIN) and sounds very good. The mastering of the disc was done by mister Jeff Waters of ANNIHILATOR. Okay, it's all not sounding very original and renewing, but it's not sounding bad either. Let's say “Possessed By Thrash” is just a good average Thrash Metal album. I'm sure “Possessed By Thrash” will visit my CD player so now and then. The songs which I like the most are “Bombers Of Death” (3:07), “Box Of Power” (4:02), “Wardance” (3:20) and “Thrashback” (3:12). And the least track of this album, is in my opinion “Feast For The Dogs” (3:11). Any Thrash fanatic should check this album out, I'm sure you will like it as well.
Recordlabel: http://www.emanesmetalrecords.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/oldschoolthrashback

72/100

TRUTH CORRODED – The Savious Slain (CD) Australia February 2014 MetalWim van Grunsven
Style: Death / Thrash Metal Running time: 49:53 (Tracks: 12)
If you want to stand out in the current thrash era, you need to be exceptionally good. That is quite a feat in a genre that is so densely populated that every angle has been covered more than a dozen times. Even when you add death metal into the mix, you'll struggle to be accepted as exceptional. It doesn't matter how good you are, you will only become a cut above the rest by advertising and selling yourself as good as possible. I sincerely hope these Aussies will be able to do just that, because The Saviours Slain is a really pleasant album. Nice and fast with a great mix of thrash and death metal. Strong lyrics, well thought out rhythms, breaks and beats and a voice that makes it all come together. The reason the whole album is strong is because the cohesion between all songs is so good that is makes The Saviours Slain flow the right way. And because Truth Corroded know their boundaries, and steer within them all the time, whilst trying to find the edges of sanity whenever they can. There is no faulting the production either, as everything played is distinguishable in detail. Just put on a pair of headphones, and you will feel your brain implode. Truth Corroded will undoubtedly strike it big in their home country, but I do hope there are others on the other continents that will pick up on them.
Visit their website: http://www.truthcorroded.com
Recordlabel: http://www.afm-records.de
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/truthcorroded
MySpace: https://myspace.com/truthcorroded

84/100

VALKYRE – Our Glorious Demise (CD) Belgium February 2014 Frans Neelen
Style: Melodic Metal Running time: 39:51 (Tracks: 10)
Belgium has a name to hold up in female fronted bands. They've got some damn fine bands in all different kinds of heavy genres like Bliksem, Hell City, Manic Movement, Azylya, Nightqueen and I can come up with many more. Also one of the most mighty powerful female voices in rock Magali Luyten comes from this little country so let's hear what this melodic metal band Valkyre with Claudia Michelutti handling the microphone has to offer. “Stories” opens nice and easy but evolves in a fierce powerful rocker. The guitar riffs are great, the rhytmsection tight and powerful and the guitar solo's are truly fantastic. Musically and technically it's all high standard. Also the production offers a very good, enjoyable sound.
The clean vocals of Claudia fit in well and she delivers an adequate job. Her voice is pretty in hearing but sometimes a bit more variation is welcome. Nevertheless in “Will You Be There” she sounds fantastic. “Call of the Valkyre” and “A Good Day To Die” are smooth, energetic rockers with again fantastic guitar play. The album also offers more understated tracks like the beauty's “I Am Here” and “Walk My Love” and mid tempo rockers like “Mother” and “Consolamentum”. Overall you can classify this album as a fierce version of Kingfisher Sky. There are enough tracks which could be picked up for airplay despite (or thanks to) the heavy underground. A very good rocking debut. Belgium again can add a fine metal product to their catalogue. Let's hope we can speak of A Glorious Rise instead of A Glorious Demise.
Visit their website: http://www.valkyremusic.com
Recordlabel: http://www.facebook.com/vaklyrierising
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/valkyremusic
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/valkyresounds

82/100

Click here to make Mario's Metal Mania your default homepage